Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: [EXPLAINED] Error again(only by uploading high pixel pics)  (Read 6680 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

klaus1

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15
[EXPLAINED] Error again(only by uploading high pixel pics)
« on: November 12, 2003, 10:37:15 am »

Hello,Klaus in Berlin still need your help

Problem describe
........................
 
When uploading high pixel pics I got the following warning.


Fatal error: Allowed memory size of 8388608 bytes exhausted at (null):0 (tried to allocate 1600 bytes) in /home/virtual/site140/fst/var/www/html/modules/coppermine/include/picmgmt.inc.php on line 195

I have oppened debug module and have found these info,hopfully could be useful.
...........................


Size and Time
Directive Local Value Master Value
max_execution_time 60 60
max_input_time 60 60
upload_max_filesize 2M 2M
post_max_size 8M 8M


Is this depend on my server? Or I ought to change some code again?
Look forwarding for your help,thanks!
Logged

gtroll

  • VIP
  • Coppermine addict
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 618
    • CPG-Nuke
[EXPLAINED] Error again(only by uploading high pixel pics)
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2003, 10:42:32 am »

You actually answered your own question here, your server(from debug) has a limit of post_max_size 8M and your pic is bigger than that. why would you want to have a pic this big for onscreen display anyway? it would probably take five minutes till I saw it on my 56k? connection

klaus1

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15
[EXPLAINED] Error again(only by uploading high pixel pics)
« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2003, 10:55:48 am »

The file is only about 100K,but the pixel is high...(from a 2 megabyte photo)
Nowadays the popular type of digital camera has often 3 megabyte pixel.
Most users are usually too lazy to use software to minimize the pixel of the pics.
Really no rescue methode this time?


Otherwise I can find the uploaded pic with ftp programm,but it can not be displayed in the forum.
It seems that the server is still allowed to upload such file... :?:  :roll:
Logged

gtroll

  • VIP
  • Coppermine addict
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 618
    • CPG-Nuke
[EXPLAINED] Error again(only by uploading high pixel pics)
« Reply #3 on: November 12, 2003, 11:13:44 am »

8M is your limit but the server chokes on 100K? Change the setting in config of  Max size for uploaded pictures (KB) to 2048

klaus1

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15
[EXPLAINED] Error again(only by uploading high pixel pics)
« Reply #4 on: November 12, 2003, 11:42:41 am »

no use,I suspect the problem is cause too high pixel.
I can upload the same pic which with low pixel(it means low quality,but 400 k big) without any problem.
But if I just cut one corner from the high pixel file(even only 144k,better quality and small size) then I would have met the problem.


*with some image edit software we can change the both quality and size of the pictures
So many users of mine have met the same problem,only a 200k pic from a high pixel photo cannot be upload.
Logged

DJMaze

  • VIP
  • Coppermine addict
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 831
    • Dragonfly CMS
[EXPLAINED] Error again(only by uploading high pixel pics)
« Reply #5 on: November 12, 2003, 11:57:44 am »

The file decompressed by the GD library and it will work in truecolor with it.

So how much memory uses your image without compression in truecolor ?
Logged
There are 2 kinds of users in this world: satisfied and complainers.
Why do we never hear something from the satisfied users?
http://coppermine-gallery.net/forum/index.php?topic=24315.0

klaus1

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15
[EXPLAINED] Error again(only by uploading high pixel pics)
« Reply #6 on: November 12, 2003, 06:16:17 pm »

what do you  mean?
From where can I read that date?
What can I still do?
Logged

klaus1

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15
[EXPLAINED] Error again(only by uploading high pixel pics)
« Reply #7 on: November 12, 2003, 07:24:49 pm »

Can I change the post_max_size setting somewhere in the programm :?:
Logged

DJMaze

  • VIP
  • Coppermine addict
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 831
    • Dragonfly CMS
[EXPLAINED] Error again(only by uploading high pixel pics)
« Reply #8 on: November 12, 2003, 07:28:15 pm »

No you can't this limit is set in php.ini ask your provider for more memoryin php
Logged
There are 2 kinds of users in this world: satisfied and complainers.
Why do we never hear something from the satisfied users?
http://coppermine-gallery.net/forum/index.php?topic=24315.0

Shorty

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
[EXPLAINED] Error again(only by uploading high pixel pics)
« Reply #9 on: November 27, 2003, 12:37:36 pm »

I got the exact same problem!!

Fatal error: Allowed memory size of 8388608 bytes exhausted at (null):0 (tried to allocate 5120 bytes) in /home/virtual/site36/fst/var/www/html/modules/coppermine/include/picmgmt.inc.php on line 202

Directive Local Value Master Value
max_execution_time 30 30
max_input_time 60 60
upload_max_filesize 2M 2M
post_max_size 8M 8M

The size of pic i try to upload:
202Kb    1280x960
Logged

Shorty

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
[EXPLAINED] Error again(only by uploading high pixel pics)
« Reply #10 on: November 27, 2003, 12:39:38 pm »

somehow the post came twice  :lol:
Logged

DJMaze

  • VIP
  • Coppermine addict
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 831
    • Dragonfly CMS
[EXPLAINED] Error again(only by uploading high pixel pics)
« Reply #11 on: November 28, 2003, 03:07:46 am »

Let me explain (again) a compressed file (jpg/png) is decompressed by the GD library which causes a file that's far much bigger because every pixel is converted to a 32bit truecolor.

So when you use a large compressed picture, decompressed it will be damn big in PHP.

So for example in your paint app:
- set JPG compression to 0% and save the file. How big is it ?
- save the file in truecolor as BMP. How big is it ?

there are your answers :D
Logged
There are 2 kinds of users in this world: satisfied and complainers.
Why do we never hear something from the satisfied users?
http://coppermine-gallery.net/forum/index.php?topic=24315.0
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.02 seconds with 18 queries.