Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Rawshooter problems with Batch Add  (Read 4550 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

hankkarl

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
Rawshooter problems with Batch Add
« on: December 17, 2005, 07:42:00 pm »

I can convert RAW files to JPG with Canon's Digital Photo Professional (DPP), RawShooter Essentials 2005 (RSE) and RawShooter Premium 2006 (RSP).  All output can be uploaded to Coppermine with the upload file button with no problems.  All files can be uploaded with Batch Add, and files converted with DPP work fine.  However, files converted with RSE and RSP do not display thumbnails nor do they display a picture--all they display is a filename.  An example is at http://www.athome-alice.com/coppermine/thumbnails.php?album=43

I am running Coppermine 1.4.2.  I had the same problem with RSE in Coppermine 1.3, but solved it by upgrading to the latest 1.3 release.  This may be related to http://forum.coppermine-gallery.net/index.php?topic=20854.0

« Last Edit: December 18, 2005, 01:58:45 am by Nibbler »
Logged

donnoman

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1615
  • From donovanbray.com
    • Donovan Bray
Re: Rawshooter problems with Batch Add
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2005, 09:08:14 pm »

after conversion before uploading to coppermine, drag one of the converted images ontop of ie and drop it.

If the image comes up with a broken x, then the problem is the browser isn't understanding the image format.

That appears to be whats happening with those images, as the browsers ie nor ff can view the full size image. My guess is something is goofy with your jpeg images.

Can you view them with other applications as jpegs?
Logged

Nibbler

  • Guest
Re: Rawshooter problems with Batch Add
« Reply #2 on: December 17, 2005, 10:23:40 pm »

Looks like hotlink protection to me. If I disable referer logging then I can see the pics. Files you upload with batch add have a different path to http uploads so are affected differently.
Logged

hankkarl

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
Re: Rawshooter problems with Batch Add
« Reply #3 on: December 17, 2005, 10:56:40 pm »

after conversion before uploading to coppermine, drag one of the converted images ontop of ie and drop it.

If the image comes up with a broken x, then the problem is the browser isn't understanding the image format.

That appears to be whats happening with those images, as the browsers ie nor ff can view the full size image. My guess is something is goofy with your jpeg images.

Can you view them with other applications as jpegs?

I use firefox, and draging the image to firefox allows me to view it.
Logged

hankkarl

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
Re: Rawshooter problems with Batch Add
« Reply #4 on: December 17, 2005, 11:05:23 pm »

Looks like hotlink protection to me. If I disable referer logging then I can see the pics. Files you upload with batch add have a different path to http uploads so are affected differently.

Thanks, that did it.  removing .htaccess allows the photos to be viewed.  I had an .htaccess file with:

   Options -indexes
   RewriteEngine on
   RewriteCond %{HTTP_REFERER} !^$
   RewriteCond %{HTTP_REFERER} !^http://(www\.)?mydomain.com/.*$ [NC]
   RewriteRule \.(gif|jpg)$ http://www.athome-alice.com/ [R,L]

But why would this affect files converted via RSE and RSP, but not DPP? I uploaded six of the files in one batch load, and three by the upload button.  Of the six that were uploaded in batch mode, two displayed fine (the ones converted with DPP).  Why do files converted with one RAW converter work fine, and files converted with the other fail?

Also, I'm new to administering Coppermine.  How did you disable referer logging?
Logged

Nibbler

  • Guest
Re: Rawshooter problems with Batch Add
« Reply #5 on: December 17, 2005, 11:16:03 pm »

OK, so I was wrong about it being a difference in the filepath. It's a difference in the case of the extension. Some of the files are .JPG as opposed to .jpg and so are not affected by the hotlink protection. Change the line to

Code: [Select]
RewriteRule \.(gif|jpg)$ http://www.athome-alice.com/ [R,L,NC]
to make it case insensitive. And do you actually have it set as mydomain.com ?

Referer logging is a browser setting and can be controlled by the webdeveloper firefox extension.
Logged

hankkarl

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
Re: Rawshooter problems with Batch Add
« Reply #6 on: December 18, 2005, 01:26:37 am »

OK, so I was wrong about it being a difference in the filepath. It's a difference in the case of the extension. Some of the files are .JPG as opposed to .jpg and so are not affected by the hotlink protection. Change the line to

Code: [Select]
RewriteRule \.(gif|jpg)$ http://www.athome-alice.com/ [R,L,NC]
to make it case insensitive. And do you actually have it set as mydomain.com ?

Referer logging is a browser setting and can be controlled by the webdeveloper firefox extension.
Thanks, that explains it.  I forgot Linux was case sensisitve. 
I guess I can't use the hotlink protection because the converters that failed put the extension into lower case, the one that worked put it in upper case.
I did have it set as mydomain.com, but that could be a combination of cut-and-paste and my own ignorance.

Edit:  Just changed mydomain.com to the correct value and added the NC as you indicate.  It works great now!  Thank you very much!  (This may be a good addition to the manual or FAQ, others may want to stop hot-linking.)

« Last Edit: December 18, 2005, 01:41:11 am by hankkarl »
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.027 seconds with 19 queries.