Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Problems with XHTML 1.0 and FireFox  (Read 6803 times)

amirw2k

• Contributor
  • Coppermine novice
Problems with XHTML 1.0 and FireFox
« on: December 01, 2005, 10:35:51 am »

I'm not sure if this is the right forum, but here goes -

I've installed ver 1.42 stand-alone and using FireFox 1.0.7.

I'm not sure why it happens, as I'm not an expert in DTD, but from the beginning the gallery didn't show up properly in FireFox. I tried all the themes and it's like the CSS wasn't loading. I must say that in Internet Explorer everything looked great as it should.

I've done some research and discovered you've moved to XHTML 1.0

This was the problematic line:
Code: [Select]
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
I ran the site through the W3 validator and it found 3 errors which I wasn't able to fix, and to be honest, I read that people wasted hours on trying to fix their website to be XHTML 1.0 compliant for FireFox.

My question is, what good does this XHTML 1.0 gives us and why do you use it?

To solve the "problem" I did a mass-replace on all the DTD lines in all files and replaced everything back to:
<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN">
After that, everything is working properly (IE + FireFox). I'd love to hear some thoughts regarding this issue.

Amir W.

Joachim Müller

• Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Problems with XHTML 1.0 and FireFox
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2005, 10:39:35 am »