Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: CPU Usage  (Read 3403 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

patrickpriest

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
CPU Usage
« on: September 21, 2006, 06:59:37 pm »

My Coppermine Photo Gallery seems to make my site go down due to over usage of CPU Resources.

Is there anything I can do to prevent this?

http://gallery.onetreehillfans.com is the site.
« Last Edit: October 01, 2006, 02:19:10 pm by GauGau »
Logged

Nibbler

  • Guest
Re: CPU Usage
« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2006, 09:28:17 pm »

Updating your gallery would be a good idea. Make sure you don't batch add a lot of pics all at once and remove the random block if you don't really really need it. Do you have any plugins installed?
Logged

patrickpriest

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Re: CPU Usage
« Reply #2 on: September 21, 2006, 09:49:01 pm »

I used the install that comes with Fantasico via cPanel.

No plug ins.

Not sure what the "block" is?  Can you go into more detail?
Logged

Nibbler

  • Guest
Re: CPU Usage
« Reply #3 on: September 21, 2006, 09:53:37 pm »

You have 'Random files' and 'Last additions' blocks at the bottom of your homepage. The random pics block is expensive on large galleries, so the suggestion is to remove it.

One of the many reasons we don't recommend the fantastico version of Coppermine is because it is so outdated. Your gallery is 7 versions behind and you should update it immediately following the instructions in the manual.
Logged

eruss

  • Supporter
  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ****
  • Country: us
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 105
Re: CPU Usage
« Reply #4 on: September 21, 2006, 09:56:42 pm »

I used the install that comes with Fantasico via cPanel.

No plug ins.

Not sure what the "block" is?  Can you go into more detail?

http://coppermine-gallery.net/demo/cpg14x/docs/index.htm#admin_album_list

Look for: "The content of the main page".  Remove the random image display block if you don't need it.
Logged

patrickpriest

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Re: CPU Usage
« Reply #5 on: September 21, 2006, 10:00:08 pm »

is it easy to upgrade?  the reason i used the Fantasico version is because every time i tried to install it myself... it would never work.
Logged

Nibbler

  • Guest
Re: CPU Usage
« Reply #6 on: September 21, 2006, 10:06:33 pm »

It's easier than installing. Read the manual.
Logged

patrickpriest

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Re: CPU Usage
« Reply #7 on: September 21, 2006, 10:11:50 pm »

i will make sure to do the upgrade on a "test" gallery i have set up before doing it on the live gallery.

thanks for the help.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.016 seconds with 19 queries.