Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: "Pseudo frames" template  (Read 10404 times)

steveeh131047

• Supporter
  • Coppermine frequent poster
"Pseudo frames" template
« on: April 03, 2008, 06:29:15 pm »

This is my first attempt to post material that may be of use to forum members. I hope I'm doing the right things and that this is appropriate - if not, I'm sure one of the Dev Team will correct me :)

In an attempt to encourage members to move away from tables for their page layouts, and instead to use "content only" HTML with CSS, I'm posting this very simple pseudo_frames theme. It replicates the sort of layout that was achieved in the "bad old days" using Frames.

The html template simply groups {tokens} into a Header division, a Menu division, or a Content division. The template structure is very simple and you will see that it contains NO styling information.

The CSS style sheet then creates a fixed Header area, a fixed left-hand Menu area, and a fluid Content area - by "fixed" I mean that these areas are static in the browser window. To retain clarity I have separated the layout styling from the "cosmetic" styling. File "style.css" contains almost exclusively the styling needed for the layout; non-layout styling is achieved by "importing" a copy of the Classic theme stylesheet.