Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: The previous file could not be placed.  (Read 3755 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

TheNostradamus

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
The previous file could not be placed.
« on: March 08, 2007, 04:01:24 pm »

I know this is probably a pain to keep reading but I got the same problem.

So far I have, read all the docs, made sure all permissions are set to 777, changed to debug mode and updated file/url upload box only but i get the same error when uploading....

PS: just to let you know, when I check the userpics folder, the pics ARE there????

give us a clue guys.....
Logged

Hein Traag

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: nl
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 2166
  • A, B, Cpg
    • Personal website - Spintires.nl
Re: The previous file could not be placed.
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2007, 04:23:42 pm »

Since you are new, or seem to be ;) i welcome you to the support board. Be sure to read any stickies which have a title "board rules" etc.
Always, and i do mean always, Search before you Post. Most questions have already been answered before or partially and might answer your questions as wel.

In your case you could have searched with "The previous file could not be placed"  as search criteria and find this among lots of others threads about the same subject.

http://forum.coppermine-gallery.net/index.php?topic=40623.0

Also mentioned in the Documentation at 2.4

Have fun with CPG
Hein
Logged

TheNostradamus

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Re: The previous file could not be placed.
« Reply #2 on: March 08, 2007, 04:34:05 pm »

yeah I did, I have checked the docs, done searches and read stickys but nothing really seems to fix it, I have also checked all permisions on Albums, Albums/userpics and album/edit directories to 777 AND 755, even tired "define ( 'SILLY_SAFE_MODE' , 1 ) ;" in the config.inc.php file, this also seems fine as it is on line 5.

Sorry I didnt state my testuser details: Usermame: Tester Password: Test
Address http://www.grandprixmastersonline.com/Kayelle/
Logged

Hein Traag

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: nl
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 2166
  • A, B, Cpg
    • Personal website - Spintires.nl
Re: The previous file could not be placed.
« Reply #3 on: March 08, 2007, 04:42:32 pm »

Documentation says:
Quote
Check that at the beginning the the "include/config.inc.php" file, you have a line with : "define('SILLY_SAFE_MODE', 1);"
Meaning it should look like this
Code: [Select]
<?php
define
('SILLY_SAFE_MODE'1);

// Coppermine configuration file
Try editing your config.ini.php as such and see if it makes a difference.

And in the future please put all the info you have into a post in stead of half, saves us all a lot of time ;)
Logged

TheNostradamus

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Re: The previous file could not be placed.
« Reply #4 on: March 08, 2007, 04:55:57 pm »

Ok done that and got the same issue.....  ???
Logged

François Keller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: fr
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 9096
  • aka Frantz
    • Ma galerie
Re: The previous file could not be placed.
« Reply #5 on: March 08, 2007, 05:03:39 pm »

Hi,

look in your config page if the Files and thumbnails advanced settings/Method for resizing images is set to GD2
Logged
Avez vous lu la DOC ? la FAQ ? et cherché sur le forum avant de poster ?
Did you read the DOC ? the FAQ ? and search the board before posting ?
Mon Blog

TheNostradamus

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Re: The previous file could not be placed.
« Reply #6 on: March 08, 2007, 05:04:52 pm »

Rigt, I have played around with the groups, This seems to have made a difference, I changed URL upload back to 1 saved than to 0 again, and now we seem to be getting somewhere.. thanks for your help so far.....

Cheers
Logged

kaiyen

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
Re: The previous file could not be placed.
« Reply #7 on: March 08, 2007, 06:59:26 pm »

I'm having some sudden problems with adding files to my galleries.  What "groups" did you change that seems to have solved the problem?

allan
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: The previous file could not be placed.
« Reply #8 on: March 08, 2007, 07:57:39 pm »

Start your own thread after having read the upload troubleshooting section of the docs. Do exactly as suggested there.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.036 seconds with 20 queries.