Advanced search  

News:

CPG Release 1.6.26
Correct PHP8.2 issues with user and language managers.
Additional fixes for PHP 8.2
Correct PHP8 error with SMF 2.0 bridge.
Correct IPTC supplimental category parsing.
Download and info HERE

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: [off topic]: Help with CVS !!  (Read 5841 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

SimoAmi

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
    • http://simoami.com
[off topic]: Help with CVS !!
« on: March 17, 2004, 06:55:17 pm »

This is probably offtopic but I really need help.

I took over a project that is at its version 1.
(greatest revision: 1.3)

I want to release version 2, that I've been working on locally, whithout affecting the development of version 1.x. The new version has a different structure (files and directories).

I'm thinking of either:
- Create a module for REL_2_0 or
- Checkout the whole directory, change the structure in my sandbox, commit changes and update revisions to 2.0.

Can anyone advise me on this issue?

Thank you,

Simo
Logged

Casper

  • VIP
  • Coppermine addict
  • ***
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5231
[off topic]: Help with CVS !!
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2004, 07:41:15 pm »

Hi, I think you are talking about a nuke version.  the nuke/postnuke boards have moved to http://coppermine.findhere.org/modules.php?name=Forums
Logged
It has been a long time now since I did my little bit here, and have done no coding or any other such stuff since. I'm back to being a noob here

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
[off topic]: Help with CVS !!
« Reply #2 on: March 17, 2004, 08:54:41 pm »

I don't think so. I guess SimoAmi is looking for advice on an unrelated project he's working on and requests advice from the devs on how to work with a CVS.

@SimoAmi: please clarify...

GauGau
Logged

SimoAmi

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
    • http://simoami.com
[off topic]: Help with CVS !!
« Reply #3 on: March 18, 2004, 01:54:30 am »

Quote from: "gaugau"
I don't think so. I guess SimoAmi is looking for advice on an unrelated project he's working on and requests advice from the devs on how to work with a CVS.

@SimoAmi: please clarify...

GauGau


Thank you for your prompt reply,  :)

Yes, I'm new to CVS and I need help with another project unrelated to coppermine.

As I said previously, I took over an existing project and I've been working outside of CVS to develop a new implementation for the application. Since, the new structure is widely different and the feature set is also bigger, I thought about switching to a major version upgrade.

Now, since I'm new to CVS, I wonder what would be the best approach to post my implementation as a "Release_2_0" and start with revisions 2.0 and up.

I thought about either:

- Create a new module as Release_2_0

or

- Checkout the whole directory, change the structure in my sandbox, commit changes and update revisions to 2.0.

I hope it is clear now!

I would appreciate if anyone can help me with steps to follow, or even provide a series of CVS commands with full syntax if possible.

Thank you in advance.
Logged

Tarique Sani

  • VIP
  • Coppermine addict
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 2712
    • http://tariquesani.net
[off topic]: Help with CVS !!
« Reply #4 on: March 18, 2004, 05:06:41 am »

http://www.sanisoft.com/cvs.html  - somewhat dated but still relevant, there is also the CVS help page at SF

Beyond that I would suggest install Tortoise CVS and most importantly this is a wrong forum to ask for CVS help.

Lets end this thread
Logged
SANIsoft PHP applications for E Biz
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.021 seconds with 19 queries.