Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: 1 ... 18 19 20 21 [22] 23 24   Go Down

Author Topic: Captcha (Visual Confirmation) for adding comments  (Read 531651 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

chillivanilla

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
Re: Captcha (Visual Confirmation) for adding comments
« Reply #420 on: November 15, 2007, 02:07:58 pm »

I've searched through the boards but can't find a definitive answer as to the whether Captcha code can be used when the SMF bridge is in place. I appreciate that the Captcha plugin can't be used but can the Capcha functionality be used when the mod is coded manually in this situation?

 
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47844
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Captcha (Visual Confirmation) for adding comments
« Reply #421 on: November 15, 2007, 07:14:05 pm »

The captcha mod (the thread you've posted in) can not cope with bridging to SMF enabled because SMF's session will break the captcha session. The most recent version of the captcha plugin should be capable for use with SMF bridging. See Captcha (Visual Confirmation) for adding comments
Logged

hozyali

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 109
  • HozyAli
    • Starcom Hosting
Re: Captcha (Visual Confirmation) for adding comments
« Reply #422 on: February 14, 2008, 11:39:21 pm »

Hello,

I have this mod installed and was working fine on old versions, after upgrade to 1.4.16, it has stopped working. it shows the image but does not validate. even accepts as empty. Please advise.

Regards
Ali
Logged

Abbas Ali

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: in
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 2165
  • Spread the PHP Web
    • Ranium Systems
Re: Captcha (Visual Confirmation) for adding comments
« Reply #423 on: February 15, 2008, 05:38:46 am »

Make sure you have made changes in db_input.php properly.
Logged
Chief Geek at Ranium Systems

hozyali

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 109
  • HozyAli
    • Starcom Hosting
Re: Captcha (Visual Confirmation) for adding comments
« Reply #424 on: February 15, 2008, 06:17:46 am »

Make sure you have made changes in db_input.php properly.

Thank you Abbas Bhai...

Do you mean, I will have to redo the steps for db_input.php file?

Thanks for your help.

Regards
Huzaifa Ali
Logged

Abbas Ali

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: in
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 2165
  • Spread the PHP Web
    • Ranium Systems
Re: Captcha (Visual Confirmation) for adding comments
« Reply #425 on: February 15, 2008, 01:49:23 pm »

Do you mean, I will have to redo the steps for db_input.php file?

Yes.
Logged
Chief Geek at Ranium Systems

cgc0202

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 199
Re: Captcha (Visual Confirmation) for adding comments
« Reply #426 on: February 15, 2008, 05:12:51 pm »

Hi Abbas.

Thanks for the plugin. Using the theme.php you provided, and the the changes to the other files --the captcha  worked for the registration and login.  This is what I need most.

However, I am having problems with it in terms of its use in comments.  I tried it so many times and I get this error:


Fatal error: Cannot redeclare class phpcaptcha in /home/totinet/public_html/phi/gphi000/include/captcha.class.php on line 13

Here is a Demo page using a fresh install of the version 1.4.16 -- also with its own problem. 

If possible, is there something that could be done so I do not have to use it for comments?  Only those who are logged in (thus also registered may comment.

Thanks.

Cornelio

P.S.
It seems to have compatibility issues also with other scripts, but I will place this as a separate respnse later.
Logged

hozyali

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 109
  • HozyAli
    • Starcom Hosting
Re: Captcha (Visual Confirmation) for adding comments
« Reply #427 on: February 15, 2008, 07:42:38 pm »

Yes.

It worked, thanks a lot.

Huzaifa Ali
Logged

Abbas Ali

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: in
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 2165
  • Spread the PHP Web
    • Ranium Systems
Re: Captcha (Visual Confirmation) for adding comments
« Reply #428 on: February 16, 2008, 06:14:13 am »

@cgc020: There is a setting on admin groups manager page to turn comments off for guests. Perhaps you are looking for that. Also you said that you tried this plugin - This is not a plugin but a mod. There is a separate captcha plugin. Are you using that? Perhaps you should use that plugin as it does not requires and code changes.
Logged
Chief Geek at Ranium Systems

andye

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
Re: Captcha (Visual Confirmation) for adding comments
« Reply #429 on: February 18, 2008, 01:41:59 pm »

I am also getting the error:

Fatal error: Cannot redeclare class phpcaptcha in /home/andyely/public_html/members/include/captcha.class.php on line 14

Any advice would be greatly received.
Logged

rooty

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 10
    • The Photoblog of Mark R. Groot
Re: Captcha (Visual Confirmation) for adding comments
« Reply #430 on: February 27, 2008, 10:40:09 pm »

Has anyone had any luck integrating Captcha into Foliage?
Logged

rooty

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 10
    • The Photoblog of Mark R. Groot
Re: Captcha (Visual Confirmation) for adding comments
« Reply #431 on: February 28, 2008, 11:40:57 pm »

Has anyone had any luck integrating Captcha into Foliage?

