Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Permissions stuck at 755  (Read 4511 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

kehbop

  • Coppermine regular visitor
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 52
Permissions stuck at 755
« on: December 14, 2005, 07:34:12 am »

I'm not sure where to post this.

I need to upload files to the folders inside the albums/userpics directory. I can't because of the permissions. I can't change the permissions with my FTP either (dreamweaver) because it keeps saying set access properties failed.

I don't know if this is my FTP or something on Coppermine not allowing me to change it. Any help?  ???
« Last Edit: December 20, 2005, 09:26:14 am by GauGau »
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Permissions stuck at 755
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2005, 07:43:20 am »

no chance for us to tell what is wrong. However I should warn you: you mustn't FTP-upload into the userpics folder unless you really, really know what you're doing. Dreamweaver is not a FTP app, although it might contain an embedded FTP upload client.
Ask your webhost for support on this.
Logged

kehbop

  • Coppermine regular visitor
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 52
Re: Permissions stuck at 755
« Reply #2 on: December 14, 2005, 09:00:58 pm »

I went onto my servers webFTP and I still couldn't change it or upload files.

I'm 90% sure that coppermine is forcing it to be a 755 permission. Is there a way to change that?
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Permissions stuck at 755
« Reply #3 on: December 16, 2005, 10:59:52 am »

not sure what the actual question is. Ask your webhost for support.
Logged

kehbop

  • Coppermine regular visitor
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 52
Re: Permissions stuck at 755
« Reply #4 on: December 16, 2005, 08:49:30 pm »

aww. Its not easy to contact them.

Basically, I want coppermine to stop making folders that are 755 in the userpics. I want them to be 777. (it creates a new folder for every user that uploads picture)

So my question is how do I make coppermine make new folders in 777 rather than the 755 it's making it?

PS: my other post that you made a double post started on a different topic. It just ended up that the root of the problem ended up being the same.
Logged

Nibbler

  • Guest
Re: Permissions stuck at 755
« Reply #5 on: December 16, 2005, 08:51:32 pm »

It should be using the 'Default mode for directories' option in config when creating subdirectories in userpics.
Logged

kehbop

  • Coppermine regular visitor
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 52
Re: Permissions stuck at 755
« Reply #6 on: December 19, 2005, 04:15:06 am »

Hey I didn't see that before! Thanks Nibbler!

Thank all you guys for doing such a good job with the forum here.

I just have one more related problem. I have a few folders with the 755 already on it and they are so locked in that position that I can't even delete them. How can I change them to 777?
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Permissions stuck at 755
« Reply #7 on: December 19, 2005, 09:18:36 am »

use your FTP app or whatever method your webhost allows you to CHMOD. If this doesn't work for you, ask your webhost for support - they may have to CHOWN the folders for you as well.
Logged

kehbop

  • Coppermine regular visitor
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 52
Re: Permissions stuck at 755
« Reply #8 on: December 20, 2005, 03:52:38 am »

Yeah, I ended up having to rename the folders. Copying the files to my hard drive and then reuploading them to a folder I created with the original name. I'm not sure why Coppermine is so possessive of the permissions it creates.

Anyways, it's solved. Thanks!
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.018 seconds with 19 queries.