Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: How to code my directory as writable just for me?  (Read 3427 times)

criscollrj

• Coppermine newbie
How to code my directory as writable just for me?
« on: March 04, 2005, 02:18:20 pm »

I believe I am an administrator.  (I am a newbie to this).  I did finally get my pictures to load when I changed my directory to be writable by all, but I don't really want it to stay like that.  I wanted it to just be writable by me.  But I can only get my pictures to load when I have it coded as read, write and execute by owner, group, and all users.  I am not leaving that way as I want a more private picture area.  So do I just have to change every time I want to load pictures and then change it back???

I appreciate any help -- I am completely new to Coppermine and Fantastico and not even that well versed in FTP!!  I am using an evaluation copy of Cute FTP and also can get to FTP on my internet explorer

Photo site:  www.criscollrj.com/photos

THANKS!

dori
« Last Edit: March 06, 2005, 09:49:24 am by GauGau »

Joachim Müller

• Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: How to code my directory as writable just for me?
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2005, 04:07:58 pm »

leave the CHMOD settings alone - they have to remain as they are right now - this is not related to who can actually view your site. Use the built-in permissions control within coppermine instead (groups membership of users and album properties). Read the details in the documentation that comes with coppermine.

Joachim