Advanced search  

News:

CPG Release 1.6.26
Correct PHP8.2 issues with user and language managers.
Additional fixes for PHP 8.2
Correct PHP8 error with SMF 2.0 bridge.
Correct IPTC supplimental category parsing.
Download and info HERE

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Underscores now with Batch Add File  (Read 21826 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

scottking

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 27
Underscores now with Batch Add File
« on: December 31, 2005, 12:19:06 am »

I noticed that since I upgraded from 1.3x to 1.42 that all my file names show a underscore in place of a space with using Batch Add File

Ex  under 1.3x   the file would appear as Death and he Maiden 1).jpg
Now under 1.4x the file appears as Death_and_the_Maiden_(1).jpg

Confusing where trying to use Batch Add File for new images.

Why are spaces considered forbidden.
« Last Edit: December 31, 2005, 01:28:13 pm by GauGau »
Logged

kegobeer

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4637
  • Beer - it does a body good!
    • The Kazebeer Family Website
Re: Underscores now with Batch Add File
« Reply #1 on: December 31, 2005, 01:28:23 am »

Spaces are considered forbidden characters:  http://communication.ucsd.edu/bjones/Unix.docs/unix_filenames.html

Just because an OS allows you to put spaces in your filenames doesn't make it correct.
Logged
Do not send me a private message unless I ask for one.  Make your post public so everyone can benefit.

There are no stupid questions
But there are a LOT of inquisitive idiots

scottking

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 27
Re: Underscores now with Batch Add File
« Reply #2 on: December 31, 2005, 03:21:30 am »

Spaces are considered forbidden characters:  http://communication.ucsd.edu/bjones/Unix.docs/unix_filenames.html

Just because an OS allows you to put spaces in your filenames doesn't make it correct.

Thanks for the helpful information
Logged

Nookster

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
Re: Underscores now with Batch Add File
« Reply #3 on: April 18, 2008, 09:28:11 am »

As someone who has been using Unix since 1978; Unix has no problem with spaces in filenames per se.  Shells have quoting conventions to allow a filename with a space to be specified.

If you wanted to name a file "cat food" no problem, just put quotes around it so that it knows it's one file named "cat food" and not a file named "cat" and another file named "food".
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Underscores now with Batch Add File
« Reply #4 on: April 18, 2008, 09:43:47 am »

Lunix can cope with spaces in folder names, but the www has not been designed with spaces in folder/file names in mind. Everything that has been added to the original www specifications causes issues. It's better to avoid them.
Logged

mnowluck

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
Re: Underscores now with Batch Add File
« Reply #5 on: August 23, 2008, 10:04:57 am »

How do I check my coppermine version?
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Underscores now with Batch Add File
« Reply #6 on: August 23, 2008, 11:25:20 am »

RTFM!
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.027 seconds with 19 queries.