Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Breaking copyrights or no?  (Read 3469 times)

Grand

• Coppermine newbie
Breaking copyrights or no?
« on: November 29, 2003, 03:19:37 am »

Hi,
I wanted to ask this before i went ahead and did it.

Question:

I want to make my Gallery to look like our site, therefore i decided that the best way to do this is by copying one of the coppermine themes, so that the site and gallery look like one.

I am not very good at php coding, so i decided that a complete copy without the gallery tables, links, etc. Would be the best choice in to making the blend.

For example, people come to my site, see a certain layout, click on the gallery link, and it looks like they are still on the site. (Same design)

Thanks,
Mike

TaiL

• Coppermine newbie
mmm
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2003, 06:47:40 am »

Yeah i'd like to know this one as well. can also ask who was the person(s) who made project vii skin, wanna chat to em :-D
I wish that coding was easier when sober :-D

Joachim Müller

• Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
« Reply #2 on: November 29, 2003, 09:55:25 am »

the themes that come with coppermine are released under the same license terms as coppermine itself: GNU GPL! This means (in short): you can use them and modify them as you wish, as long as you don't claim you made them yourself or try to sell them claiming it was your work.
In other words: use the theme on your site as you wish, and thanks for asking first (I wish there were more people concerned about copyright issues).