Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Image Size Selection  (Read 2994 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

sandman53

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
Image Size Selection
« on: September 08, 2006, 07:09:24 am »

I plan to use Coppermine for a Wallpaper Gallery, but the problem is I don't want to post the same image twice just because they are two different sizes. I'm wondering if there is a mod out there where you can select what size the full image will display.

They will of course be hard coded by the administrator. It doesnt matter if it stretches the image or not, I just really want this so I dont have to post the same image more than once. After all, shrinking 1024 x 768 to 800 x 600 is better than posting the same image twice is it not?

Or if anyone has any suggestions I would greatly appreciate them
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Image Size Selection
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2006, 07:15:16 am »

Setting intermediate-sized images to 800 pixels and then subsequently uploading your pics 1024x768 should do the trick: coppermine will create 800x600 for you then. No plugin needed. Moving accordingly.
Logged

sandman53

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
Re: Image Size Selection
« Reply #2 on: September 08, 2006, 09:29:35 am »

Well what I mean is, you have a dropdown box on the image view with two options, 800 x 600 and 1024 x 768. The user selects one of those options and when he clicks to get the full view of the picture he will get the size the he selected.

Thats what I mean. I'm not sure if thats possible though
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Image Size Selection
« Reply #3 on: September 08, 2006, 01:47:16 pm »

You could add two download links at the bottom of the pic, one saying "download 800x600", the other saying "download 1024x768". This equals download links to the intermediate-sized pic and the full-sized one. This could of course be a dropdown field as well (just a matter of taste).
To add a download link at the bottom of the image, refer to Modification to create image download link.
Logged

sandman53

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
Re: Image Size Selection
« Reply #4 on: September 09, 2006, 01:58:51 am »

Thats a great Idea. I take a look over the code tonight and see what I can do. Thanks for the idea!

*edit*

Would there be anyway, when uploading the image, to make... a 2nd intermediate image that is not displayed. It just sits there with the rest of the images. The difference is that it's dimensions are 800 x 600, and it just kinda sits there, but has a valid link? Or would that be too much work...

The other way is to disable the 1024 x 768 link if the normal image size is 800 x 600. Is that possible?

And one more question...

Is there anyone to get the onclick code

onclick=\"MM_openBrWindow('displayimage.php?pid=$pid&fullsize=1','" . uniqid(rand()) . "','scrollbars=yes,toolbar=yes,status=yes,resizable=yes,width=$winsizeX,height=$winsizeY')\"

To display the intermediate picture in the new window?
« Last Edit: September 09, 2006, 04:12:54 am by sandman53 »
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Image Size Selection
« Reply #5 on: September 09, 2006, 05:29:43 am »

Everything is possible if you code it. Not an easy hack though.
Logged

sandman53

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
Re: Image Size Selection
« Reply #6 on: September 09, 2006, 05:33:46 am »

Ok, so far I have been able to figure a lot of things out... If someone could help me with 2 simple things... that would be great!

1) How do I get the category ID and use it in an IF statement?

2) How do I use the onclick fullsize command to open the intermediate image?
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.154 seconds with 21 queries.