Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: 1.4.1 devel Bug with Resizing  (Read 4488 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

ferrill

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
1.4.1 devel Bug with Resizing
« on: February 19, 2005, 12:09:49 am »

I have been using the Devel version of Coppermine for a couple of days and it looks great.  However there seems to be a bug in image resizing.  As far as I can tell this effects all instances where Coppermine resizes images.

Coppermine seems to be resizing the smaller of the two sides to the maximum width/height.  This means that if my max width/height is set to 1024 and I put in an image that is 3000 px wide and 1024 px tall the image will not be resized at all by Coppermine.

One of your developers was gracious enough to pm me back telling me where to put this bug report, there are however, no instructions as to where bug reports should go in the sticky message on the 1.4 devel board.

Thanks for all your work.
« Last Edit: February 19, 2005, 06:54:54 pm by kegobeer »
Logged

kegobeer

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4637
  • Beer - it does a body good!
    • The Kazebeer Family Website
Re: 1.4.1 devel Bug with Resizing
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2005, 12:46:37 am »

The max height/width is set to 1024?  What's your Use dimension set to?  If it's not max aspect, and you have it set to height, then of course a 3000x1024 image won't be resized.  It must be greater than 1024.  If you change the restriction to 1023, does your image resize?  Or if you change your Use dimension to Max aspect, does it work?

There's a 1.4 Bugs board.  Do you have access to it?
Logged
Do not send me a private message unless I ask for one.  Make your post public so everyone can benefit.

There are no stupid questions
But there are a LOT of inquisitive idiots

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: 1.4.1 devel Bug with Resizing
« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2005, 08:27:35 am »

regular users can't start new threads there, we have to move their postings for them (as I did).
Logged

kegobeer

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4637
  • Beer - it does a body good!
    • The Kazebeer Family Website
Re: 1.4.1 devel Bug with Resizing
« Reply #3 on: February 19, 2005, 02:09:34 pm »

Thanks, Joachim.

I don't think this is a bug.  I'll know more when ferrill responds to my original post.
Logged
Do not send me a private message unless I ask for one.  Make your post public so everyone can benefit.

There are no stupid questions
But there are a LOT of inquisitive idiots

ferrill

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Re: 1.4.1 devel Bug with Resizing
« Reply #4 on: February 19, 2005, 06:48:01 pm »

After playing around with the Use dimension, I think that you are correct that what I reported is not a bug in the way Coppermine works.  However, I think that there is a problem in the way the config settings are displayed.  Currently the use dimension is described by

"Use dimension ( width or height or Max aspect for thumbnail ) **"

When I read that I assumed it was for thumbnails only.  I suggest that it be reworded so that it is more clear that it applies to all pictures.  Also it might be usefull to move the setting down the list and place it above the "Auto resize images..."

Again thanks for all your work.  Coppermine is really a great project. 
Logged

kegobeer

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4637
  • Beer - it does a body good!
    • The Kazebeer Family Website
Re: 1.4.1 devel Bug with Resizing
« Reply #5 on: February 19, 2005, 06:56:00 pm »

You're right.  Rewording this may be better, something along the lines of

Use dimension (width/height/max aspect) for resizing
Logged
Do not send me a private message unless I ask for one.  Make your post public so everyone can benefit.

There are no stupid questions
But there are a LOT of inquisitive idiots
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.017 seconds with 19 queries.