Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Robots  (Read 2918 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

pnd813

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
Robots
« on: August 11, 2005, 05:59:42 pm »

I would LOVE an option to either block robots or reverse the order of the rating system. My site has been brutalized by robots that automatically trigger the first ranking they encounter which is of course 0. The net effect is that I'll have 92 pics (all of them) show up with a 0 included in the rank.
Logged

steverobbins

  • Contributor
  • Coppermine novice
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 35
  • photographer
    • Steve Robbins' Personal Website
Re: Robots
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2005, 06:19:44 pm »

HI there,

There is a recent thread that mentions this.... make sure your robots.txt file in the root of your website contains:

User-agent: *
Disallow: /gallery/ratepic.php


Where 'gallery' is the path to your install.

Regards,
Steve

pnd813

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
Re: Robots
« Reply #2 on: August 17, 2005, 04:57:58 pm »

Thanks so much for the reply. I am NOT an expert in any form or fashion so I have some questions. First, there is no 'robots.txt' file in the root of my site, do I create one? Second, could you expand on what you mean by the 'path'.

Thanks in advance.
Logged

snork13

  • Contributor
  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 260
  • Internet! Is that thing still around?
    • Gallery
Re: Robots
« Reply #3 on: August 17, 2005, 05:05:47 pm »

Thanks so much for the reply. I am NOT an expert in any form or fashion so I have some questions. First, there is no 'robots.txt' file in the root of my site, do I create one? Second, could you expand on what you mean by the 'path'.

Thanks in advance.

notepad, or any text edit program...i attach the file for you, just remove the .txt extension ;D he means the path to your coppermine gallery...some call it photos, other images, and most gallery.

 Maybe this topic could be moved so other can benefit, i don't think it's a feature request ;)

-snork

@steverobbins

/*OFFTOPIC/*

Your links have changed, i think since the forum move, just a heads up!

Modifications I have contributed
searches, searching and upload modification
last ten search strings modification
« Last Edit: August 17, 2005, 05:15:41 pm by snork13 »
Logged

steverobbins

  • Contributor
  • Coppermine novice
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 35
  • photographer
    • Steve Robbins' Personal Website
Re: Robots
« Reply #4 on: August 17, 2005, 05:50:46 pm »

Thanks for the heads up, I'll check that out.

Maybe a note should be made on the installation page warning that robots will follow some links and a robots.txt file should be included with the package.

Cheers,
Steve.
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.023 seconds with 20 queries.