Advanced search  

News:

CPG Release 1.6.26
Correct PHP8.2 issues with user and language managers.
Additional fixes for PHP 8.2
Correct PHP8 error with SMF 2.0 bridge.
Correct IPTC supplimental category parsing.
Download and info HERE

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: UNbridge Coppermine from SMF  (Read 4500 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

~phocas~

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 32
    • phocas
UNbridge Coppermine from SMF
« on: April 05, 2007, 04:28:24 pm »

Currently, I have coppermine bridged with SMF and it was only recently that I converted the user base from phpBB to SMF.  That worked pretty good actually.

Regardless, I have decided that I am no longer interested in administering 3 pieces of software and the constant upgrades that go with that... and I want Coppermine ONLY.  (the enhancements you guyz are making are awesome and are slowly eliminating the need for any other software to be integrated!)

Anyhow... I thought I had found a post on here at one time that contained a procedure for extracting the user-base from SMF's dB without having to manually move everything.

Has anyone seen this post?  I have been searching for a couple of days and just can't find it again.  :P
« Last Edit: January 12, 2008, 10:24:01 am by Joachim Müller »
Logged
phocas.net

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: UNbridge Coppermine from SMF
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2007, 06:12:28 pm »

There's no pre-made script available that can do what you're up to afaik.

If you know your way around in phpMyAdmin you could easily come up with a conversion script. Here's a sample a dump of SMF's members table:
Quote
INSERT INTO `smf_members` VALUES (1, 'admin', 1081202400, 201, 1, '', 1147361472, 'Admin', 0, 0, '', 'c823699a6f8080490862a12dadf22a3075a4bbe9', 'bla@email.com', '', 0, '0001-01-01', '', '', '', '', '', '', '', 0, 1, '', '', 0, '', 0, 0, 0, '', 1, 1, '172.26.17.126', '', '', 4, 1, '', 8, '', '', 6, 15549, '2f27', '', '', 0, 2);
INSERT INTO `smf_members` VALUES (2, 'tester', 1093298400, 4, 0, '', 1115995422, 'tester', 0, 0, '', '8e3a3e8f977f9a1b8902ea970e8b22b7', 'tester@some.com', '', 0, '0001-01-01', '', '', '', '', '', '', '', 0, 1, '', '', 0, 'foo', 1, 0, 0, '', 1, 1, '172.26.17.126', '', '', 4, 1, '', 6, '', '', 4, 438, '', '', '', 0, 2);
(with more data in it of course).

The dump of a coppermine user table will look like this:
Quote
INSERT INTO `cpg140_users` VALUES (1, 1, 'YES', 'admin', 'c823699a6f808sdf0490862a12dadhhhf22a5a4bbe9', '2006-09-11 19:12:49', '2004-12-09 17:33:32', '', 'user@some.com', '', '', '', '', '', '', '');
INSERT INTO `cpg140_users` VALUES (2, 2, 'YES', 'tester', 'dfhdfhgdfhgdfg', '2005-02-25 19:23:17', '2004-12-09 18:30:44', '6', '', '', '', '', '', '', '', '');

What we have is this: ID_MEMBER, memberName, dateRegistered, posts, ID_GROUP, lngfile, lastLogin, realName, instantMessages, unreadMessages, pm_ignore_list, passwd, emailAddress, personalText, gender, birthdate, websiteTitle, websiteUrl, location, ICQ, AIM, YIM, MSN, hideEmail, showOnline, timeFormat, signature, timeOffset, avatar, pm_email_notify, karmaBad, karmaGood, usertitle, notifyAnnouncements, notifyOnce, memberIP, secretQuestion, secretAnswer, ID_THEME, is_activated, validation_code, ID_MSG_LAST_VISIT, additionalGroups, smileySet, ID_POST_GROUP, totalTimeLoggedIn, passwordSalt, messageLabels, buddy_list, notifySendBody, notifyTypes

What we need (in coppermine) is   `user_id`, `user_name`, `user_password`, `user_email` - just four fields, the rest could be empty (or rather: filled with default values).

Let's find the corresponding fields in SMF:
Coppermine field nameSMF field name
user_idID_MEMBER
user_namememberName
user_passwordpasswd
user_emailemailAddress

Now you'll just need to come up with a little PHP script that queries SMF's members table (SELECT) and writes a corresponding query (INSERT INTO) into coppermine's user table.

HTH

Joachim
Logged

~phocas~

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 32
    • phocas
Re: UNbridge Coppermine from SMF
« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2007, 06:29:51 pm »

hrm... i was certain i read that someone had written a little script to do just that, but... mayb I was dreaming.  :P

anywho ... thank you very much for your help and advice on this...

i will give it a try, see how it works out and post a followup...

i am definitely looking forward to gettin back to StandAlone
Logged
phocas.net

~phocas~

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 32
    • phocas
Re: UNbridge Coppermine from SMF
« Reply #3 on: January 11, 2008, 08:58:21 pm »

I know this is late, but ... I really did mean to post a follow-up to this, for anyone else looking to do the same.

This worked out great, excepting one issue.  The passwords did not convert over, but that was a no brainer that I had already anticipated.   Athe time, the SMF dB was encrypted and Coppermine dB was not. 

After weighing the consequences of that, I went ahead with the conversion (a rather simple query... that I have since lost track of).  Ultimately, setting a new password was the only inconvenience my users faced.

Thank you again for your help on this matter!
Logged
phocas.net
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.021 seconds with 20 queries.