Advanced search  

News:

CPG Release 1.6.26
Correct PHP8.2 issues with user and language managers.
Additional fixes for PHP 8.2
Correct PHP8 error with SMF 2.0 bridge.
Correct IPTC supplimental category parsing.
Download and info HERE

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Customize top menu, admin vs user  (Read 9163 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Magnus Lonnegren

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
Customize top menu, admin vs user
« on: May 01, 2005, 09:53:09 pm »

I have been searching the forum without result. I want the top menu (the 'Album list -  Login -
Last uploads ...'-menu) contain different links depending if you are logged in as admin or a regular anonymous visitor. For example I want to be able to use all the links as admin, but I do only want the visitor to be able to use the "last comments", "top rated" and "most viewed". How can I do this? I tried in the theme.php to delete for example:

Code: [Select]
<!-- BEGIN album_list -->
                        <a href="{ALB_LIST_TGT}" title="{ALB_LIST_TITLE}">{ALB_LIST_LNK}</a>
                        <img src="themes/water_drop/images/orange_carret.gif" width="8" height="8" border="0" alt="" />
<!-- END album_list -->

But when I did this it deleted the "Album list"-button, both as visitor and admin. Any suggestions how to solve this? Is it even possible?

//Magnus
« Last Edit: May 10, 2005, 02:31:57 am by donnoman »
Logged

Nibbler

  • Guest
Re: Customize top menu, admin vs user
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2005, 10:11:28 pm »

It is possible, but not there, look further down to function theme_main_menu() and add a new block somewhere before the template_eval.

Code: [Select]
    if (!GALLERY_ADMIN_MODE) {
        template_extract_block($template_main_menu, 'album_list');
    }

Add new template_extract_block lines to remove all the elements from $template_main_menu that you want to hide from non admin users.
Logged

Magnus Lonnegren

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
Re: Customize top menu, admin vs user
« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2005, 06:41:55 pm »

Hello again =)

Yeah, this worked fine. But I did not managed to do it with the "Search"- and "My Favorites"-buttons. Where do I find where I can remove these? I can't see that they are used in the same way in theme.php?

//Magnus
Logged

Nibbler

  • Guest
Re: Customize top menu, admin vs user
« Reply #3 on: May 08, 2005, 09:38:44 pm »

Yes, there is no way coppermine would remove the search button under normal operation, so you have to tag it by wrapping the search part of $template_main_menu with:

Code: [Select]
<!-- BEGIN search -->
...
<!-- END search -->

and then it will respond. Same goes for favourites link.
Logged

Magnus Lonnegren

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
Re: Customize top menu, admin vs user
« Reply #4 on: May 08, 2005, 11:05:11 pm »

Hi again...

I tried to make the search-button to disappear with the help of the instructions above. But this was a bit to difficult for me, I think =)
First, the search-part you are talking about in $template_main_menu, is this it?

Code: [Select]
'{SEARCH_TGT}' => "search.php",
        '{SEARCH_LNK}' => $lang_main_menu['search_lnk'],

What I did then was this:

Code: [Select]
<!-- BEGIN search -->
<a href="{SEARCH_TGT}">{SEARCH_LNK}</a>
<!-- END search -->

Is this right at all? If it is, where should I put it in the theme.php? I need further instructions =(

Regards,
Magnus
Logged

donnoman

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1615
  • From donovanbray.com
    • Donovan Bray
Re: Customize top menu, admin vs user
« Reply #5 on: May 09, 2005, 01:14:34 am »

