Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Question?  (Read 6200 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

SundayNiagara

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 48
Question?
« on: September 19, 2005, 02:08:21 am »

What page/file is the logo on?
Mark
« Last Edit: September 21, 2005, 06:09:12 am by GauGau »
Logged

Nibbler

  • Guest
Re: Question?
« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2005, 10:17:35 am »

In your theme's template.html file.
Logged

SundayNiagara

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 48
Re: Question?
« Reply #2 on: September 19, 2005, 05:07:23 pm »

I cannot find coppermine_logo.png on this page.
Mark
Logged

kegobeer

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4637
  • Beer - it does a body good!
    • The Kazebeer Family Website
Re: Question?
« Reply #3 on: September 19, 2005, 07:33:54 pm »

Directly from the classic's template.html file:

Code: [Select]
<img src="themes/classic/images/site_logo.png" alt="" border="0" />
Logged
Do not send me a private message unless I ask for one.  Make your post public so everyone can benefit.

There are no stupid questions
But there are a LOT of inquisitive idiots

SundayNiagara

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 48
Re: Question?
« Reply #4 on: September 20, 2005, 01:59:12 am »

Aha!  That's why.
Mark
Logged

SundayNiagara

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 48
Re: Question?
« Reply #5 on: September 20, 2005, 04:17:37 am »

I'm not using the Classic theme.  Is it possible to make it show on the eyeball theme?
Mark
Logged

kegobeer

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4637
  • Beer - it does a body good!
    • The Kazebeer Family Website
Re: Question?
« Reply #6 on: September 20, 2005, 04:24:10 am »

Eyeball doesn't have a logo.  If you want to put a logo at the top, just edit the template.html file and put it in there.
Logged
Do not send me a private message unless I ask for one.  Make your post public so everyone can benefit.

There are no stupid questions
But there are a LOT of inquisitive idiots

SundayNiagara

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 48
Re: Question?
« Reply #7 on: September 20, 2005, 04:26:10 am »

I wouldn't attempt this without knowing exactly where to edit.
Mark
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47844
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Question?
« Reply #8 on: September 20, 2005, 10:04:45 am »

It takes plain html to edit the template file - find a good tutorial or buy an HTML book. You should know basic html when running your own website. If you can't or won't, hire someone to do this for you. This is not a coppermine issue. You're on your own with this.
Logged

SundayNiagara

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 48
Re: Question?
« Reply #9 on: September 20, 2005, 10:23:13 am »

Does anyone out there have an answer to this?
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47844
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Question?
« Reply #10 on: September 20, 2005, 10:40:51 am »

it's not a matter of "knowing an answer", it's a matter of "where on earth is the banner suppossed to turn up". You determine this yourself by adding the needed html code (just one single line of code) where it fits for you. There can not be an easy copy'n paste solution. That's why I told you to find it out for yourself or hire someone - no need to ignore my advice and ask others for an easy solution. The code that needs to be inserted depends on your banner image's name, location and dimensions. You haven't told us so far - how could anybody possibly come up with an easy answer. :o
Logged

SundayNiagara

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 48
Re: Question?
« Reply #11 on: September 20, 2005, 02:36:25 pm »

I just want to duplicate what's on the classic template.  My banner is similar in size to CPG.
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47844
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Question?
« Reply #12 on: September 20, 2005, 06:54:47 pm »

if you need a duplicate of the classic theme, then go ahead and copy the classic theme's folder somewhere. Then rename it to "classic2" and copy then renamed folder back into your theme folder. Then use a plain-text editor (notepad.exe is fine) and open template.html from the "classic2" folder, find the string "classic" and replace it with "classic2" (multiple times). Adjust the path to your custom banner if necessary. Then save the file. Upload the new folder to your website. Go to copperine's config and change the theme from "classic" to "classic2" and you're done. However, you said before that you were using the eyeball theme, so I can't see the point of your request to have a copy of the classic folder now.
Logged

SundayNiagara

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 48
Re: Question?
« Reply #13 on: September 20, 2005, 08:49:48 pm »

