Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Problem resizing thumbs  (Read 4351 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

ashleyXcore

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Female
  • Posts: 49
    • Magazine Junkie
Problem resizing thumbs
« on: August 25, 2006, 05:47:36 am »

I saw a few threads on how to resize thumbnails, but I can't get it to work!

First I reset my max width/height in the config area...
Then I went to admin tools and chose to "Update thumbnails"...

But it doens't actually recreate the thumbs, it just scrunches the existing thumbs down to the new max size... so the thumbs only appear to be smaller. How can I recreate all my thumbnails?

http://loveisdead.net/photo
« Last Edit: August 25, 2006, 08:07:54 am by GauGau »
Logged
"There are many kinds of eyes. Even the sphinx has eyes — and consequently there are many kinds of 'truths', and consequently there is no truth."

Nibbler

  • Guest
Re: Problem resizing thumbs
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2006, 06:00:46 am »

Make sure you clear your cache after updating the thumbnails. Also update your gallery.
Logged

ashleyXcore

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Female
  • Posts: 49
    • Magazine Junkie
Re: Problem resizing thumbs
« Reply #2 on: August 25, 2006, 06:29:29 am »

That didn't help. You can view it and see what I mean: http://loveisdead.net/photo

Also, all my images have a max width of 400px, so I have no need for the popup "full image" or whatever, so I have the "intermediate" image as my main image... the images when I uploaded them were about 150k but after I added them, they changed the quality to 80% like the thumbnails... so now the yare only 70k or something.

Can I get the main images to stay their original file size and only compress the thumbs?
Logged
"There are many kinds of eyes. Even the sphinx has eyes — and consequently there are many kinds of 'truths', and consequently there is no truth."

ashleyXcore

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Female
  • Posts: 49
    • Magazine Junkie
Re: Problem resizing thumbs
« Reply #3 on: August 25, 2006, 06:34:23 am »

I installed coppermine through fantastico, which has version 1.4.2
Of course, NOW I find out I need to upgrade, 20 minutes after I finish customizing the theme :/
Logged
"There are many kinds of eyes. Even the sphinx has eyes — and consequently there are many kinds of 'truths', and consequently there is no truth."

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Problem resizing thumbs
« Reply #4 on: August 25, 2006, 06:35:34 am »

That didn't help.
You haven't even tried. You're still on cpg1.4.2, while the most reent stable that you're suppossed to upgrade to is cpg1.4.8.

Can I get the main images to stay their original file size and only compress the thumbs?
That's what the "Create intermediate pictures" config option is meant to be used for.

I installed coppermine through fantastico, which has version 1.4.2
That's one of the reasons why we keep on telling people that fantastico sucks.

Of course, NOW I find out I need to upgrade, 20 minutes after I finish customizing the theme :/
Won't hurt, your custom theme should work fine with cpg1.4.8
Logged

ashleyXcore

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Female
  • Posts: 49
    • Magazine Junkie
Re: Problem resizing thumbs
« Reply #5 on: August 25, 2006, 06:43:37 am »

Fantastico sucks, haha. That made me laugh. I guess I should install things myself from now on. I'll go upgrade now then since it won't affect the theme I'm using (just the classic theme, but edited)

You haven't even tried. You're still on cpg1.4.2, while the most reent stable that you're suppossed to upgrade to is cpg1.4.8.
I meant that I tried clearing the cache.

I thought if I created intermediate images, it would then make a popup which would be unnecessary, but I guess I was wrong? It won't make those if the image is below a certain size?
Logged
"There are many kinds of eyes. Even the sphinx has eyes — and consequently there are many kinds of 'truths', and consequently there is no truth."

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Problem resizing thumbs
« Reply #6 on: August 25, 2006, 06:46:03 am »

If the full-size image uploaded is smaller than the size you specified for intermediate-sized pages, then no pop-up will show. You can turn pop-ups of easily as well.
Logged

ashleyXcore

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Female
  • Posts: 49
    • Magazine Junkie
Re: Problem resizing thumbs
« Reply #7 on: August 25, 2006, 07:53:52 am »

I upgraded coppermine. My thumbnails still will not resize.
Is there a way to just delete them and have it recreate them all?
Logged
"There are many kinds of eyes. Even the sphinx has eyes — and consequently there are many kinds of 'truths', and consequently there is no truth."

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Problem resizing thumbs
« Reply #8 on: August 25, 2006, 07:56:31 am »

admin tools...
Logged

ashleyXcore

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Female
  • Posts: 49
    • Magazine Junkie
Re: Problem resizing thumbs
« Reply #9 on: August 25, 2006, 08:03:56 am »

I finally got it. I am such a retard.
Logged
"There are many kinds of eyes. Even the sphinx has eyes — and consequently there are many kinds of 'truths', and consequently there is no truth."
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.021 seconds with 20 queries.