Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: "in-house" messagesystem  (Read 11821 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

udgang99

  • Coppermine regular visitor
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 78
"in-house" messagesystem
« on: May 26, 2006, 12:44:18 pm »

I was wondering why there isn't an "in-house" messagesystem in CPG? It would be nice if the users of a gallery could send emails to eachother ... to build a "community".
« Last Edit: May 27, 2006, 12:51:35 am by GauGau »
Logged

Stramm

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 6006
    • Bettis Wollwelt

udgang99

  • Coppermine regular visitor
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 78
Re: "in-house" messagesystem
« Reply #2 on: May 26, 2006, 05:42:06 pm »

That sounds really, really, realllllly great !!!

As far as I can understand (sorry, I'm simpelminded) I have to have phpBB2 installed first for the PM to work ... is that correct? And do you know of a step-by-step (for DUMMIES) tutorial on how to do this?
Logged

Stramm

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 6006
    • Bettis Wollwelt
Re: "in-house" messagesystem
« Reply #3 on: May 26, 2006, 05:54:22 pm »

no, if you have phpbb2 installed the modpack uses the forums PM system and integrates it into coppermine. If you have a standalone CPG then the modpack adds its own PM system.

udgang99

  • Coppermine regular visitor
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 78
Re: "in-house" messagesystem
« Reply #4 on: May 26, 2006, 07:44:40 pm »

Thank you SO much !!!  I installed it, and it work perfectly !!!  (one recommendation though - it would be cool to have a "SEND PM"-link, when you are checking somebodys profile out...

Anyway - I have implemented this thing into my gallery, which is in danish, and I'd like to translate these new features into danish, but looking over the english php-file, I have a hard time figuring out what is new, and what is old ... is it possible for you to let me know what is new, so I can translate it ? - you can have the file afterwards, and put it into your next update. ;)

Logged

Stramm

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 6006
    • Bettis Wollwelt
Re: "in-house" messagesystem
« Reply #5 on: May 26, 2006, 07:46:13 pm »

there's a send PM link when viewing a users profile
http://stramm.st.funpic.org/profile.php?uid=1

and you can use a diff viewer like winmerge to compare the original and the modpack english langfile. With that it'S easy to copy over the changes to every other language file

udgang99

  • Coppermine regular visitor
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 78
Re: "in-house" messagesystem
« Reply #6 on: May 26, 2006, 07:47:25 pm »

Logged

Stramm

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 6006
    • Bettis Wollwelt
Re: "in-house" messagesystem
« Reply #7 on: May 26, 2006, 07:53:24 pm »

you have
http://www.udgang99.dk/cpg140/profile.php?uid=6&theme=tentacle

for other themes that classic, tentacle or oranje you need to copy the 'send pm' gfx to that themes images dir

udgang99

  • Coppermine regular visitor
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 78
Re: "in-house" messagesystem
« Reply #8 on: May 26, 2006, 08:03:33 pm »

OMG !!!

Eversince I hit your link, I can't get away from the "tentacle-design! !!!!!!

How do I get back to "Hardwired" again??? -I tried changing in "setup", but nomatter what I choose, it wont change!!!
Logged

udgang99

  • Coppermine regular visitor
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 78
Re: "in-house" messagesystem
« Reply #9 on: May 26, 2006, 08:51:05 pm »

ahhhh - I figured it out ... I used the same link as you had provided, just changed the last bit to =hardwired

... what a STRANGE function!!!  -You could really screw somebody up that way, by keep changing his/hers design!!!  :-\
Logged

Stramm

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 6006
    • Bettis Wollwelt
Re: "in-house" messagesystem
« Reply #10 on: May 26, 2006, 09:58:09 pm »

This changes the design only for you.
You can either clear your cookies, use the way you found out or the theme selector to switch back to standard

udgang99

  • Coppermine regular visitor
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 78
Re: "in-house" messagesystem
« Reply #11 on: May 26, 2006, 10:00:57 pm »

That's actually not right ... I had a friend of mine check it out on his computer, using the "real" adresse, and he only saw the change too . Also, I tried to change it back in the themeselector, but it didn't change back. 
Logged

Stramm

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 6006
    • Bettis Wollwelt
Re: "in-house" messagesystem
« Reply #12 on: May 26, 2006, 11:55:16 pm »

actually it's right what I say. Try it again, then delete your cookie and open your site using your 'real' address. How yould you explain that you now get your default theme again??? Or do you want to claim that your local cookie can change your coppermine theme for all other possible users accessing your website???

And I'm not talking about the theme selector in config but the one you can enable for your users
http://coppermine-gallery.net/demo/cpg14x/docs/index.htm#admin_theme_theme_list

If you still can't believe me I suggest checking the code

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: "in-house" messagesystem
« Reply #13 on: May 27, 2006, 12:52:21 am »

Initial question solved anyway, mods don't go supported on the "regular" support board.
Logged

udgang99

  • Coppermine regular visitor
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 78
Re: "in-house" messagesystem
« Reply #14 on: May 27, 2006, 08:48:58 am »

@stamm: Okay, I guess your right ... all I know is that my friend (I was talking to him over msg) said that he saw a "white-design" (not Hardwired), but I may have misunderstod something! (I often do!) -Sorry to be a bother, especially when I so very, very happy with the service you have provided me !!

@GauGau: Yes, the initial question has been answerd - and I'm very, very happy !!! :)

-Kim
Logged

udgang99

  • Coppermine regular visitor
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 78
Re: "in-house" messagesystem
« Reply #15 on: May 27, 2006, 08:53:23 am »

@stamm : Again, if you're interested, I would love to help out and translate this to danish !!! (and keep translating future versions).
Logged

Stramm

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 6006
    • Bettis Wollwelt
Re: "in-house" messagesystem
« Reply #16 on: May 27, 2006, 09:16:31 am »

of course, I'd love if you try to translate the modpack language file to danish
http://forum.coppermine-gallery.net/index.php?topic=31907.msg147991#msg147991

see if you understand what I mean. It's the easiest way to compare files

udgang99

  • Coppermine regular visitor
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 78
Re: "in-house" messagesystem
« Reply #17 on: May 27, 2006, 09:29:58 am »

Ahhh - somehow I missed the meaning of that post before  ::)
Anyway - how would you surgest that I do this in WinMerge? I have 3 files: original eng, mod eng (yours), and original danish. -and I want to make a "mod danish".   ... do I just compare the "mod eng" to the "original danish"?
Logged

Stramm

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 6006
    • Bettis Wollwelt
Re: "in-house" messagesystem
« Reply #18 on: May 27, 2006, 09:39:49 am »

you open the modpack danish file (the one you want to create) in an editor
with winmerge you compare english.php orig and modpack. The changes winmerge shows you just copy/ paste into your editor (danish) and translate ;)

udgang99

  • Coppermine regular visitor
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 78
Re: "in-house" messagesystem
« Reply #19 on: May 27, 2006, 02:45:01 pm »

Oh damn !!!

I have just spent a couple of house translating the file... and it turns out theres an ERROR now !!!
But what's really strange, is that it's on line 726 of danish.php, whish is simply:                               'pictures' => 'billeder',
... what can be wrong there???

If you want to have a look at it, drop me an email here: udgang99@gmail.com, and I'll send you the php-file.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.087 seconds with 20 queries.