Advanced search  

News:

CPG Release 1.6.26
Correct PHP8.2 issues with user and language managers.
Additional fixes for PHP 8.2
Correct PHP8 error with SMF 2.0 bridge.
Correct IPTC supplimental category parsing.
Download and info HERE

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Balance in CpmFetch with unbalanced categories  (Read 3361 times)

cgc0202

• Coppermine frequent poster
Balance in CpmFetch with unbalanced categories
« on: January 24, 2007, 05:40:18 pm »

I have no background in programming/scripting nor have taken any computer course, at all.  One of the reasons why I chose Coppermine PhotoGallery (CPG), aside from its great features and being actively developed by a group, is that it has a very detailed installation procedure that was quite easy to follow, once I understood some of the scripting conventions. The browser based installation is also a great plus.  Now, I can install CPG in a matter of minutes. 

CPMFetch  is even easier, in a sense, also once you get the hang of it.

Because of my lack of background in scripting language, to say that I have struggled to understand CPMFetch is an underestimation.   However, I did because I saw its potential for the applications I want to use it for.  And,  to reiterate, once you understand it, CPMFetch is very simple and very powerful.  If you do not understand its potential, as the criticism posted here, then you are not imaginative enough.

I like CPG very much, but it has some inherent limitations for the applications I want to use it for -- like proper presentation of images when there is imbalance in the number of images for each category or album.  CPMFetch happens to provide the solution with very simple (i.e., not bloated) script -- that was why I took the time to understand how it works or to make it work.  Here's a seemingly simple solution to solve the aforementioned issue of statistical imbalance of images among categories and albums:

Likas-Philippines