Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: 1 ... 3 4 5 6 [7]   Go Down

Author Topic: Google sitemaps  (Read 166074 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Drahus

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5
    • Photography
Re: Google sitemaps
« Reply #120 on: April 26, 2009, 09:08:28 pm »

Ive found a workaround if any one interested in importing their xml in to their normal site sitemap.xml...

Hi,
is it better to use this mod for the gallery with an another sitemap generator for the further parts of my site,
or
to use GSiteCrawler for the whole site including CPG?

I think, it would be much better and comfortable to use only GSiteCrawler, but this program generates sitemap of about 70 000 sites (it takes hours and hours of crowling and is still not finished...) from my not very big website ( http://www.dc-foto.com/gallery/ ). 

Thank you for your opinions and advice,

Drahus
Logged
Photographer

Phill Luckhurst

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: gb
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4687
    • Windsurf.me
Re: Google sitemaps
« Reply #121 on: April 26, 2009, 09:21:08 pm »

Have I got something configred incorrectly here Mr Nibbler Sir? When I try and generate a sitemap all I get is the following on a gallery with over 4000 images.

Code: [Select]
<?xml version="1.0" ?>
- <!-- Generated Sun, 26 Apr 2009 20:22:22 +0100 in 0 seconds.
  -->
- <urlset xmlns="http://www.google.com/schemas/sitemap/0.84">
- <url>
  <loc>http://www.windsurf.me.uk/cpg133/</loc>
  <priority>1.0</priority>
  </url>
- <url>
  <loc>http://www.windsurf.me.uk/cpg133/index.php?cat=1</loc>
  </url>
- <url>
  <loc>http://www.windsurf.me.uk/cpg133/index.php?cat=3</loc>
  </url>
- <url>
  <loc>http://www.windsurf.me.uk/cpg133/index.php?cat=5</loc>
  </url>
  </urlset>

http://www.windsurf.me.uk/cpg133/sitemap.php
Logged
It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.

Nibbler

  • Guest
Re: Google sitemaps
« Reply #122 on: April 26, 2009, 09:34:23 pm »

Hi,
is it better to use this mod for the gallery with an another sitemap generator for the further parts of my site,
or
to use GSiteCrawler for the whole site including CPG?

I think, it would be much better and comfortable to use only GSiteCrawler, but this program generates sitemap of about 70 000 sites (it takes hours and hours of crowling and is still not finished...) from my not very big website ( http://www.dc-foto.com/gallery/ ). 

Thank you for your opinions and advice,

Drahus

I'd advise using this since it 'knows' Coppermine and won't create the duplicate links that your screenshot shows. Also, this script doesn't do any crawling as the links are generated automatically.

Have I got something configred incorrectly here Mr Nibbler Sir? When I try and generate a sitemap all I get is the following on a gallery with over 4000 images.

Code: [Select]
<?xml version="1.0" ?>
- <!-- Generated Sun, 26 Apr 2009 20:22:22 +0100 in 0 seconds.
  -->
- <urlset xmlns="http://www.google.com/schemas/sitemap/0.84">
- <url>
  <loc>http://www.windsurf.me.uk/cpg133/</loc>
  <priority>1.0</priority>
  </url>
- <url>
  <loc>http://www.windsurf.me.uk/cpg133/index.php?cat=1</loc>
  </url>
- <url>
  <loc>http://www.windsurf.me.uk/cpg133/index.php?cat=3</loc>
  </url>
- <url>
  <loc>http://www.windsurf.me.uk/cpg133/index.php?cat=5</loc>
  </url>
  </urlset>

http://www.windsurf.me.uk/cpg133/sitemap.php


Try changing

Code: [Select]
ISNULL(alb_password)

to

Code: [Select]
(ISNULL(alb_password) OR alb_password = '')
Logged

Phill Luckhurst

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: gb
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4687
    • Windsurf.me
Re: Google sitemaps
« Reply #123 on: April 26, 2009, 09:48:38 pm »

Cheers Nibbler, worked a treat. ;D

I missed that on page 5  :-[
« Last Edit: April 26, 2009, 10:04:10 pm by Phill Luckhurst »
Logged
It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.

robindengate

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
    • Canal and Narrowboat Photo Library
Re: Google sitemaps
« Reply #124 on: September 04, 2009, 04:32:39 pm »

Hi,

Making it work on galleries with no category.

I don't think this has been covered, I've just scanned through all the earlier replies and didn't see anything.

Anyway, after reading the much earlier post about changing " all $cid by cat=0 ", I had a go at this (not PHP savvy, myself) as I was having this problem.

I found it wasn't quite that simple, and initially got a few errors, so needed to make different changes in different lines, but the idea is basically OK and I got it working and my sitemaps are fine.

Here is my updated file (simple version - as mentioned before the original file names seem to be intersposed):

RD

Logged
RD

"Hard work never killed anybody, but why take a chance?" -Edgar Bergen

papukaija

  • Contributor
  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 333
Re: Google sitemaps
« Reply #125 on: September 06, 2009, 01:23:31 pm »

Here is my updated file (simple version - as mentioned before the original file names seem to be intersposed):
For some reason the generated xml file is throwing a xml parsing error (or syntax) in Firefox:
"element not found, line:1, col:1". By the way your file is based on the simple version.

