Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Bypass GD?  (Read 2725 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

moose

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5
    • http://www.eriksgallery.com
Bypass GD?
« on: February 13, 2005, 03:34:13 pm »

Hi.

I love coppermine and made a page on my own server.
The problem is that my webhost dont have GD or IM.
Is it possible to bypass GD and make my own thumnails instead.
And how do i do that in that case.


From what I found GD only does the thumbnails.
« Last Edit: February 14, 2005, 05:57:55 pm by GauGau »
Logged

kegobeer

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4637
  • Beer - it does a body good!
    • The Kazebeer Family Website
Re: Bypass GD?
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2005, 03:42:26 pm »

GD/ImageMagick creates the thumbnails and intermediate images.  You can create your own thumbnails and intermediate images, prefix them with thumb_ and normal_, FTP the thumb_, normal_, and original images to a directory in /albums (but not userpics), then batch add the pictures.

If you ask your webhost to install ImageMagick or compile PHP with GD support (make sure to get JPEG support), they will normally accomodate your request.
Logged
Do not send me a private message unless I ask for one.  Make your post public so everyone can benefit.

There are no stupid questions
But there are a LOT of inquisitive idiots

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47844
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Bypass GD?
« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2005, 08:00:23 am »

the whole point of using coppermine is the automatic creation of thumbs and intermediates. Although you could use coppermine without using the resize capabilities it has (as described by kegobeer), I can see very little point in it - even most free webhosters offer GD these days: paid webspace that has php and mySQL should come with GD as well, so you better do as kegobeer suggested and ask your webhost to enable GD for you or start looking for another webhost.

Joachim
Logged

moose

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5
    • http://www.eriksgallery.com
Re: Bypass GD?
« Reply #3 on: February 14, 2005, 03:55:32 pm »

Thanks guys.

I have mailed my webhost and asked but havent got a reply yet. In the meantime I can now use my gallerie like this anyway.
Its beter to amke it yourself then have something you cant use at all!
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.014 seconds with 21 queries.