Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Variable content in theme  (Read 3395 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

dad6b

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
Variable content in theme
« on: December 30, 2004, 05:33:27 pm »

I would like to vary what part of my theme is displayed based on what the user is looking at.  For example, if the user is at the main gallery page I would like a little welcome message but once they enter a specific album that message should go away.

I tried modifying my theme.php file to check if the album variable was set but that didn't seem to work.  Any suggestions?
Logged

Nibbler

  • Guest
Re: Variable content in theme
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2004, 06:07:08 pm »

You can use anycontent.php for this.
Logged

dad6b

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
Re: Variable content in theme
« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2005, 04:26:32 pm »

The part I'm looking to vary is a side bar which has a menu for non-cpg stuff.  I don't think I can do with the anycontent.php.  Is there a way to do this by hacking some of the cpg files?
Logged

Nibbler

  • Guest
Re: Variable content in theme
« Reply #3 on: January 03, 2005, 04:52:15 pm »

If it's an html menu that can go in your theme's template.html, otherwise treat it as a custom header/footer.
Logged

dad6b

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
Re: Variable content in theme
« Reply #4 on: January 03, 2005, 05:41:28 pm »

I know I can just put the code for the menu in the template.html file, but how do I control whether or not it should be displayed?
Logged

kegobeer

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4637
  • Beer - it does a body good!
    • The Kazebeer Family Website
Re: Variable content in theme
« Reply #5 on: January 03, 2005, 06:31:23 pm »

You'll have to modify theme.php to add your side menu, and use an if-then block to determine if it should be displayed.  If you search the forums you will find good posts on how to modify a theme.
Logged
Do not send me a private message unless I ask for one.  Make your post public so everyone can benefit.

There are no stupid questions
But there are a LOT of inquisitive idiots
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.026 seconds with 22 queries.