Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Filmstrip formatting broken  (Read 10402 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Casper

  • VIP
  • Coppermine addict
  • ***
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5231
Filmstrip formatting broken
« on: April 21, 2005, 09:32:44 pm »

option1: (http://www.picture-parade.co.uk/images/fs1.jpg)
option2: (http://www.picture-parade.co.uk/images/fs2.jpg)
« Last Edit: July 31, 2005, 12:23:32 pm by GauGau »
Logged
It has been a long time now since I did my little bit here, and have done no coding or any other such stuff since. I'm back to being a noob here

donnoman

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1615
  • From donovanbray.com
    • Donovan Bray
Re: Filmstrip formatting broken
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2005, 04:09:48 am »

It's a difference between firefox and ie. In ie it looks fine.

I'll look into a solution.
Logged

donnoman

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1615
  • From donovanbray.com
    • Donovan Bray
Re: Filmstrip formatting broken
« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2005, 04:17:17 am »

Fix committed; check and see if it's acceptable.

Logged

Casper

  • VIP
  • Coppermine addict
  • ***
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5231
Re: Filmstrip formatting broken
« Reply #3 on: April 22, 2005, 12:19:00 pm »

The fix did make some difference, but still leaves very wide gaps between the thumbs when the thumbs do not fill the space, both FF and IE;

(http://www.picture-parade.co.uk/images/fs1.jpg)

This is how it looked in earlier versions;


(http://www.picture-parade.co.uk/images/fs2.jpg)


Another thing I discovered is when a theme has it's own tile.gif, that is not 30 px high, this is the result;

(http://www.picture-parade.co.uk/images/fs3.jpg)

I have cured the width problem, by simply making this change in the filmstrip function;

Code: [Select]
starttable($CONFIG['picture_table_width']);
was changed to this;

Code: [Select]
starttable('');
To overcome the image height problem, I had to hardcode the filmstrip template into the theme.php, with the correct height.

Both the above changes result in what I beleive is the correct look for the filmstrip;


(http://www.picture-parade.co.uk/images/fs4.jpg)

The only change needed in the core code to achieve the width problem is the one to the function as mentioned above.  Shall I commit this to cvs?
Logged
It has been a long time now since I did my little bit here, and have done no coding or any other such stuff since. I'm back to being a noob here

donnoman

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1615
  • From donovanbray.com
    • Donovan Bray
Re: Filmstrip formatting broken
« Reply #4 on: April 23, 2005, 02:17:06 am »

This depends on what the look of the filmstrip is SUPPOSED to look like.

I personally don't like the lines of displayimage getting messed up when you have fewer than a full filmstrip.

I think it should remain = $CONFIG['picture_table_width']. Having the filmstrip magically changing demensions in a minority of cases (usually you'll have a full filmstrip) is a bad thing IMO.

In regards to the different height of a custom tile gif is introduced, I think thats what the template system is for and your fix of moving that item to the custom theme is appropriate. However, I'll take a look and see if there's a way we can easily accomodate and image of arbitrary size to be in the themes.inc.php.
Logged

Casper

  • VIP
  • Coppermine addict
  • ***
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5231
Re: Filmstrip formatting broken
« Reply #5 on: April 23, 2005, 08:24:11 pm »

This does not only affect people who have less thumbs set than will fill the width, but allalbums with less pics in them.  Also, where thumbs are of differing width, i.e., some portrait and some landscape.
I also repeat the way I suggest is the way it has displayed in previous versions.  This is a matter of taste, but I much prefer it the way I suggest, than having huge gaps between the thumbs, and the filmstrip edging overhanging the ends.
Logged
It has been a long time now since I did my little bit here, and have done no coding or any other such stuff since. I'm back to being a noob here

donnoman

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1615
  • From donovanbray.com
    • Donovan Bray
Re: Filmstrip formatting broken
« Reply #6 on: April 24, 2005, 06:22:42 am »

Unfortunately I can't agree, we need the other devs to chime in to get a consensus.
Logged

Tranz

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Female
  • Posts: 6149
Re: Filmstrip formatting broken
« Reply #7 on: April 24, 2005, 08:31:41 am »

hmm... I think the filmstrip should be a consistent width, and instead of being spread out, the thumbnails should be left justified.

How are leftover images handled with real world negatives?
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Filmstrip formatting broken
« Reply #8 on: April 24, 2005, 09:37:43 am »

both versions (the one donnoman is proposing and the "old" look Casper wants to have back) have an esthetical point (depending on the theme in use). As you pointed out, the behaviour can easily be changed in a custom theme, so the question is: "what should be the default behaviour of the core theme?" In the real world, a filmstrip negative has no big spaces, but is left aligned (so, the version Casper is suggesting is closer to the real world). As a workaround that should help all, this is my suggestion: make the default theme (core) display the filmstrip in the "traditional" way Casper is suggesting, and have at least one theme that has the filmstrip definition as suggested by donnoman (there should be a comment line in the theme file that says "change X to Y to make the fimstrip displayed in another way".

Joachim
Logged

donnoman

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1615
  • From donovanbray.com
    • Donovan Bray
Re: Filmstrip formatting broken
« Reply #9 on: April 24, 2005, 08:40:07 pm »

How about a compromise

Here is an example that combines my wishes and caspers.

Filmstrip matches the configured width, but the images are shoved together and centered in the filmstrip.

Logged

Casper

  • VIP
  • Coppermine addict
  • ***
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5231
Re: Filmstrip formatting broken
« Reply #10 on: April 24, 2005, 08:48:02 pm »

That would be better (to my eye) than the justified version.  So it seems compromise is the way  ;).
Logged
It has been a long time now since I did my little bit here, and have done no coding or any other such stuff since. I'm back to being a noob here

donnoman

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1615
  • From donovanbray.com
    • Donovan Bray
Re: Filmstrip formatting broken
« Reply #11 on: April 24, 2005, 10:17:03 pm »

I committed that change.

I also Added define('THEME_HAS_FILM_STRIP_GRAPHIC', 1); which will allow you to use just tile.gif instead of tile1.gif and tile2.gif.

I updated the theme documentation to reflect the new define.

The hieght for the tiles are no longer hardcoded, and the heights for tile1.gif and tile2.gif can be different.

Casper, you should be able to remove the filmstrip template from your theme.php and use the above define instead.

[edit]
I also stole your tile.gif for my powerbookg4 theme  ;D
[/edit]
« Last Edit: April 24, 2005, 10:24:11 pm by donnoman »
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Filmstrip formatting broken
« Reply #12 on: April 24, 2005, 11:29:26 pm »

[ot]
Anybody like the tile graphics I use on my personal site?:
(http://gaugau.de/galerie/themes/gaugau/images/strip_top.gif)

(http://gaugau.de/galerie/themes/gaugau/images/strip_bottom.gif)

Feel free to add to a coppermine theme if you like (as proof of concept).

Joachim
[/ot]
« Last Edit: August 11, 2005, 10:28:08 am by GauGau »
Logged

Casper

  • VIP
  • Coppermine addict
  • ***
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5231
Re: Filmstrip formatting broken
« Reply #13 on: April 25, 2005, 12:05:49 pm »

I cannot claim credit for those filmstrips, they were posted, with others, a year or more ago, I cannot remember who by.

But so others can use them, here they are again, a selection of 30px and 20px filmstrip gifs.
Logged
It has been a long time now since I did my little bit here, and have done no coding or any other such stuff since. I'm back to being a noob here
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.021 seconds with 18 queries.