Errr....sorry, ignore that post; I had thought I was using the plugin, but in fact later realized that there is a plugin AND a mod, and I was using the mod. Plugin works beautifully with Foliage theme.
Logged

skmdd

  • Tester
  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Female
  • Posts: 23
    • Celebrities Wallpapers & Photo Gallery
Re: Captcha (Visual Confirmation) for adding comments
« Reply #432 on: April 14, 2008, 07:47:40 am »

Thanks for the nice mod. I got this working in first shot. (http://decoratingdesktop.com)
My site reports 500-600 spam comments. My site now is cleaner.
Logged

aftab1003

  • Coppermine regular visitor
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 67
    • PictureRating Site for Teens
Re: Captcha (Visual Confirmation) for adding comments
« Reply #433 on: May 17, 2008, 12:47:11 pm »

that freat, i have done in one shot tooo at http://www.picturerating.us/picture-gallery/index.php

but 1 thing i noticed, that with cookies, the commenter can edit or delete the own comment till the site cookie stay in his/her PC.
is it possible to stay away from visitors from their own comments?
if yes, then how we can do this.
thanks for your nice mod ;D
Logged

Abbas Ali

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: in
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 2165
  • Spread the PHP Web
    • Ranium Systems
Re: Captcha (Visual Confirmation) for adding comments
« Reply #434 on: May 19, 2008, 06:32:41 am »

This thread only deals with captcha mod. Your question is beyond the scope of this thread.
Logged
Chief Geek at Ranium Systems

Ludo

  • Contributor
  • Coppermine addict
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 706
    • E+GiElle
Re: Captcha (Visual Confirmation) for adding comments
« Reply #435 on: May 20, 2008, 07:19:10 pm »

It's been a hard time, but finally I've managed to get this mod working   8)

Just a suggestion: for the validation to work properly I had to move the line
Code: [Select]
require("include/captcha.class.php");at the beginning of db_input.php (just before the other requires): before, the confirmation code appeared but guests could post comments even without entering nothing (or a wrong code). I guess the session couldn't start, because of some PHP code already executed by the file.
As I noticed that other posters had to face this bug, maybe it can be useful to edit the installation instructions accordingly...
« Last Edit: May 20, 2008, 07:31:19 pm by Ludo »
Logged

Ludo

  • Contributor
  • Coppermine addict
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 706
    • E+GiElle
Re: Captcha (Visual Confirmation) for adding comments
« Reply #436 on: May 21, 2008, 10:08:57 am »

I modded the mod  ;D to show confirmation code to guests only.
I don't know if this is the better way (any comment appreciated) but it works  ;D
(Edit: I just noticed a similar hack previously posted: I think mine is lighter and more compliant with CPG code structure)

These edits require mod already in place.

OPEN
db_input.php

FIND (line 117)
Code: [Select]
if (!PhpCaptcha::Validate($_POST['confirmCode'])) {
REPLACE WITH
Code: [Select]
if (!(USER_ID) && !PhpCaptcha::Validate($_POST['confirmCode'])) {

OPEN
themes/your_theme/theme.php

FIND (in $template_add_your_comment)
Code: [Select]
                                <tr>                       
                                  <td class="tableb_compact" colspan="3">
                                    {CONFIRM}

BEFORE, ADD
Code: [Select]
<!-- BEGIN confirmation_code -->
FIND
Code: [Select]
                                    <input type="text" name="confirmCode" size="5" class="textinput" /> <img src="captcha.php" align="middle" alt="captcha code" />
                                  </td>
                                </tr>

AFTER, ADD
Code: [Select]
<!-- END confirmation_code -->
FIND (in function theme_html_comments)
Code: [Select]
            template_extract_block($template_add_your_comment, 'user_name_input', $user_name_input);
AFTER, ADD
Code: [Select]
            template_extract_block($template_add_your_comment, 'confirmation_code');

SAVE AND CLOSE ALL FILES           
« Last Edit: May 21, 2008, 03:44:24 pm by Ludo »
Logged

RenesCopper

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18
    • PhotoJournals of René O'Deay - Still Beautiful!
Re: Captcha (Visual Confirmation) locked me OUT!
« Reply #437 on: May 27, 2008, 10:14:07 pm »

 ??? Using Captcha plugin locks me out of login to admin. can't see the captcha to login. using eyeball theme, black. and gallery is offline. don't know why it requires it for adminsitration.

What do I do? Delete Captcha files through my file manager/cPanel? Or just rename the folder and deal with it when I get in?

 :o

Logged
Mac OSX 10.3.9, CopperMine 1.4.18, not bridged.

RenesCopper

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18
    • PhotoJournals of René O'Deay - Still Beautiful!
Re: Captcha (Visual Confirmation) locked out: Solved
« Reply #438 on: May 28, 2008, 12:16:39 am »

??? Using Captcha plugin locks me out of login to admin. can't see the captcha to login. using eyeball theme, black. and gallery is offline. don't know why it requires it for adminsitration.

What do I do? Delete Captcha files through my file manager/cPanel? Or just rename the folder and deal with it when I get in?
Found this:
Quote
Have an issue with plugin ? can't login to disable it ?
Manually disable captcha plugin:
=======================
- Use a mysql tool (e.g. phpmyadmin)
- Drop xxx_plugin_captcha table
- Open xxx_plugins table of gallery DB (xxx_ is your table prefix)
- Delete CAPTCHA row

So I tried that first. Figured out how to 'drop the xxx-plugin-captcha table', opened the xxx-plugins table, but there was no CAPTCHA row to delete. and that didn't solve the problem.

so went to my file manager/cPanel, and renamed the captcha folder. that worked! got into the admin backend. and deleted the captcha plugin. Now have two problems left.
  • there is a folder called "Receive" in the plugins and do not know where that came from, it is empty.
  • Now have funny long box for the browse for file in the plugins manager pane, instead of button.

Do I delete the Receive folder? was it created by the captcha plugin? and how do I restore the browse button? Should I run the update.php to get restored?
 :-\
Logged
Mac OSX 10.3.9, CopperMine 1.4.18, not bridged.

Ludo

  • Contributor
  • Coppermine addict
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 706
    • E+GiElle
Re: Captcha (Visual Confirmation) for adding comments
« Reply #439 on: May 28, 2008, 09:37:38 am »

This topic is about Captcha mod, not plugin...  ::)
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 18 19 20 21 [22] 23 24   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.028 seconds with 19 queries.