Advanced search  

News:

CPG Release 1.6.26
Correct PHP8.2 issues with user and language managers.
Additional fixes for PHP 8.2
Correct PHP8 error with SMF 2.0 bridge.
Correct IPTC supplimental category parsing.
Download and info HERE

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Character encoding - Cyrillic (koi8-r) - Cyrillic (windows-1251) once again  (Read 19719 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Makc666

  • Translator
  • Coppermine addict
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1614
  • Русский (ISO-8859-1) - Russian - Ðóññêèé (Windows)
    • Makc's home page

Gallery Configuration - Coppermine Photo Gallery 1.4.2 (stable)
Language & Charset settings
Character encoding

There is choice --> Cyrillic (koi8-r)
There is no choice for --> Cyrillic (windows-1251)

You can see attached screenshot...

P.S. Fresh install!!!
« Last Edit: November 27, 2005, 07:38:11 pm by GauGau »
Logged

Makc666

  • Translator
  • Coppermine addict
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1614
  • Русский (ISO-8859-1) - Russian - Ðóññêèé (Windows)
    • Makc's home page

Or. I found it. Forgot about my old post here:
http://forum.coppermine-gallery.net/index.php?topic=19587.0

There is no line:
Code: [Select]
'Cyrillic' => 'windows-1251',in file: admin.php

Code: [Select]
    $charsets = array('Default (not recommended)' => 'language file',
        'Arabic' => 'iso-8859-6',
        'Baltic' => 'iso-8859-4',
        'Central European' => 'iso-8859-2',
        'Chinese Simplified' => 'euc-cn',
        'Chinese Traditional' => 'big5',
        'Cyrillic' => 'koi8-r',
        'Greek' => 'iso-8859-7',
        'Hebrew' => 'iso-8859-8-i',
        'Icelandic' => 'x-mac-icelandic',
        'Japanese' => 'euc-jp',
        'Korean' => 'euc-kr',
        'Maltese' => 'iso-8859-3',
        'Thai' => 'windows-874 ',
        'Turkish' => 'iso-8859-9',
        'Unicode (recommended)' => 'utf-8',
        'Vietnamese' => 'windows-1258',
        'Western' => 'iso-8859-1'
        );


In charsetmgr.php there is code for this one (windows-1251):
Code: [Select]
    $charsets = array(//'Default' => 'language file',
                      'Arabic' => 'iso-8859-6',
                      'Baltic' => 'iso-8859-4',
                      'Central European' => 'iso-8859-2',
                      'Chinese Simplified' => 'euc-cn',
                      'Chinese Traditional' => 'big5',
                      'Cyrillic (windows-1251)' => 'windows-1251',
                      'Cyrillic (koi8-r)' => 'koi8-r',
                      'Greek' => 'iso-8859-7',
                      'Hebrew' => 'iso-8859-8-i',
                      'Icelandic' => 'x-mac-icelandic',
                      'Japanese' => 'euc-jp',
                      'Korean' => 'euc-kr',
                      'Maltese' => 'iso-8859-3',
                      'Thai' => 'windows-874',
                      'Turkish' => 'iso-8859-9',
                      'Unicode' => 'utf-8',
                      'Vietnamese' => 'windows-1258',
                      'Western' => 'iso-8859-1'
                      );
« Last Edit: November 27, 2005, 12:54:30 am by Makc666 »
Logged

Makc666

  • Translator
  • Coppermine addict
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1614
  • Русский (ISO-8859-1) - Russian - Ðóññêèé (Windows)
    • Makc's home page

But you can't add like this in admin.php
Code: [Select]
        'Cyrillic' => 'windows-1251',
        'Cyrillic' => 'koi8-r',

As it will not work and these two lines have the same name between '' tags ('Cyrillic').

So you have to add like this one:
Code: [Select]
        'Cyrillic windows' => 'windows-1251',
        'Cyrillic koi8' => 'koi8-r',

So the final "good" code will look like:
Code: [Select]
    $charsets = array('Default (not recommended)' => 'language file',
        'Arabic' => 'iso-8859-6',
        'Baltic' => 'iso-8859-4',
        'Central European' => 'iso-8859-2',
        'Chinese Simplified' => 'euc-cn',
        'Chinese Traditional' => 'big5',
        'Cyrillic windows' => 'windows-1251',
        'Cyrillic koi8' => 'koi8-r',
        'Greek' => 'iso-8859-7',
        'Hebrew' => 'iso-8859-8-i',
        'Icelandic' => 'x-mac-icelandic',
        'Japanese' => 'euc-jp',
        'Korean' => 'euc-kr',
        'Maltese' => 'iso-8859-3',
        'Thai' => 'windows-874 ',
        'Turkish' => 'iso-8859-9',
        'Unicode (recommended)' => 'utf-8',
        'Vietnamese' => 'windows-1258',
        'Western' => 'iso-8859-1'
        );

Here a fixed screenshot:
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de

why not use unicode?
Logged

Makc666

  • Translator
  • Coppermine addict
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1614
  • Русский (ISO-8859-1) - Russian - Ðóññêèé (Windows)
    • Makc's home page

why not use unicode?
Because here in Russian we like to use Cyrillic windows-1251.
I posted not enough information about this BUG, so it can be fixed?
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de

not a bug. The dev team has decided that we'll use unicode exclusively. The other encodings will vanish soon. This is not a matter of personal preferences or taste imo.
Logged

natalina

  • Coppermine regular visitor
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Female
  • Posts: 96
    • Interior & Architecture

I have the same problem & found the solution (very boring). I saved on my computer lang.php in windows1251, then rewrite translation & upload the file to the server. It works perfect. But now I' m still using unicode - 2 much 2 translate. But I'll do it anyway -because of few but awfull mistakes in Russian  - like До свидание (goodbye) is absolutely wrong...

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de

your reply is not relevant, you're free to convert the utf-8 file to something else. Phrases that are translated wrongly (in your opinion) are not related to this at all. Repyling to a thread on the bugs board that is marked as "invalid" is not a clever move. Locking thread now (it's sad that we're forced to do this - I wish people respected board rules).
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.022 seconds with 19 queries.