Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Batch upload is in a circle  (Read 4146 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

MattSS

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Batch upload is in a circle
« on: March 07, 2007, 07:52:57 am »

Alright I've been trying to figure this out on my own with no luck so far.  I'm not an expert in scripting by any means.  But I'm able to catch on rather quickly and have some understanding of it.  Also note that this is not my first time using batch add,  I used it all last year without any problems and am aware of the folder permissions needing to be set correctly and such.  Anyways, here's my problem that just recently surfaced while trying to upload a new batch of photos after about 2 months of inactivity.  I click the "Batch add files" button and it brings up the "please select a directory" window.  I choose the directory on my webserver in which the images are in.  It pops up and shows the list of files and everything so I click "OK".  It brings up the new window that has the "list of new files" with all the file names and thumbnails as normal.  I select the album I wish to put them in from the pull down list and ensure that all of the files are checked then click the "Insert selected files" button.  Now comes the problem.  Instead of inserting the files into the album it goes right back to the "please select a directory" page.  This originally started on version 1.3.2, I figured out how to upgrade it to the 1.4.10 thinking that maybe it'd resolve itself in the update, but no luck, it's still doing it and I can't batch upload.  :(  I really need some help here, I've got over 450 photos from an event this weekend that I really need to get online ASAP.

Thanks!
Matt
« Last Edit: March 08, 2007, 07:52:54 am by GauGau »
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Batch upload is in a circle
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2007, 07:57:12 am »

Do http uploads work as expected?
Logged

MattSS

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: Batch upload is in a circle
« Reply #2 on: March 07, 2007, 08:04:30 am »

Do http uploads work as expected?

Yes, both uploading from hard disk and uploading from the URL in which the files are locate work fine.
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Batch upload is in a circle
« Reply #3 on: March 07, 2007, 08:15:10 am »

Hm. Are you by chance on a Windows-driven server? If yes, did you try turning the browsable batch-add interface off?
Logged

MattSS

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: Batch upload is in a circle
« Reply #4 on: March 07, 2007, 08:21:09 am »

Hm. Are you by chance on a Windows-driven server? If yes, did you try turning the browsable batch-add interface off?

Yes, I'm pretty sure it's a windows based server.  And yes tried both browsable batch-add and the classic style.  Same results with both.  Thank you very much for the quick replies and your help!  :)
Logged

MattSS

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: Batch upload is in a circle
« Reply #5 on: March 07, 2007, 08:33:05 am »

If it'd be easier for you to take a first hand look at it, I'd be more than willing to pm ya the gallery URL along with the login info for the coppermine gallery.  You seem to be one of the top guys here and I feel I can trust you.  I'd just like to know what was wrong and how you fixed it in case it happens again in the future.
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Batch upload is in a circle
« Reply #6 on: March 07, 2007, 08:43:43 am »

OK, please go ahead and PM me the URL, admin account and FTP access data.
Logged

MattSS

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: Batch upload is in a circle
« Reply #7 on: March 07, 2007, 08:58:36 am »

It seams that it won't let me send the pm?  Can you pm me an e-mail address to send the info to?  Also I'm not real comfortable giving out the FTP login details.  The folders have all the permissions set correctly.
Logged

MattSS

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: Batch upload is in a circle
« Reply #8 on: March 07, 2007, 09:01:43 am »

nvm looks like it sent this time..  I guess there may be some filters on here.
Logged

MattSS

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: Batch upload is in a circle
« Reply #9 on: March 08, 2007, 05:42:32 am »

New discovery in the problem.. I'm able to batch add 34 files or less without any problems.  But if I select 35 or more then thats when it resets to the "Select a directory" page.  Does this help in troubleshooting the problem?
Logged

MattSS

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: Batch upload is in a circle
« Reply #10 on: March 08, 2007, 06:05:31 am »

Ok well it let me batch upload 34 about 3 or 4 times.. now it won't let me batch upload at all
Logged

MattSS

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: Batch upload is in a circle
« Reply #11 on: March 08, 2007, 07:14:29 am »

Well it seems I may have found the problem finally.  Been in touch with my web host the past few days as well trying to track down and see if it's something on their end.  Today it got upgraded to their "Level 2" tech department and finally got and answer but the answer lacked a solution as I still can't upload.  So waiting to hear back from them on that.  Anyways for all of those who were watching this thread, have a similar problem, and for the scripters here is the answer I got from my web hosting provider:

"You are running into a block our security module has in place to prevent any php scripts from overloading the POST, GET, or COOKIE super globals . You will need to upload your images in smaller batches. This is not a setting with your script but a server wide setting that helps prevent abused scripts."

Thanks GauGau for putting up with me and taking a look at it.  Hopefully it will all be sorted out soon.  :D

-Matt
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Batch upload is in a circle
« Reply #12 on: March 08, 2007, 07:52:42 am »

Well, your webhosts support tech answered it already: you can't upload more than 34 files in one batch, so upload 34 only (or less). Nothing in Coppermine to circumvent this. Marking thread as "solved".
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.021 seconds with 20 queries.