Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Cant remove or change table border color? (only in firefox)  (Read 3442 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

david_beebee

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4

Hi there,

I'm having difficulties editing the Hardwired theme to my liking. Somehow I've managed to make a rather thick white border around the tables that only displays in firefox. I've been all the the CSS and halted all border code to try and figure out what is causing it but so far nothing seems to work. If viewed in IE the borders are not shown so i'm thinking that the problem lies else where.

Here is a link to view the current status, please view in firefox first to see what i mean, thanks

http://dbsquaredband.com/copperminegallery/cpg133/index.php

And as mentioned if you now try it in IE the borders aren't there.

On a similar border note, without wishing to break the 1 question per thread rule the logo at the top left is boarded somehow with a rollover from white to orange, whch I also cant remove or change. Again that is in FF in IE there is a thick solid blue border that does not change on rollover.

I fear I may have gone too far in messing this up and have to start again from the template, however I would really appreciate if someone could point me in the right direction of how to solve these issues. And if there is a list and description that shows what all the CSS class and selectors of the hardwired theme are/do I really like to see that. Would save time in trial and error of editing and just hoping to see what effect the changes are having.

Thanks,

David
« Last Edit: May 22, 2005, 06:49:11 pm by kegobeer »
Logged

Sunlizzard

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
Re: Cant remove or change table border color? (only in firefox)
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2005, 08:33:36 am »

Yeaaahhh...Firefox is such a joy for webdesigners...

Anyway, to take care of the border thingy, in your table tag do this:

<table style="border: 0px"> to zero borders out, or:

<table style="border: 6px solid #570000;" >

if you want to change the width and/or color.
Logged

david_beebee

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Re: Cant remove or change table border color? (only in firefox)
« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2005, 02:13:33 pm »

Thanks very much for that! Will try it asap! :)

David
Logged

david_beebee

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Re: Cant remove or change table border color? (only in firefox)
« Reply #3 on: May 22, 2005, 03:16:59 pm »

Hi again, just realised which table tag do you mean? And in which file the CSS or the template HTML....i've stumbled through trying both and nothing seems to work at the moment. Still getting the thick white border in FireFox

sorry to bother,

David
Logged

kegobeer

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4637
  • Beer - it does a body good!
    • The Kazebeer Family Website
Re: Cant remove or change table border color? (only in firefox)
« Reply #4 on: May 22, 2005, 04:33:59 pm »

Yeaaahhh...Firefox is such a joy for webdesigners...

Anyway, to take care of the border thingy, in your table tag do this:

<table style="border: 0px"> to zero borders out, or:

<table style="border: 6px solid #570000;" >

if you want to change the width and/or color.


Actually, FF is much better for coding than IE, since it actually follows HTML standards.  The method you posted isn't recommended at all.  Always use the stylesheet to edit colors, etc.

David, as for your particular issue, you need to step backwards through your changes to see what you did.  For a start, make sure you didn't inadvertantly add/change the color for your maintable or your TD tags.  You can always compare your theme.php, template.html, and style.css files to the original, unchanged Hardwired theme (use a diff program to easily spot changes).  Google for diff and you should find plenty of programs available.
Logged
Do not send me a private message unless I ask for one.  Make your post public so everyone can benefit.

There are no stupid questions
But there are a LOT of inquisitive idiots

kegobeer

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4637
  • Beer - it does a body good!
    • The Kazebeer Family Website
Re: Cant remove or change table border color? (only in firefox)
« Reply #5 on: May 22, 2005, 04:54:26 pm »

Using the Firefox developer tools (DOM inspector), I see you changed the maintable background color to white, which is the source of your thick white border.  The reason:
Code: [Select]
<table align="center" width="100%" cellspacing="1" cellpadding="0" class="maintable">Mixing CSS with cellspacing and cellpadding can cause problems.  cellspacing="1" allows the background color of maintable to peek through.
Logged
Do not send me a private message unless I ask for one.  Make your post public so everyone can benefit.

There are no stupid questions
But there are a LOT of inquisitive idiots

david_beebee

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Re: Cant remove or change table border color? (only in firefox)
« Reply #6 on: May 22, 2005, 05:58:45 pm »

Kegobeer,

genius! thanks very much :) sorted now I can get back on track!

cheers

David
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.017 seconds with 19 queries.