I don't want to create a new template.html, I just want to insert the code in the proper location on the eyeball template.html.
Mark
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47844
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Question?
« Reply #14 on: September 20, 2005, 11:28:31 pm »

then just do so - what answer do you expect?
Logged

SundayNiagara

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 48
Re: Question?
« Reply #15 on: September 20, 2005, 11:32:23 pm »

How and where?  In other words, show me.  I've never had anyone refuse such a request and I've used plenty of open-source php products.  If the information was already on the eyeball template, i wouldn't be asking.
Mark
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47844
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Question?
« Reply #16 on: September 20, 2005, 11:46:17 pm »

edit themes/eyeball/template.html, find
Code: [Select]
<body>and add after it in a new line
Code: [Select]
<img src="themes/classic/images/site_logo.png" alt="" border="0" /><br />
Looks crappy? Told you so! I'm out of this thread.
Change your attitude - you've been told so already as well. You've used up 99% of my tolerance. Bye.
Logged

artistsinhawaii

  • VIP
  • Coppermine addict
  • ***
  • Country: us
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 856
    • evj art and photography
Re: Question?
« Reply #17 on: September 21, 2005, 12:23:49 am »

Mark,

Given all the responses you have been getting, it doesn't seem like anyone is refusing to help, but more that it's impossible to know what you really want to accomplish from the scant and often confusing details you provide.

Prior to your last post I, too,  thought you went back to the classic theme. Now I know you want to use the eyeball theme. I've been following this thread and you've confused me a number of times as well.  I've finally deduced the following, I think:

1) You say you want it on the top of the eyeball theme.  
2) It is the same size as the coppemine logo.png banner from the classic theme.

What I don't know is.
1) Where on the top of Eyeball do you want it?
   a) Top left abutting the edges of your screen?
   b) Top left with a little margin all around?
   c) Top left with  a little margin from the top, but no margin from the left?
   d) Top center?  What other details?
   e) Top right?  What other details?
   f)  Are you planning to add something else to the right of logo/banner if you set it up like the Classic theme? You say you want it to look like the classic menu but that would imply having two sets of menus.  This confuses me and I have to assume that I am not reading you right.
   g) This list can go on and on for something as what you might consider a very "simple" request.
 
The more explicit you are in detailing what your needs are, the better others can help.  For most, time is a valuable commodity which is best used to address the needs of those whose questions and needs are clearly defined.   With over 20,000 members and an average of 137 posts a day, you can imagine how busy the Devs are.  They can't see what's in your mind.  They have to go by your descriptions.  I was raised to believe that it is never the responsibility of others to understand what I've said, but rather, my responsibility to make sure that I am clearly understood.

Now, place this string "immediately" under the <body> statement of Eyeball's template.html and edit the location "<align="center">", image file name [bwband.jpg] <-replace with your file name,  and adjust size and border requirements.

<div align="center">
    <img src="themes/eyeball/images/bwband.jpg" width="98%" height="98%" border="0" />
</div>

NOTE: If you plan on having other things to the right of your logo/banner. You will simply have to study the layout of the theme template you want to emulate (look at the table structure around that template's logo) and do a trial and error until you get what you want.


 
Dennis



Logged
Learn and live ... In January of 2011, after a botched stent attempt, the doctors told me I needed a multiple bypass surgery or I could die.  I told them I needed new doctors.

SundayNiagara

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 48
Re: Question?
« Reply #18 on: September 21, 2005, 12:29:30 am »

It's done and it's exactly where I wanted it.  It's just a darned shame that it took so long to get the answer that I was looking for.
Mark
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47844
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Question?
« Reply #19 on: September 21, 2005, 06:08:57 am »

It's just a darned shame that it took so long to get the answer that I was looking for.
That's about it, I've had enough of you - you have been told before several times not to misbehave, yet again you post a silly remark like this. You haven't understood anything at all, you appear not to even have read what Dennis just has told you. You're banned from posting for a week from now on! >:( - use the time wisely to review your attitude.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.023 seconds with 20 queries.