EDIT: After looking at the content of my gallery folder, I noticed that your script creates by default a file called "can_cm_sitemapxml" - the file name must be between '' (line 14). So there is no error message (the error message came because the manually created can_cm_sitemap.xml file was emtpy).

The fixed version of your file is attached as zipped to this message.
« Last Edit: September 06, 2009, 01:46:15 pm by papukaija »
Logged

robindengate

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
    • Canal and Narrowboat Photo Library
Re: Google sitemaps
« Reply #126 on: September 06, 2009, 01:46:20 pm »

For some reason the generated xml file is throwing a xml parsing error (or syntax) in Firefox:
"element not found, line:1, col:1". By the way your file is based on the simple version.

It's working fine for me in firefox, so not being an expert, only a dabbler, I can't help you with that.

Oh, and I did say I was using the simple version!
Logged
RD

"Hard work never killed anybody, but why take a chance?" -Edgar Bergen

robindengate

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
    • Canal and Narrowboat Photo Library
Re: Google sitemaps
« Reply #127 on: September 06, 2009, 01:51:45 pm »

Sorry, papukaija

Yes, I forgot to take out my own sitemap filename before uploading!

Thanks for correcting.

BTW: my gallery:  http://www.canalandnarrowboat.co.uk/cm/index.php

Logged
RD

"Hard work never killed anybody, but why take a chance?" -Edgar Bergen

fantasyfreak

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
    • Fantastic Gallery
Re: Google sitemaps
« Reply #128 on: January 03, 2010, 07:59:30 pm »

Hello, i created a sitemap and i noticed i have 2 types of urls for same pics:

In sitemap
/displayimage.php?pos=-17

While i browse via album navigation:
/displayimage.php?album=6&pos=0

I am scared Google will take it as duplicated content.

How can i solve this problem?


Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47844
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Google sitemaps
« Reply #129 on: January 03, 2010, 08:17:11 pm »

Not related to this mod, but an issue inherent to cpg1.4.x that can't be solved easily. Will be taken care of in cpg1.5.x. Anyway, as this is not related to this mod at all it should not be discussed here in this thread any further.
Logged

fantasyfreak

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
    • Fantastic Gallery
Re: Google sitemaps
« Reply #130 on: January 03, 2010, 08:59:03 pm »

Sorry Joachim :) i noticed the problem just after i installed and tested this script. The difference between site and list of urls in sitemap was really big so i added comment to this thread.

It really would be great if someone will find a time to fix it. It can just skyrocket traffic of Coppermine sites.

One last thing: mentioned link problem is connected to several themes: SEO, Core files, navigation structure and even to sitemaps. It just depending on point of view. If i do not wish to spam or create a multiple posts i have to decide for one post. I can do it properly or less properly. Do not forget many of users are not php gurus, but this does not means they are not skilled in other areas. I am sure many people here passed universities so pls do not treat them as they live somewhere in caves.

I understand you have a difficult task ... to take care of so many people with their "stupid" questions again and again....but still.....

Have a nice day and thanks for your time.
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47844
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Google sitemaps
« Reply #131 on: January 04, 2010, 10:51:38 am »

In the future, please respect moderation:
Anyway, as this is not related to this mod at all it should not be discussed here in this thread any further.
In other words: you shouldn't have replied here!
Logged

fantasyfreak

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
    • Fantastic Gallery
Re: Google sitemaps
« Reply #132 on: January 05, 2010, 02:09:54 pm »

I installed sitemap (PHP4 version) few days ago. Everything worked perfectly. I added albums to categories and script generated xml file with all urls.
my last url in sitemap is:
http://fantasticgallery.com/displayimage.php?pos=-671

From that time i added several pictures but these new links are not added into sitemap anymore.

I deleted script file and even sitemap xml file and i reuploaded it again several times. No help. Sitemap is always created in same way, my last image is that with number 671.

How can i fix the problem?

Logged

flapane

  • Contributor
  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Country: de
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 251
    • Flavio's page
Re: Google sitemaps
« Reply #133 on: June 12, 2010, 10:28:10 am »

I don't know if it's really related to the mod (plus version), to cpg or to Google, but did anybody notice that Google webmaster Tools tells that only a small part of the sitemap links are indicized (only 13 of 499, in my case) ?
It happened under 1.4.x, still happens under 1.5.x
As you can see from the attached sitemap, it shouldn't contain any weird links.

flapane

  • Contributor
  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Country: de
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 251
    • Flavio's page
Re: Google sitemaps
« Reply #134 on: July 09, 2010, 12:04:52 pm »

After 1 month, the situation seems to be the same

daniell

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 29
    • Central Wallpapers
Re: Google sitemaps
« Reply #135 on: December 26, 2010, 03:41:17 pm »

Thankz robindengate for the sitemap for galleries that dont use categories! =D


anyone has a version that generate .html sitemap instead of the .php!?
Pages: 1 ... 3 4 5 6 [7]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.028 seconds with 22 queries.