Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: [Solved]: Fatal error after migration.  (Read 2376 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

steveeh131047

  • Supporter
  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 217
[Solved]: Fatal error after migration.
« on: March 23, 2008, 02:09:44 pm »

Apologies if this is the wrong forum for my problem!

My web host just migrated all its Linux customers to a new datacentre. Since the move, my site all works except for the Coppermine page which produces a blank page saying "Fatal Error". These are the things I've tried:

1) Restored the MySQL database from a known good back-up. Everything looks OK when viewed through PHPMyAdmin - tables are all there and seem to contain the right data.

2) Deliberately altered the password in cpg's config file to an invalid one. I then get the usual cpg error message about being unable to connect to the database. I assume this means that cpg IS normally connecting OK.

3) Uploaded a known good backup version of cpg. No different.

I realise this is probably not a problem with cpg but with my web host, but I wondered if you could give me any pointers as to what might be causing the "Fatal Error" condition, and where I should be looking ?

Grateful for any help.
« Last Edit: March 23, 2008, 04:44:20 pm by Nibbler »
Logged

Nibbler

  • Guest
Re: Fatal error after migration.
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2008, 02:16:21 pm »

Stop guessing and enable debug mode.

http://coppermine-gallery.net/tutorial/debug_mode.php
Logged

steveeh131047

  • Supporter
  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 217
Re: Fatal error after migration.
« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2008, 02:33:58 pm »

Nibbler,

OK, I watched the tutorial and just used PHPMyAdmin to set the debug mode in the database.

But how to I get cpg into debug mode. All I ever see is the blank page with the Fatal Error message, so there's no way I can log in as Admin?
Logged

Sami

  • VIP
  • Coppermine addict
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 3686
  • BMossavari
    • My Project
Re: Fatal error after migration.
« Reply #3 on: March 23, 2008, 02:41:43 pm »

post a link to your gallery
Logged
‍I don't answer to PM with support question
Please post your issue to related board

steveeh131047

  • Supporter
  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 217
Re: Fatal error after migration.
« Reply #4 on: March 23, 2008, 02:44:15 pm »

OK Nibbler:

http://www.miltonmalsorhistory.org.uk/gallery/

Classic theme is available there, plus a couple of custom ones: mmhs and mmhs2
Logged

Nibbler

  • Guest
Re: Fatal error after migration.
« Reply #5 on: March 23, 2008, 02:52:46 pm »

You didn't actually enable debug mode. Make sure you modified the correct table in the correct database on the correct server in the correct way. Correctly.
Logged

steveeh131047

  • Supporter
  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 217
Re: Fatal error after migration.
« Reply #6 on: March 23, 2008, 02:59:30 pm »

Nibbler,

I'm now getting totally confused. I only have one database on this account and the debug mode IS set to 1.

I'm a bit out of my depth here, but could the  migration have resulted in the web site running on one server and the database on a different one?
Logged

Nibbler

  • Guest
Re: Fatal error after migration.
« Reply #7 on: March 23, 2008, 04:29:38 pm »

Possible but unlikely. Either PM me with your details so I can check it for you or contact your host.
Logged

steveeh131047

  • Supporter
  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 217
Re: Fatal error after migration.
« Reply #8 on: March 23, 2008, 04:38:34 pm »

Nibbler, just took another look at the database thru PHPMyAdmin and noticed that there were only 17 tables instead of the usual 20. There had definitely been 20 earlier today.

I "dropped" all 17 tables manually - my control panel wont let me drop the whole database and then re-create it!

Imported my sql back-up - this time all 20 tables are there and the web pages are working perfectly.

Thanks for helping even though it wasn't a cpg problem - I appreciate it!

Steve
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.017 seconds with 20 queries.