Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: 1 ... 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11   Go Down

Author Topic: Image Scroller - based on Filmstrip  (Read 275337 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

SlasT

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
Re: Image Scroller - based on Filmstrip
« Reply #160 on: January 03, 2006, 10:44:21 am »

Blueiris thanks!
thats what i need
Logged

Blueiris

  • VIP
  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Female
  • Posts: 170
  • Horse poor!
    • Saddlebred World Gallery
Re: Image Scroller - based on Filmstrip
« Reply #161 on: January 04, 2006, 07:43:58 am »

Glad it helped!
Logged
You can lead a horse to water, but you can't make him drink - he's got to discover that it's wet for himself.

Blueiris

  • VIP
  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Female
  • Posts: 170
  • Horse poor!
    • Saddlebred World Gallery
Re: Image Scroller - CPU usage high
« Reply #162 on: January 04, 2006, 07:57:19 am »

I applied the image scroller into the anycontent file.  Works great and I love it, but I noticed that in the task manager-processes, that firefox was using anywhere from 25-50% of the cpu usage even when the page loading is done.  Without anycontent enabled, the cpu usage drops to 0% when page has finished loading.  Image scroller also seems to slow performance time when you click on a page or thumbnail.  Any idea why the cpu usage is so high with image scroller loaded? I use cpg1.4.2 and copied and pasted only the code for the image scroller into it.  That is all the anycontent page has in it.

Thanks.

That's to be expected, depending on the size of your processor and memory. The Flash player is client side - in other words, it runs on your computer, not on the server. Scrolling the images and/or fading the thumbs in and out  makes the processor work.

A good illustration is this site: http://www.marisaonline.org. There's a simple Flash file running on that site that just fades from one image to another. Watch the processor performance while that file runs. After the image fades in, the CPU usage goes right down to between 0 and 7%. When the images change, the usage jumps to over 40% during the change on my machine.
Logged
You can lead a horse to water, but you can't make him drink - he's got to discover that it's wet for himself.

rphMedia

  • Contributor
  • Coppermine addict
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 515
  • ***muvipix.com***
    • muvipix - Music | Video | Pictures
Re: Image Scroller - based on Filmstrip
« Reply #163 on: January 04, 2006, 11:36:23 am »

Blueris is correct, and conversely, just launch a fairly large program (like MS Word or PhotoShop) and watch the processor indicator tick away.  This is normal stuff.  It's not really hogging all of the resources, just needs some processor power to work.

freesouljah

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 116
  • Can you feel the Love?
    • freesouljah.com
Re: Image Scroller - based on Filmstrip
« Reply #164 on: January 16, 2006, 07:05:05 pm »

very cool mod...

is there a way I can make it so the thumbs are linked to their perspective pages?

thanks

Blueiris

  • VIP
  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Female
  • Posts: 170
  • Horse poor!
    • Saddlebred World Gallery
Re: Image Scroller - based on Filmstrip
« Reply #165 on: January 19, 2006, 11:40:57 pm »

is there a way I can make it so the thumbs are linked to their perspective pages?

Unfortunately, no, not with the out-of-the-box mod.
Logged
You can lead a horse to water, but you can't make him drink - he's got to discover that it's wet for himself.

freesouljah

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 116
  • Can you feel the Love?
    • freesouljah.com
Re: Image Scroller - based on Filmstrip
« Reply #166 on: January 20, 2006, 01:08:44 am »

Unfortunately, no, not with the out-of-the-box mod.

what would be the best way that I go about getting it to do that?

Blueiris

  • VIP
  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Female
  • Posts: 170
  • Horse poor!
    • Saddlebred World Gallery
Re: Image Scroller - based on Filmstrip
« Reply #167 on: January 21, 2006, 05:58:07 am »

You can't, unless you have enough skill with FlashMX to construct a file similar to the Image Scroller and add the Actionscript and PHP necessary to add the links. I can't speak for Ron, who developed the Image Scroller, and I don't know whether this is a feature he's thinking of adding to future versions.
Logged
You can lead a horse to water, but you can't make him drink - he's got to discover that it's wet for himself.

freesouljah

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 116
  • Can you feel the Love?
    • freesouljah.com
Re: Image Scroller - based on Filmstrip
« Reply #168 on: January 24, 2006, 02:36:42 pm »

rats....I don't have much skill w/ flashmx...so until that happens, this idea is out the window....maybe ron will decide to add it...  8)

Blueiris

  • VIP
  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Female
  • Posts: 170
  • Horse poor!
    • Saddlebred World Gallery
Re: Image Scroller - based on Filmstrip
« Reply #169 on: January 24, 2006, 04:29:28 pm »

Are you using the Image Scroller on or off site? I ask because I have it running on some of my other sites to advertise a particular gallery, and I am working on a "wrapper" that will make the Image Scroller itself a link to the gallery. If that will help you, I'll post it here when it's done.
Logged
You can lead a horse to water, but you can't make him drink - he's got to discover that it's wet for himself.

freesouljah

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 116
  • Can you feel the Love?
    • freesouljah.com
Re: Image Scroller - based on Filmstrip
« Reply #170 on: January 25, 2006, 07:59:32 pm »

right now it is on...but that might come in handy down the road...and I am sure somebody else would be interested in it also ;)

Surfices

  • Guest
Re: Image Scroller - based on Filmstrip
« Reply #171 on: March 28, 2006, 07:18:50 pm »

Hi!

