Advanced search  

News:

CPG Release 1.6.26
Correct PHP8.2 issues with user and language managers.
Additional fixes for PHP 8.2
Correct PHP8 error with SMF 2.0 bridge.
Correct IPTC supplimental category parsing.
Download and info HERE

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: White screen instead of high-resolution image in Firefox  (Read 14999 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

dziejo

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
White screen instead of high-resolution image in Firefox
« on: July 12, 2006, 03:28:43 pm »

Hello,

I work with my Coppermine mainly with Safari on Mac. Everything works fine. But when I use Firefox, I found strange bug. Displaing of some images in the high resolution is imposible - I see just white screen and no photo i pop up window. Same images in Safari display ok.
Why?  ???
« Last Edit: July 13, 2006, 01:32:28 pm by GauGau »
Logged

Sami

  • VIP
  • Coppermine addict
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 3686
  • BMossavari
    • My Project
Re: White screen instead of high-resolution image in Firefox
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2006, 03:57:23 pm »

It could be a bug on mac version of Firefox!
Logged
‍I don't answer to PM with support question
Please post your issue to related board

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: White screen instead of high-resolution image in Firefox
« Reply #2 on: July 13, 2006, 06:15:15 am »

could be, but could be something else as well. Hard to tell, as none of the devs is using a mac. Haven't heard of this before, you're the first one to report this issue, so I'm not sure that it's a browser issue. However, we won't be able to figure out if you don't post a link to your coppermine-driven gallery.
Logged

dziejo

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
Re: White screen instead of high-resolution image in Firefox
« Reply #3 on: July 13, 2006, 12:45:57 pm »

Thanks for all answers. Unfortunately I' m not able to give you a link, because my gallery works only in lan, behind firewall with no connection to internet.
Logged

dziejo

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
Re: White screen instead of high-resolution image in Firefox
« Reply #4 on: July 12, 2007, 09:54:26 pm »

Let' s look at this one image: http://do.id.uw.edu.pl/~a_kondratczyk/cms/auto/displayimage.php?album=lastup&cat=0&pos=0
I can' t see it in highres in my Firefox2 on PC either on Explorer7. On Safari (PC and MAC) everything works fine. It' s very strange. Isn' t it? I found this problem with other images. What' s the problem? ???
Logged

Nibbler

  • Guest
Re: White screen instead of high-resolution image in Firefox
« Reply #5 on: July 12, 2007, 10:56:45 pm »

Most browsers don't support CMYK, don't use it on the web.
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: White screen instead of high-resolution image in Firefox
« Reply #6 on: July 13, 2007, 07:01:08 am »

Permanent link would be http://do.id.uw.edu.pl/~a_kondratczyk/cms/auto/displayimage.php?pos=-254

You're using the outdated and unsupported version cpg1.3.5. That's why your thread was moved here and tagged as "closed". It's not a bright idea to start your gallery with an ancient version. It's mandatory to upgrade to the most recent version.

As Nibbler suggested: don't use pics using CMYK (meant for printing purposes only). Use RGB instead (suitable for use on the web).
Logged

dziejo

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
Re: White screen instead of high-resolution image in Firefox
« Reply #7 on: July 13, 2007, 02:01:20 pm »

Thanks for info.
I' m aware that I use old version of the Coppermine but problem appears also in 1.4.5 version, so it' s not a version issue.
So if I want to archive highres photos in cmyk format in Coppermine, I must use Safari browser.....
Is it possible to fix that problem on the software level (Coppermine)?
My proposition is to put a link to download highres image in the popup window with it. Then, if I can' t do save as... because I can' t see an image, I will be able to download it by clicking a link.
Maybe it can work?

Best regards,
Dziejo

Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: White screen instead of high-resolution image in Firefox
« Reply #8 on: July 13, 2007, 06:45:41 pm »

I' m aware that I use old version of the Coppermine but problem appears also in 1.4.5 version
Anyway: no support at all means no support. Locking.


So if I want to archive highres photos in cmyk format in Coppermine, I must use Safari browser.....
Don't use CMYK at all on the web!

Is it possible to fix that problem on the software level (Coppermine)?
No - coppermine accepts your CMYK image. It's a browser issue. As suggested: CMYK isn't suitable for use on the web. Coppermine is not an archiving software. If you need an archive, use a desktop app.
If you must store CMYK pics, zip them first - this way, people will be able to download your CMYK pic.

Not a coppermine issue at all.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.028 seconds with 20 queries.