Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Switching MySql databases + searchnew question  (Read 4381 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Hein Traag

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: nl
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 2166
  • A, B, Cpg
    • Personal website - Spintires.nl
Switching MySql databases + searchnew question
« on: January 09, 2005, 08:12:25 pm »

Hi all,

my o so gracious hoster who lets me host a couple of thousand of pictures and use his bandwidth is rearranging the way the server is being managed.

This resulted in a more structured organisation with prearranged names etc..
So i had to export my MySql data from one database to the other. Done that and with succes. Site is still running perfectly.
Except for one thing. When i now upload a new folder to the server via ftp it no longer shows up when i want to batch add files to the gallery.
I checked for the folder chmod status and that 777 all the way down the line.

So what it is ? Do i have to edit a other file besides connect.inc.php for cpg to function after a database switch ?
« Last Edit: January 10, 2005, 09:39:33 am by GauGau »
Logged

Tranz

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Female
  • Posts: 6149
Re: Switching MySql databases + searchnew question
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2005, 09:22:16 pm »

Did you mean config.inc.php?
Logged

kegobeer

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4637
  • Beer - it does a body good!
    • The Kazebeer Family Website
Re: Switching MySql databases + searchnew question
« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2005, 09:55:40 pm »

I'm assuming you don't ftp images into the userpics directory.  Did anything else change besides the database name?  Did any physical locations change as well?
Logged
Do not send me a private message unless I ask for one.  Make your post public so everyone can benefit.

There are no stupid questions
But there are a LOT of inquisitive idiots

Hein Traag

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: nl
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 2166
  • A, B, Cpg
    • Personal website - Spintires.nl
Re: Switching MySql databases + searchnew question
« Reply #3 on: January 10, 2005, 08:30:21 am »

Nothing changed on the ftp side of the story. All folders still in place with all folder chmodded to 777 as usuall.

The only thing that has changed is the name of the mysql database coppermine uses for storing the info.
I exported the contents of the old database and imported it into the newly created database.
The site, pictures.scoutlink.net , is running smoothly except for  me not being able to batch add pics.

I changed the settings in config.inc.php (  ;D Tranz ) so it points to the correct database.

When i choose batch add it does display all the ftp folders that were there before the switch but is does not display
the new folders i try to add now.
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Switching MySql databases + searchnew question
« Reply #4 on: January 10, 2005, 09:19:29 am »

my guess is that not only the db was cleaned up by your webhost, but the coppermine files have been moved/duplicated as well. Did your webhost send you a new ftp logon? When a webhost changes stuff on webservers, they usually duplicate the files/folders in a customer's webspace to another machine and then switch that user just over - maybe your site is being run from the "new" server/webspace, while your ftp uploads still go to the old webspace. To test this, try ftp-uploading a pic (let's call it sample.jpg) to http://yoursite.tld/your_coppermine_folder/albums/your_testing_folder/ and then try accessing it by directly entering the url in your browser http://yoursite.tld/your_coppermine_folder/albums/your_testing_folder/sample.jpg - if you can't see the actual pic you just uploaded, my guess is right - you should contact your webhost then.

Joachim
Logged

Hein Traag

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: nl
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 2166
  • A, B, Cpg
    • Personal website - Spintires.nl
Re: Switching MySql databases + searchnew question
« Reply #5 on: January 10, 2005, 09:29:57 am »

That might just be it. I did get a new ftp username and password, forgot to mention that because i am using the new name and it works.
I'll try your suggestion Joachim and i will let know if this works or not.
Thanks for the tip!
Logged

Hein Traag

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: nl
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 2166
  • A, B, Cpg
    • Personal website - Spintires.nl
Re: Switching MySql databases + searchnew question
« Reply #6 on: January 10, 2005, 09:38:29 am »

And as it seems Joachim was right once again. I made a test folder and uploaded a smiley file called sad.gif which did not show up
when accessing it directly. So it does look like my ftp settings are not correct yet. I'll ask my host to look into this and again will
let know if this was it.

Thanks for the support.  :D
Logged

Hein Traag

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: nl
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 2166
  • A, B, Cpg
    • Personal website - Spintires.nl
Re: Switching MySql databases + searchnew question
« Reply #7 on: January 10, 2005, 11:46:36 am »

We were on the right track. I was uploading to the correct account but it turned out it was the url which was pointing in the wrong direction.

Lesson learned, hopefully this will help others as wel when changing account and database.

- check that the mysql database of the new account is properly filled with the content of the old database
- make sure config.inc.php is edited to match the new database name and username
- See too it that the url of your site is poiting in the right direction

Not that this will apply to all problems but the above three lines were what i encountered when being thrown around on a server  ;D

Thanks again for the assist!
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.021 seconds with 20 queries.