Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: How to pull traffic into gallery?  (Read 3693 times)

Penguin Pete

• Coppermine newbie
  • Wait a minute - what was I doing?
    • Penguin Pete's
How to pull traffic into gallery?
« on: April 04, 2006, 09:13:31 am »

I'm new to Coppermine, having quit the hosted blog world to start my own site. I picked Coppermine after some shopping around, and feel I've made a good choice. Only trouble is, it seems nobody else looks at it!

My mission in life is, I design desktop-wallpaper sized images using only free/open source software design tools; everything from Gimp and Inkscape to POVray and Blender, everything from abstracts patterns to full photo-realistic scenes. I want to offer these free to the public for download under the Creative Commons attribution license (which terms are basically: "use how you want, but credit me with a link back to my site"). So my needs are very different from a personal photo-sharing site. Generally, any time a Linux user or developer wants free wallpaper graphics and Googles for them, they should be able to find my site.

When I hosted these on a blog, they were getting from 300-500 hits per day! Now, I see about 50/month. It seems that Coppermine doesn't seem to be very spider-friendly. Also, a blog pings trackback services to notify people of freshly-posted content. Here, I put up new pictures and then listen to the crickets chirp.