Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Underscores now with Batch Add File  (Read 21959 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

scottking

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 27
Underscores now with Batch Add File
« on: December 31, 2005, 12:19:06 am »

I noticed that since I upgraded from 1.3x to 1.42 that all my file names show a underscore in place of a space with using Batch Add File

Ex  under 1.3x   the file would appear as Death and he Maiden 1).jpg
Now under 1.4x the file appears as Death_and_the_Maiden_(1).jpg

Confusing where trying to use Batch Add File for new images.

Why are spaces considered forbidden.
« Last Edit: December 31, 2005, 01:28:13 pm by GauGau »
Logged

kegobeer

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4637
  • Beer - it does a body good!
    • The Kazebeer Family Website
Re: Underscores now with Batch Add File
« Reply #1 on: December 31, 2005, 01:28:23 am »

Spaces are considered forbidden characters:  http://communication.ucsd.edu/bjones/Unix.docs/unix_filenames.html

Just because an OS allows you to put spaces in your filenames doesn't make it correct.
Logged
Do not send me a private message unless I ask for one.  Make your post public so everyone can benefit.

There are no stupid questions
But there are a LOT of inquisitive idiots

scottking

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 27
Re: Underscores now with Batch Add File
« Reply #2 on: December 31, 2005, 03:21:30 am »

Spaces are considered forbidden characters:  http://communication.ucsd.edu/bjones/Unix.docs/unix_filenames.html

Just because an OS allows you to put spaces in your filenames doesn't make it correct.

Thanks for the helpful information
Logged

Nookster

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
Re: Underscores now with Batch Add File
« Reply #3 on: April 18, 2008, 09:28:11 am »

As someone who has been using Unix since 1978; Unix has no problem with spaces in filenames per se.  Shells have quoting conventions to allow a filename with a space to be specified.

If you wanted to name a file "cat food" no problem, just put quotes around it so that it knows it's one file named "cat food" and not a file named "cat" and another file named "food".
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Underscores now with Batch Add File
« Reply #4 on: April 18, 2008, 09:43:47 am »

Lunix can cope with spaces in folder names, but the www has not been designed with spaces in folder/file names in mind. Everything that has been added to the original www specifications causes issues. It's better to avoid them.
Logged

mnowluck

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
Re: Underscores now with Batch Add File
« Reply #5 on: August 23, 2008, 10:04:57 am »

How do I check my coppermine version?
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Underscores now with Batch Add File
« Reply #6 on: August 23, 2008, 11:25:20 am »

RTFM!
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.021 seconds with 20 queries.