Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Problems with Publishing Wizard - Empty Album Name  (Read 3148 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

kirkjt

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
Problems with Publishing Wizard - Empty Album Name
« on: January 03, 2006, 03:46:58 am »

I'm trying to use the xp_publish feature on Coppermine 1.4.3 (just upgraded) on a Windows 2003 Server with Php 5.0.5 and MySQL 4.1.14

When I attempt to use the publishing wizard to create a new album, I get the message Your new album "" was created...notice the blank name.  After that it doesn't work.  When I look at the SQL table, I can see that an album with a blank name was indeed created.  Continuing from there, I get the usual publishing wizard error.

If I create the album via the website then try to publish the picture to that album, I get the standard publishing wizard error message (There was an error...)

If I try to batch add to an existing album, it works, and if I try to use the HTTP upload, it works, so I believe my basic uploading is okay, just something wrong with the publishing wizard.

I can also note that the browsable interface doesn't work on batch add, presumambly because of the path names and the fact I'm on a windows OS...don't know if that's related or not, but maybe it is.

Lastly, the error in xp_publish.log is : Error: Selected album does not exist or you don't have permission to upload in this album(File: : d:\Inetpub\wwwroot\photos\xp_publish.php / Line: : 722)

One more thing, the name of the album contains a slash: "Pickens / Taylor album".  I know slashes have caused some issues with pathnames, but I don't think this would affect this particular problem.

Please let me know how I can fix this or help someone to fix this.

Thanks.
« Last Edit: January 04, 2006, 06:21:39 am by GauGau »
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Problems with Publishing Wizard - Empty Album Name
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2006, 07:33:36 am »

I suggest posting a link and non-admin test user account with upload privileges.
Logged

kirkjt

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
Re: Problems with Publishing Wizard - Empty Album Name
« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2006, 08:05:38 pm »

http://24.165.193.188/photos

demo:demo

I was able to verify that the demo user also creates a blank album when trying to upload using the web publishing wizard.
Logged

kirkjt

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
Re: Problems with Publishing Wizard - Empty Album Name
« Reply #3 on: January 04, 2006, 05:12:45 am »

Also, I'm using IIS6 on 2003 server.  Outside of the web publishing wizard, everything seems to be working fine.

I *think* I've fixed the problem.  On the Coppermine URL, I was using my domain name which I use externally, www.initials.com/photos which in real life forwards (via the domain name provider) to initials.homelinux.net/photos. (I'm leaving out the real names to protect from bots -- initials = kirkjt)

When I changed the name from the external name to the dyndns name in the config page, the web publishing wizard works.  When I change back to www.initials.com/photos, it quits working.  I'm not sure if this has something to do with authentication because it appears that the page that executes after the publish (xp_publish.php?cmd=CreateAlbum or something similar) uses the full path including the config file rather than using the relative path.

As I think mentioned on a previous post, I switched from Linux to Win2k3 then immediately upgraded to 1.4.2 and now 1.4.3, so I'm not sure if this is a windows problem or a 1.4.x problem.  I'll be glad to test in any way I can, please let me know.

I would prefer to use the www.initials.com/photos address as the address everybody sees as in e-cards and such, but in reality, that doesn't buy me much, but it did work before.

Thanks.



« Last Edit: January 04, 2006, 06:09:11 am by kirkjt »
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Problems with Publishing Wizard - Empty Album Name
« Reply #4 on: January 04, 2006, 06:21:28 am »

yeah, the coppermine url setting in the config is very important in many places. Don't enter bullshit or redirection stuff there, but the actual url. Marking as solved
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.027 seconds with 19 queries.