I'm searching for a mod to make all thumbnails of a Album visible in
the filmstrip. Well, I'm thinking to add two arrows (one on the left
and one of the right side) to the filmstrip to switch to the
next thumbnail picture in the filmstrip.

Could anybody help me? Unfortunatelly I'm not allowed to create
a new subject. Do you think this would be possible or do you
even have got another idea?

Thanx Florian
Logged

Nibbler

  • Guest
Re: Image Scroller - based on Filmstrip
« Reply #172 on: March 28, 2006, 07:23:41 pm »

Don't hijack threads, make your own in the support board. The mods board is for completed mods and so is locked in order to stop people using it to request mods.
Logged

angeldevil

  • Translator
  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 107
Re: Image Scroller - based on Filmstrip
« Reply #173 on: June 06, 2006, 08:14:09 am »

Alrighty, here are the files.  Drop them into your gallery root and put this in your anycontent*.php

Code: [Select]
starttable($CONFIG['picture_table_width'], 'Random scroll from our gallery.');
?>
<tr>
    <td class="tableb" >
            <object classid="clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000" width="600" height="190" codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=6,0,0,0">
                <param name="menu" value="false">
                <param name="bgcolor" value="#000000">
                <param name="movie" value="main.swf" />
                <param name="play" value="true" />
                <param name="loop" value="false" />
                <param name="quality" value="high" />
                <embed src="main.swf" width="600" height="190" loop="false" quality="high" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/shockwave/download/index.cgi?P1_Prod_Version=ShockwaveFlash" swliveconnect="true">
                </embed>
            </object>
    </td>
</tr>
<?php endtable(); ?>
<br  />

That's it.  The way it's configured, it will grab 13 thumbnails at random and load into the flash file. It will not show private album thumbnails. The height and width of the flash code is crucial as skewing will occur if modified. I left the background black (I think it looks better), but you can add a transparent parameter to the flash code to comply with your particular theme.  Any questions, fire away.

Enjoy!

edit - it'd be real nice if I added the files :)

random image scroller based on Filmstrip (cpg 1.4.x).

Hi

this is my simple solution that uses a anycontent.php with double visual display unit for flash files inside one table (with the famous image scroller based on Filmstrip by rphMedia ).

In attached the anycontent.php and two demonstrations files .swf (a random pic scroller and a graceful clock): just one for every visual display unit. Unzip, put all them into your gallery root and go!

If you want rename the .swf files you will change the names also inside anycontent.php 

Tested OK on hardwired theme. See a demo pic

Thats all folks
Logged
a

Jr. tristan

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 22
Re: Image Scroller - based on Filmstrip
« Reply #174 on: August 12, 2006, 06:32:49 pm »

Thanks Ron and everyone here,

The Image Scroller rans smoothly on my site. I am loving it.

However, no new images loads after I have pressed the "reload" buttom on my IE. (i.e. show the same images as before, no refresh of images at random scroll).
see it.. here

I have browsed "Take Thu" gallery and it could reload random images after pressing reload button.
Is there any problem with mine?


Logged

Jr. tristan

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 22
Re: Image Scroller - based on Filmstrip
« Reply #175 on: August 13, 2006, 05:01:29 am »

I test it once again... It loads fresh images after I have restarted my windows.

I guess its cache refresh on each restarting of windows.!?
It would be nice in this case. Thanks
Logged

LVV

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 11
  • _LEON_
Re: Image Scroller - based on Filmstrip
« Reply #176 on: September 07, 2006, 02:32:04 pm »

Speaks for itself.  Still refining.

*removed old link  8)
Please giv me links this mod... I want this very good mod see in my gallery. ;)

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47844
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Image Scroller - based on Filmstrip
« Reply #177 on: September 07, 2006, 02:39:35 pm »

Just scroll 6 postings down and you'll find the posting that contains the code. Thanks for reading a thread you reply to in the future before asking questions! >:(
Logged

LVV

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 11
  • _LEON_
Re: Image Scroller - based on Filmstrip
« Reply #178 on: September 07, 2006, 04:13:38 pm »

Just scroll 6 postings down and you'll find the posting that contains the code. Thanks for reading a thread you reply to in the future before asking questions! >:(
Sorry links very small, I dont see this. Thenks GauGau, all working... it's a buatyful mod.  ::)

Gephri

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 235
Re: Image Scroller - based on Filmstrip
« Reply #179 on: December 12, 2006, 06:23:46 pm »

Exciting mod - really brings the page to life!  Has anyone taken the image scroller beyond the anycontent.php page?  Would like to use to show random pictures from each album on pages like thumbanils.php, displayimage.php, etc.

Thanks!
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.025 seconds with 19 queries.