Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: help please Visitors profile  (Read 11839 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

LuisMartins

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 27
help please Visitors profile
« on: December 09, 2006, 12:34:44 pm »

hey guys, i am glad i came across this forum. I am building a website on which i want to let my visitors create their profiles and upload photos to it and make it available for others to browse also. Unfortunatly the Hosting company i have it does not have that option. My question is...will "coppermine" let me do that ??
Can someone help me out please ?? Thank you ever so much


Luis Martins
« Last Edit: December 11, 2006, 08:40:11 am by GauGau »
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47844
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: help please Visitors profile
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2006, 03:18:06 pm »

Not sure what you mean. Using coppermine, you can allow your users to have personal galleries and upload picture to those personal galleries. Other visitors can browse those galleries. If this is what you're up to, then you can use coppermine for your purposes. For details, please check the demo and read the documentation. If you want to test-drive it first, use the Coppermine Live-Demo
Logged

LuisMartins

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 27
Re: help please Visitors profile
« Reply #2 on: December 09, 2006, 03:35:48 pm »

yes, i was actualy looking for visitors to add a profile also. but it's really good what u told me tho.they can add pics to photo gallery but, can their each have their own gallery  ? So that people can browse my the name?
Can their upload X-rated adult photos ?
and last thing, can they message people ?
I know its alot of questions , but i have been  looking for some program to do this for awhile and i wanna move on and finish my website.
You were really fast replying, i really appreciate that.
Thank you so much, hope to hear from you soon again "hopefully with good news"

Thanks Again,

Luis Martins
Logged

Tranz

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Female
  • Posts: 6149
Re: help please Visitors profile
« Reply #3 on: December 09, 2006, 11:10:53 pm »

Yes, people can browse by name.

Coppermine doesn't know the content of the images. It's up to you to figure out whether your host and country/state allows hosting of x-rated content.

The gallery doesn't come with a messaging system. You can bridge it with a forum/cms that does, or implement a hack that would add such a system to the gallery.
Logged

LuisMartins

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 27
Re: help please Visitors profile
« Reply #4 on: December 10, 2006, 01:54:28 pm »

thank you so much, well i already have a chat room in there so i think would work. Is it difficult to setup to my website?
and....does it have banners?
thanks
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47844
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: help please Visitors profile
« Reply #5 on: December 10, 2006, 02:21:41 pm »

Yes, you can add banners. Yes, you can integrate it into your site. Can't say if it's difficult or not - depends on your skills. Please read the documentation.
Logged

LuisMartins

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 27
Re: help please Visitors profile
« Reply #6 on: December 10, 2006, 02:53:56 pm »

thank you very much. i am working on it right now. My question was, "this one is free, right ? ", so i wonder if i will have banners with it, advertisements and stuff that i don't need ?? And will i have problems with website memory ??
Thanks again for the fast reply

Luis Martins
Logged

LuisMartins

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 27
Re: help please Visitors profile
« Reply #7 on: December 10, 2006, 03:11:07 pm »

i am having a problem with the program . I downloaded , unpacked it but when i open the folder to upload to my page i can't get to the Ipswitch ?? I dont see a folder to install Coppermine . Is that normal to happen.
Thanks again fro all your help
Logged

LuisMartins

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 27
Re: help please Visitors profile
« Reply #8 on: December 10, 2006, 09:14:10 pm »

i am using ipswitch ws_ftp pro "trial version" for it, but i can't get it to work. it says " unimplemented failure" all the time.
What other way can i get this to work?
thank you
Logged

Nibbler

  • Guest
Re: help please Visitors profile
« Reply #9 on: December 10, 2006, 09:38:47 pm »

Try a different FTP client.
Logged

LuisMartins

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 27
Re: help please Visitors profile
« Reply #10 on: December 11, 2006, 07:45:06 am »

yeah, i have tried that, maybe i am doing something wrong ??
i followed the tutorial but i dunno. Something ain't right.
Is there any other tutorial i can look at ?
And, what ftp would u recommend me to use ?
I have put under "site name", my website name
Under isp.....i have put embarq.com
do i need to put my website somewhere ?
Thanks again. I am new doing this thing, but i am getting there, with your help. Thank you so much
Logged

LuisMartins

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 27
Re: help please Visitors profile
« Reply #11 on: December 11, 2006, 07:52:57 am »

here is what i did step by step :
i downloaded cpg1.4.10, i unpacked it to my "homestead folder" local disc/Program Files/Homestead, and renamed it "Coppermine"
I downloaded IPSwitch WS_FTP Pro trial version.
Opened it, and followed setup instructions.
Site name " i put my website title, server address " i put embarq.com"
then i browsed for the Coppermine folder to tranfer and that's when i get the error failure
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47844
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: help please Visitors profile
« Reply #12 on: December 11, 2006, 08:39:58 am »

"Program files" definitely is not the proper path to install coppermine in. Please read the documentation and review the tutorials. This thread has already seen enough thread-drift and is a violation of the "one question per thread" policy. Locking. Post one question at a time on the proper support board if you need help after having done as suggested.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.026 seconds with 20 queries.