Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: chinese_gb.php & chinese_gb-utf-8.php  (Read 31049 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

a-amp

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 23
chinese_gb.php & chinese_gb-utf-8.php
« on: December 19, 2005, 08:28:43 am »

Hi,

What is the difference between chinese_gp and chinese_gp-utf-8?  If I have only chinese_gb-utf-8.php, is that good enough?

Thanks,

Logged

CapriSkye

  • Moderator
  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 126
    • 森林之原
Re: chinese_gb.php & chinese_gb-utf-8.php
« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2005, 03:21:59 pm »

im assuming you're talking about chinese_gb
chinese_gb-utf-8 is used for 1.3x because you can choose to use gb or utf-8 encoding.
now 1.4x uses utf-8 for all languages, so there's no chinese_gb version anymore.
you can only choose one at a time, so you're good either way.
just make sure the file is in utf-8.
Logged

a-amp

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 23
Re: chinese_gb.php & chinese_gb-utf-8.php
« Reply #2 on: December 19, 2005, 05:10:24 pm »

im assuming you're talking about chinese_gb
chinese_gb-utf-8 is used for 1.3x because you can choose to use gb or utf-8 encoding.
now 1.4x uses utf-8 for all languages, so there's no chinese_gb version anymore.
you can only choose one at a time, so you're good either way.
just make sure the file is in utf-8.

Yes, I am talking about chinese_gb.

I have just upgraded to 1.4.2 and chinese_gb-utf-8 is included.  My own chinese text is only properly displayed when I use chinese_gb-utf-8.  It came out as garbage when I use chinese_gb.  I assume chinese_gb-utf-8 is good enough. 

Can I delete chinese_gb.php?

Also I found that the chinese text is not displayed properly if I use chinese_big5-utf-8.  It is ok if I use chinese_big5.  I am pretty confused by it.

Thanks,
Logged

CapriSkye

  • Moderator
  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 126
    • 森林之原
Re: chinese_gb.php & chinese_gb-utf-8.php
« Reply #3 on: December 19, 2005, 05:21:54 pm »

for people upgrading cpg, the files are not removed i think.
if you do a clean install of 1.4x, you won't find chinese_gb-utf-8.php.

if chinese_gb-utf-8 works for you, you can delete chinese_gb.php
Logged

a-amp

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 23
Re: chinese_gb.php & chinese_gb-utf-8.php
« Reply #4 on: December 19, 2005, 05:39:02 pm »

for people upgrading cpg, the files are not removed i think.
if you do a clean install of 1.4x, you won't find chinese_gb-utf-8.php.

if chinese_gb-utf-8 works for you, you can delete chinese_gb.php

Great and thanks.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.02 seconds with 18 queries.