Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Where CM stores information about lang?  (Read 3503 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

kvv213

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
Where CM stores information about lang?
« on: November 23, 2005, 07:48:52 am »

Hello All!

Can anybody says where CopperMine stores information about user's language? I tried to find that information by myself. But I couldn't.

For example. If I a new user and enter a site with a coppermine. It shows me default language. But If I change language trhough menu then CM remember my choise and in future it will show all pages using rebembered choise.
I ask that question because I want to add &lang= variable to all URLs of the site (I have some reasons to do that). And I'm worry about some annoying behaviour when everytime a cookie will be reset (I want to try to evade such behaviour).

Thank you for your answers!
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Where CM stores information about lang?
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2005, 08:23:50 am »

the language the user has chosen (if it differs from the default language) is being stored in a cookie. If you chose utf-8 encoding in coppermine's config, coppermine will show the page in the default language your users have set in their browsers. If you don't want a language to be shown, just delete the language file (in the lang folder). It's nearly impossible to go through all links in coppermine's code and redo the links, and it would be a stupid task. If you want only one language, don't display the language selector. If you want to make it foolproof, delete the unwanted language files as suggested above.
However, yours is a support request. Posting on the sub-board that is named "no support" is not a good idea. If you have further questions, post a link to your site - a moderator will then move this thread accordingly. If you start new threads with support requests, post on the board that deals with your coppermine version.
Logged

kvv213

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
Re: Where CM stores information about lang?
« Reply #2 on: November 23, 2005, 11:03:37 am »

the language the user has chosen (if it differs from the default language) is being stored in a cookie. If you chose utf-8 encoding in coppermine's config, coppermine will show the page in the default language your users have set in their browsers. If you don't want a language to be shown, just delete the language file (in the lang folder). It's nearly impossible to go through all links in coppermine's code and redo the links, and it would be a stupid task. If you want only one language, don't display the language selector. If you want to make it foolproof, delete the unwanted language files as suggested above.
However, yours is a support request. Posting on the sub-board that is named "no support" is not a good idea. If you have further questions, post a link to your site - a moderator will then move this thread accordingly. If you start new threads with support requests, post on the board that deals with your coppermine version.
I asked about different thing :) I have two languages at my site. But I like to add more translated languages via babelfish or other automatic traslators. But the problem is that sometimes if a person uses such translators english language changes to aniother and translator can't translate everything. So I have to put &lang=english to every link that generates the code. But I don't like to rewrite cookie with 'lang' everytime. So I asked about a place where CM works with that cookies (I couldn't find it by myself).
It isn't a support question because I use very old version :) and just ask other people about the place.
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Where CM stores information about lang?
« Reply #3 on: November 23, 2005, 04:51:14 pm »

other/older versions go unsupported, because things work differently with them. A hint from someone who's been involved in languages and translation for a long time: don't use babelfish or similar, it's just silly. A machine can't translate natural languages.
Post a link to your site.
Logged

kvv213

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
Re: Where CM stores information about lang?
« Reply #4 on: December 01, 2005, 09:44:52 am »

other/older versions go unsupported, because things work differently with them. A hint from someone who's been involved in languages and translation for a long time: don't use babelfish or similar, it's just silly. A machine can't translate natural languages.
Post a link to your site.
Here is my site http://www.umoscow.info

I understand that old version aren't supported but I support my instalation by myself. :) But I asked people who may to look into the code deeply than I.... Now I see that nobody did that so I have to do it.
About babelfish and other translation programs - my site now is two languages. I transate from my native lang. (russian) to english. But I want to support more languages. I know german a little bit and I checked how such translations translate from english to german. They do that not tooo worse. Of course I have a lot of mistakes even in english translations and in russian. But I could read in german what they translated :) I think that a lot of visitors don't know english or russian at all but they are intrested in the site content... It can be a compromise.

Sorry for so late answer.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.038 seconds with 20 queries.