Advanced search  

News:

CPG Release 1.6.26
Correct PHP8.2 issues with user and language managers.
Additional fixes for PHP 8.2
Correct PHP8 error with SMF 2.0 bridge.
Correct IPTC supplimental category parsing.
Download and info HERE

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: variable for the username  (Read 5550 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

h3lium

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
variable for the username
« on: January 14, 2005, 06:45:16 pm »

hello,
first of all sorry for my english ;-) i'm a german, but i try to do my best...

im currently working on a guestbook for my gallery.
everything is working, exept of one thing, the user have to enter their names manually.
thats what i want to change.
but i dont know how to get the username.
does somebody know how to handle that?
i just need to set the current variable ($name - which the user have to fill in by a form) to the variable of the gallery...

it would be very cool if somebody could help me, cuz spend many hours for this allready :)

greeting
christian
« Last Edit: January 14, 2005, 08:30:22 pm by TranzNDance »
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: variable for the username
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2005, 06:50:08 pm »

this has been asked only recently - search the forum (for "guestbook").

Joachim
Logged

h3lium

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: variable for the username
« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2005, 07:10:08 pm »

sorry, i allready searched, and tried it again now, but i didnt found anything that could match...
thats also why i registered :) , usually i try to find anything befor i register...

in SMF (simply machines forum) its just a simple thing. like "$context['user']['name']"
and thats it...
is there nothing like this in coopermine?
Logged

Nibbler

  • Guest
Re: variable for the username
« Reply #3 on: January 14, 2005, 07:13:27 pm »

If you can include init.inc.php then you have USER_NAME available. If you can't include it then you can use the authentication mod to give you the same.
Logged

h3lium

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: variable for the username
« Reply #4 on: January 14, 2005, 07:19:04 pm »

i included it...
 - require('include/init.inc.php');

and i'm using "$user['user_name']" but that doesn't work ...
i dont know why :(
Logged

Nibbler

  • Guest
Re: variable for the username
« Reply #5 on: January 14, 2005, 07:20:20 pm »

Because there is no such variable! - that's why I said to use USER_NAME :)
Logged

h3lium

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: variable for the username
« Reply #6 on: January 14, 2005, 07:24:53 pm »

that doesnt work too :(
i donna why...


here is a small part of the code:

Code: [Select]
...
    <tr>
     <td><b>';
echo 'Name:';
     echo'</b></td>
     <td>';
echo $USER_NAME;
echo'</td>
    </tr>
    <tr>
...

Code: [Select]
require('include/init.inc.php');
Logged

Nibbler

  • Guest
Re: variable for the username
« Reply #7 on: January 14, 2005, 07:34:02 pm »

I don't understand why you refuse to use USER_NAME

Code: [Select]
<?
define('IN_COPPERMINE', 1);
include 'include/init.inc.php';
echo USER_NAME;
?>
Logged

h3lium

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: variable for the username
« Reply #8 on: January 14, 2005, 07:52:14 pm »

uff...
now its working... :) thanks alot!!!
you really helped me!
problem is solved :)

greetings
chris
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: variable for the username
« Reply #9 on: January 16, 2005, 05:01:29 am »

you just found out what a php constant is ;) - see http://www.php.net/manual/en/language.constants.php

Joachim
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.023 seconds with 20 queries.