Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: album keyword and firefox password manager  (Read 4742 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Tranz

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Female
  • Posts: 6149
album keyword and firefox password manager
« on: March 27, 2005, 12:51:35 am »

This was one annoying issue to hunt down... :P

When editing album properties, Firefox keeps asking about remembering the password. I kept saying No. One time, I clicked Yes by accident since it was the default.

After that, the keyword field would show the same keyword in every album. This did not affect IE.

I did two things to confirm that it is this field. I deleted the password entry in FF's password manager. I also changed the name of the field. However, it's not enough to change the field name, someone with better knowledge would need to make changes to maintain the data connection.

Hopefully having a different field name will stop the password manager prompts in FF.
« Last Edit: April 10, 2005, 11:19:18 am by GauGau »
Logged

kegobeer

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4637
  • Beer - it does a body good!
    • The Kazebeer Family Website
Re: album keyword and firefox password manager
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2005, 02:10:47 am »

In modifyalb.php, change

Code: [Select]
<input type="password" name="$name" value="$value" class="textinput" maxlength="32" size="34">
to

Code: [Select]
<input type="password" name="$name" value="$value" class="textinput" maxlength="32" size="34" autocomplete="off">
I have no idea if autocomplete is html 4.01 or xhtml compliant, but it works.  If it isn't, then use type="text" instead of type="password".
Logged
Do not send me a private message unless I ask for one.  Make your post public so everyone can benefit.

There are no stupid questions
But there are a LOT of inquisitive idiots

Tranz

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Female
  • Posts: 6149
Re: album keyword and firefox password manager
« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2005, 02:29:09 am »

I know it seems strange, but the issue is with the keyword field, not password. :)
Logged

kegobeer

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4637
  • Beer - it does a body good!
    • The Kazebeer Family Website
Re: album keyword and firefox password manager
« Reply #3 on: March 27, 2005, 02:35:42 am »

Not for me.  Once I changed the password field for the album manager, my password manager stopped popping up.
Logged
Do not send me a private message unless I ask for one.  Make your post public so everyone can benefit.

There are no stupid questions
But there are a LOT of inquisitive idiots

Tranz

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Female
  • Posts: 6149
Re: album keyword and firefox password manager
« Reply #4 on: March 27, 2005, 02:43:51 am »

I'm not using the album password though. Here's what I did.

Edit keyword.
Clicked yes to saving password although I made no change to password.

After that, all albums showed the same keyword. However, it's not in the html source. So it's FF's password autofill feature.
Logged

kegobeer

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4637
  • Beer - it does a body good!
    • The Kazebeer Family Website
Re: album keyword and firefox password manager
« Reply #5 on: March 27, 2005, 02:47:33 am »

Neither am I.  It doesn't matter if the field is empty or not.  When you submit a change, the type="password" gets Firefox's attention, which causes the password manager to pop up.  Adding autocomplete="off" makes FF ignore the password field.  I Googled for the Firefox password issue and found this little trick.
Logged
Do not send me a private message unless I ask for one.  Make your post public so everyone can benefit.

There are no stupid questions
But there are a LOT of inquisitive idiots

Tranz

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Female
  • Posts: 6149
Re: album keyword and firefox password manager
« Reply #6 on: March 27, 2005, 02:58:34 am »

Thanks, that seemed to help. I had to delete the entry in password manager. The keyword was showing up as the username in the manager.

The page still validated. :)
Logged

kegobeer

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4637
  • Beer - it does a body good!
    • The Kazebeer Family Website
Re: album keyword and firefox password manager
« Reply #7 on: March 27, 2005, 03:00:50 am »

Sorry, I should have told you I had to delete that entry in my password manager also.
Logged
Do not send me a private message unless I ask for one.  Make your post public so everyone can benefit.

There are no stupid questions
But there are a LOT of inquisitive idiots

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: album keyword and firefox password manager
« Reply #8 on: April 03, 2005, 02:05:23 pm »

issue solved then?

Joachim
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: album keyword and firefox password manager
« Reply #9 on: April 10, 2005, 11:19:04 am »

issue solved then?

Joachim
Apparently yes, so I'm marking as "fixed".

Joachim
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.018 seconds with 20 queries.