Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: always in admin mode  (Read 3434 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

till

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
always in admin mode
« on: June 14, 2005, 06:05:03 pm »

The admin mode is for my users the most mis understood feature. I have too many support requests that sound like, "my account is validated, but I can't upload any pictures or create any albums" and so on. Now in 100% of those cases the people didn't click on admin mode, and I can't really blame them.

So anyway, is it possible to make logged in users always browse the galleries in admin mode? I couldn't find a setting, maybe I overlooked something.

Thanks for your help,
Till
« Last Edit: June 16, 2005, 06:43:26 pm by GauGau »
Logged

kegobeer

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4637
  • Beer - it does a body good!
    • The Kazebeer Family Website
Re: always in admin mode
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2005, 11:11:30 pm »

Changed in 1.4, no plans to reverse engineer for 1.3.x.
Logged
Do not send me a private message unless I ask for one.  Make your post public so everyone can benefit.

There are no stupid questions
But there are a LOT of inquisitive idiots

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: always in admin mode
« Reply #2 on: June 15, 2005, 09:13:05 am »

edit themes/yourtheme/theme.php, find
Code: [Select]
<!-- BEGIN enter_admin_mode -->
                        <a href="{ADM_MODE_TGT}" title="{ADM_MODE_TITLE}">{ADM_MODE_LNK}</a> ::
<!-- END enter_admin_mode -->
<!-- BEGIN leave_admin_mode -->
                        <a href="{USR_MODE_TGT}" title="{USR_MODE_TITLE}">{USR_MODE_LNK}</a> ::
<!-- END leave_admin_mode -->
and replace with
Code: [Select]
<!-- BEGIN enter_admin_mode -->
                        <!--<a href="{ADM_MODE_TGT}" title="{ADM_MODE_TITLE}">{ADM_MODE_LNK}</a> ::-->
<!-- END enter_admin_mode -->
<!-- BEGIN leave_admin_mode -->
                        <!--<a href="{USR_MODE_TGT}" title="{USR_MODE_TITLE}">{USR_MODE_LNK}</a> ::-->
<!-- END leave_admin_mode -->
Logged

till

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
Re: always in admin mode
« Reply #3 on: June 15, 2005, 04:41:05 pm »

edit themes/yourtheme/theme.php, find
Code: [Select]
<!-- BEGIN enter_admin_mode -->
                        <a href="{ADM_MODE_TGT}" title="{ADM_MODE_TITLE}">{ADM_MODE_LNK}</a> ::
<!-- END enter_admin_mode -->
<!-- BEGIN leave_admin_mode -->
                        <a href="{USR_MODE_TGT}" title="{USR_MODE_TITLE}">{USR_MODE_LNK}</a> ::
<!-- END leave_admin_mode -->
and replace with
Code: [Select]
<!-- BEGIN enter_admin_mode -->
                        <!--<a href="{ADM_MODE_TGT}" title="{ADM_MODE_TITLE}">{ADM_MODE_LNK}</a> ::-->
<!-- END enter_admin_mode -->
<!-- BEGIN leave_admin_mode -->
                        <!--<a href="{USR_MODE_TGT}" title="{USR_MODE_TITLE}">{USR_MODE_LNK}</a> ::-->
<!-- END leave_admin_mode -->

Thanks for all the replies, guys. :)

@Gaugau: I know this disables the links so users won't be able to change the modes, but how do I set the the user to be in admin mode, when he logs in?

Thanks,
Till
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: always in admin mode
« Reply #4 on: June 16, 2005, 08:14:23 am »

new users will be in admin mode by default. Cpg1.4.x sets all users into admin mode, but as suggested above: there will be no backport. Just disable the user mode link, leave the admin mode link visible to give them the opportunity to go back into admin mode.
Logged

till

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
Re: always in admin mode
« Reply #5 on: June 16, 2005, 01:24:31 pm »

new users will be in admin mode by default. Cpg1.4.x sets all users into admin mode, but as suggested above: there will be no backport. Just disable the user mode link, leave the admin mode link visible to give them the opportunity to go back into admin mode.

Ok, thanks for the info. Great suggestion, btw. ;)

Looking forward to 1.4 then.

Thanks,
Till
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.02 seconds with 19 queries.