Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: bugs or my problem? $this->active undefined  (Read 10011 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

mava70

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
bugs or my problem? $this->active undefined
« on: September 19, 2005, 11:02:26 am »

Hello,

I recently upgraded to 1.4.1 my gallery. After the upgrade I cannot login, on the top I get an error in debugger.inc.php line 43.
I solved my problem with this patch:

42     function start() {
     43         $this->active=false;
     44         if (!$this->active) {
     45             $this->report = false;
     46             if (CAN_MOD_INI) {

Is this a bug or I have some misconfiguration around?

thank you

Marco

« Last Edit: November 27, 2005, 11:21:49 pm by DJMaze »
Logged

Aditya Mooley

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 781
    • My Sweet Home
Re: bugs or my problem? $this->active undefined
« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2005, 12:06:48 pm »

What was the error mesasge? You should post as much information as possible for the bug you are reporting.
Logged
--- "Its Nice 2 BE Important but its more Important 2 Be NICE" ---
Follow Coppermine on Twitter

mava70

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
Re: bugs or my problem? $this->active undefined
« Reply #2 on: September 19, 2005, 12:33:32 pm »

You are true, but the lazyness...

Here the error:

Warning: Undefined property: active in "mydirectory"/include/debugger.inc.php on line 43

Marco
Logged

mava70

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
Re: bugs or my problem? $this->active undefined
« Reply #3 on: September 19, 2005, 12:45:06 pm »

As a test purpose I downloaded lates debugger.inc.php from cvs to see if something change. In effect I can login and logout
but the error on top is still present:

Warning: Undefined property: active in /home/httpd/www.valentini.biz/html/coppermine/include/debugger.inc.php on line 43

I patched with my mods en everything works

M
Logged

Aditya Mooley

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 781
    • My Sweet Home
Re: bugs or my problem? $this->active undefined
« Reply #4 on: September 19, 2005, 12:54:01 pm »

This is not an error. Just a warning which can be safely ignored.

BTW, what is the PHP version you are using? I am on PHP 5.0.2 and cannot see any such warning.
Logged
--- "Its Nice 2 BE Important but its more Important 2 Be NICE" ---
Follow Coppermine on Twitter

kegobeer

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4637
  • Beer - it does a body good!
    • The Kazebeer Family Website
Re: bugs or my problem? $this->active undefined
« Reply #5 on: September 19, 2005, 12:58:59 pm »

Perhaps error messages are enabled in the user's php.ini file.
Logged
Do not send me a private message unless I ask for one.  Make your post public so everyone can benefit.

There are no stupid questions
But there are a LOT of inquisitive idiots

mava70

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
Re: bugs or my problem? $this->active undefined
« Reply #6 on: September 19, 2005, 02:04:18 pm »

BTW, what is the PHP version you are using? I am on PHP 5.0.2 and cannot see any such warning.

$ php -v
4.1.2
Logged

mava70

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
Re: bugs or my problem? $this->active undefined
« Reply #7 on: September 19, 2005, 02:06:27 pm »

Perhaps error messages are enabled in the user's php.ini file.

; Print out errors (as a part of the output).  For production web sites,
; you're strongly encouraged to turn this feature off, and use error logging
; instead (see below).  Keeping display_errors enabled on a production web site
; may reveal security information to end users, such as file paths on your Web
; server, your database schema or other information.
display_errors = On

You are right..

M
Logged

snorri

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 6
Re: bugs or my problem? $this->active undefined
« Reply #8 on: September 19, 2005, 09:02:33 pm »

Yes, that's my error, too.
I can't edit the php.ini on that server, so what should I do? Apply mava70's patch or is there a better way around it?

-- snorry
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: bugs or my problem? $this->active undefined
« Reply #9 on: September 19, 2005, 10:17:55 pm »

contact your webhost - as suggested, this should be turned off on production servers.
Logged

snorri

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 6
Re: bugs or my problem? $this->active undefined
« Reply #10 on: September 19, 2005, 10:43:39 pm »

All right, I will try to convince him.
Thanks for your help again!

-- snorri
Logged

droidsculptor

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
Re: bugs or my problem? $this->active undefined
« Reply #11 on: November 24, 2005, 06:33:51 pm »

does this mean that if you don't control the server you can't run the program?

does it stop the rest of the page from working if an error or warning is displayed?

please put me out of my misery

thanks
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: bugs or my problem? $this->active undefined
« Reply #12 on: November 25, 2005, 12:31:58 am »

does this mean that if you don't control the server you can't run the program?
No, on regular webhosted domains, this offending setting should be off anyway. If it's on for you, ask your webhost for support - make them turn it off. If they refuse to do that, find another webhost, as they don't seem to understand how to operate a webserver properly.
Logged

DJMaze

  • VIP
  • Coppermine addict
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 831
    • Dragonfly CMS
Re: bugs or my problem? $this->active undefined
« Reply #13 on: November 27, 2005, 11:20:09 pm »

Actualy it seems to be a bug in the very old and outdated PHP 4.1.x where class variables are not defined.

Hopfully fixed the issue by changing:

var $active;

into:

var $active = false;
Logged
There are 2 kinds of users in this world: satisfied and complainers.
Why do we never hear something from the satisfied users?
http://coppermine-gallery.net/forum/index.php?topic=24315.0
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.077 seconds with 18 queries.