Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Problems with resizing of pics....  (Read 4067 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

marcamillion

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 110
Problems with resizing of pics....
« on: December 09, 2003, 09:04:26 am »

I have Image Magick installed on the webserver...and the path is correct and the installation is good....the problem i have is whenever i try to resize the pic, i get the thumbnail to work but the original pic does not show. This happens whenever i check the delete original size pic option in resize. I am trying to resize the regular pic to smaller so i can save space on my server. The same thing happens when i try GD 2.X. Am i going something wrong ? Is there something else i can try ? Can someone please help me out with this.  :(
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Problems with resizing of pics....
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2003, 09:15:49 am »

are you on windows (webserver)? Windows knows a difference in permissions: write access does not necessarily mean permission to delete. I'd go for checking the permissions in the first place.

GauGau
Logged

marcamillion

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 110
Problems with resizing of pics....
« Reply #2 on: December 09, 2003, 09:09:04 pm »

the server i am on has redhat installed. The thing is....i can delete the original size pics. But whenever i do that, i assumed that it would resize the big pic, make a smaller sized big pic and delete the original sized big pic. But when i go back into the gallery it just shows me the thumbnail and there is an empty box with an 'X' where the pic should be. So all i see is the filmstrip with a mini-version of the picture, but above it....i see no pic. I tried with both GD 2.X and Image magick...same thing....can someone tell me the exact configurations i should have in config to resize properly and delete the original bigger pics. Keep in mind i am trying to save space but dont lose too much picture quality.

marcamillion
Logged

hyperion

  • VIP
  • Coppermine addict
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1317
  • - retired -
Problems with resizing of pics....
« Reply #3 on: December 09, 2003, 09:30:57 pm »

Did you disable intermediate pictures?  If so, that would explain the behavior. CPG would attempt to open the original picture when you click on the thumbnail, and it would not be there.

There are three sets of photos in CPG:

Thumbnail
Normal (Intermediate)
Original

In the default setup, you click on the thumb, and it displays the resized normal. Then you click on the normal, and it displays the original.  If you turned intermediates off, it would attempt to display the original, which you have deleted.
Logged
"Then, Fletch," that bright creature said to him, and the voice was very kind, "let's begin with level flight . . . ."

-Richard Bach, Jonathan Livingston Seagull

(https://forum.coppermine-gallery.net/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.mozilla.org%2Fproducts%2Ffirefox%2Fbuttons%2Fgetfirefox_small.png&hash=9f6d645801cbc882a52f0ee76cfeda02625fc537)

marcamillion

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 110
Problems with resizing of pics....
« Reply #4 on: December 09, 2003, 10:05:08 pm »

i have intermediate pics enabled. All those settings are enabled...thumbnail, normal ( intermediate ) & original...and all are enabled.
Logged

hyperion

  • VIP
  • Coppermine addict
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1317
  • - retired -
Problems with resizing of pics....
« Reply #5 on: December 09, 2003, 10:21:09 pm »

In the Config, set the picture qulaity between 65 and 80.

Set the size for intermediate and thumb pictures to a pixel measurement you like.

If you can't get the batch resizing to work the way you want, you can always hard code for automatic deletion of the originals.  Search the 1.1.X forum for my post on this topic.  It's at the bottom of a post about disabling popups.
Logged
"Then, Fletch," that bright creature said to him, and the voice was very kind, "let's begin with level flight . . . ."

-Richard Bach, Jonathan Livingston Seagull

(https://forum.coppermine-gallery.net/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.mozilla.org%2Fproducts%2Ffirefox%2Fbuttons%2Fgetfirefox_small.png&hash=9f6d645801cbc882a52f0ee76cfeda02625fc537)

marcamillion

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 110
Problems with resizing of pics....
« Reply #6 on: December 10, 2003, 12:03:07 am »

But, if i delete the originals, wont that still give me the 'X' when going thru the my album and the other albums which the original was deleted from ? I dont want to get any x's. I want all the pics to show...two sizes...thumbnail and a bigger size just smaller than it is now.
Logged

hyperion

  • VIP
  • Coppermine addict
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1317
  • - retired -
Problems with resizing of pics....
« Reply #7 on: December 10, 2003, 12:21:52 am »

Please read the /doc files included in the Coppermine download.  Then please read the post I mentioned.
Logged
"Then, Fletch," that bright creature said to him, and the voice was very kind, "let's begin with level flight . . . ."

-Richard Bach, Jonathan Livingston Seagull

(https://forum.coppermine-gallery.net/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.mozilla.org%2Fproducts%2Ffirefox%2Fbuttons%2Fgetfirefox_small.png&hash=9f6d645801cbc882a52f0ee76cfeda02625fc537)

marcamillion

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 110
Problems with resizing of pics....
« Reply #8 on: December 10, 2003, 02:23:55 am »

I found what you are talking about and I added the code that will delete the pic, but to disable the javascript...i had problems trying to find that code.

I found this code, but the instructions of what to do with it were vague. Here is the code....what should I do with it ?

if (isset($image_size['reduced'])) {
                $winsizeX = $CURRENT_PIC_DATA['pwidth'] + 16;
                $winsizeY = $CURRENT_PIC_DATA['pheight'] + 16;
                $pic_html = "<img src=\"".$picture_url."\" {$image_size['geom']} class=\"image\" border=\"0\" alt=\"{$lang_display_image_php['view_fs']}\" /><br />";
        } else {
                $pic_html = "<img src=\"".$picture_url."\" {$image_size['geom']} class=\"image\" border=\"0\" /><br />\n";
        }



If that is not what i should add, where is the javascript code that I should comment out ? I looked through the code but couldn't find it.
Logged

hyperion

  • VIP
  • Coppermine addict
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1317
  • - retired -
Problems with resizing of pics....
« Reply #9 on: December 10, 2003, 03:26:15 am »

The referenced code is located in displayimage.php.  You should replace the code mentioned earlier in that thread with the code you have pasted here.
Logged
&quot;Then, Fletch,&quot; that bright creature said to him, and the voice was very kind, &quot;let&#039;s begin with level flight . . . .&quot;

-Richard Bach, Jonathan Livingston Seagull

(https://forum.coppermine-gallery.net/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.mozilla.org%2Fproducts%2Ffirefox%2Fbuttons%2Fgetfirefox_small.png&hash=9f6d645801cbc882a52f0ee76cfeda02625fc537)
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.02 seconds with 19 queries.