In $template_main_menu find:
Code: [Select]
<!-- END logout -->
                        <br />
                        <a href="{LASTUP_TGT}">{LASTUP_LNK}</a> ::
                        <a href="{LASTCOM_TGT}">{LASTCOM_LNK}</a> ::
                        <a href="{TOPN_TGT}">{TOPN_LNK}</a> ::
                        <a href="{TOPRATED_TGT}">{TOPRATED_LNK}</a> ::
                        <a href="{FAV_TGT}">{FAV_LNK}</a> ::
                        <a href="{SEARCH_TGT}">{SEARCH_LNK}</a>
                </span>

change to:
Code: [Select]
<!-- END logout -->
                        <br />
                        <a href="{LASTUP_TGT}">{LASTUP_LNK}</a> ::
                        <a href="{LASTCOM_TGT}">{LASTCOM_LNK}</a> ::
                        <a href="{TOPN_TGT}">{TOPN_LNK}</a> ::
                        <a href="{TOPRATED_TGT}">{TOPRATED_LNK}</a> ::
                        <a href="{FAV_TGT}">{FAV_LNK}</a> ::
<!-- BEGIN search -->
                        <a href="{SEARCH_TGT}">{SEARCH_LNK}</a>
<!-- END search -->
                </span>

The other block nibbler had you insert.
Code: [Select]
   if (!GALLERY_ADMIN_MODE) {
        template_extract_block($template_main_menu, 'album_list');
    }
now needs to be
Code: [Select]
   if (!GALLERY_ADMIN_MODE) {
        template_extract_block($template_main_menu, 'album_list');
        template_extract_block($template_main_menu, 'search');
    }
Logged

Magnus Lonnegren

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
Re: Customize top menu, admin vs user
« Reply #6 on: May 09, 2005, 11:58:22 pm »

In $template_main_menu find:
Code: [Select]
<!-- END logout -->
                        <br />
                        <a href="{LASTUP_TGT}">{LASTUP_LNK}</a> ::
                        <a href="{LASTCOM_TGT}">{LASTCOM_LNK}</a> ::
                        <a href="{TOPN_TGT}">{TOPN_LNK}</a> ::
                        <a href="{TOPRATED_TGT}">{TOPRATED_LNK}</a> ::
                        <a href="{FAV_TGT}">{FAV_LNK}</a> ::
                        <a href="{SEARCH_TGT}">{SEARCH_LNK}</a>
                </span>

change to:
Code: [Select]
<!-- END logout -->
                        <br />
                        <a href="{LASTUP_TGT}">{LASTUP_LNK}</a> ::
                        <a href="{LASTCOM_TGT}">{LASTCOM_LNK}</a> ::
                        <a href="{TOPN_TGT}">{TOPN_LNK}</a> ::
                        <a href="{TOPRATED_TGT}">{TOPRATED_LNK}</a> ::
                        <a href="{FAV_TGT}">{FAV_LNK}</a> ::
<!-- BEGIN search -->
                        <a href="{SEARCH_TGT}">{SEARCH_LNK}</a>
<!-- END search -->
                </span>

The other block nibbler had you insert.
Code: [Select]
    if (!GALLERY_ADMIN_MODE) {
        template_extract_block($template_main_menu, 'album_list');
    }
now needs to be
Code: [Select]
    if (!GALLERY_ADMIN_MODE) {
        template_extract_block($template_main_menu, 'album_list');
        template_extract_block($template_main_menu, 'search');
    }


This worked out just fine..! Thanks a lot..! =)

//Magnus
Logged

nytemare

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 26
Re: Customize top menu, admin vs user
« Reply #7 on: May 13, 2005, 07:51:56 pm »

How do i change other links so that it acts like the "Memberlist" link which only appears when a user is logged in and does not show to visitors who are not registered and logged in.
Logged

Keanuette

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 34
Re: Customize top menu, admin vs user
« Reply #8 on: June 04, 2006, 04:53:17 pm »

Hi

I found this thread and I want to do this with my gallery. How do you do it under the new version?

Thanks

And I wasn't sure whether I should have started a new thread or not....
Logged

Keanuette

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 34
Re: Customize top menu, admin vs user
« Reply #9 on: June 04, 2006, 04:53:51 pm »

ok - scrub that - I'll start a new thread. sorry...
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.023 seconds with 20 queries.