Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Problem with Install on a Windows Server and ImageMagick  (Read 39758 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

kclark0153

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
Problem with Install on a Windows Server and ImageMagick
« on: November 02, 2003, 08:19:47 am »

Trying to get Coppermine to install on a windows 2k server running IIS.  I know that it has imagemagick installed in d:/imagemagick/  but I keep getting an error that I can't find it or I do not have access.  I don't have access control to the server (only a control panel). 

Windows is not my OS of choice (I'm trying to set this up for a friend)  Tech support has been trying to help but has had no luck so fat.

Do I need special access to the imagemagick directory?  Does the directory it's self need any special permissions under windows.


Thanks in advance (please let me know if you need more info)
« Last Edit: January 01, 2005, 10:28:38 pm by GauGau »
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47844
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Problem with Install on a Windows Server and ImageMagick
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2003, 09:03:59 am »

Setting up ImageMagick on Windows can be quite complicated. Try talking your friend into using GD (comes with PHP distro).
Please understand that this board doesn't deal with server setup in detail, so there's only very limited support in it. Try to search for Image Magick (try different spelling) both on this board and the old board. Try setting up IM in the default path on c:\. Also look for a little testing script that has been posted by hyperion the other day that basically tests if IM is up and working correctly before you try to install coppermine.

GauGau
Logged

hyperion

  • VIP
  • Coppermine addict
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1317
  • - retired -
Problem with Install on a Windows Server and ImageMagick
« Reply #2 on: November 02, 2003, 01:27:37 pm »

kclark0153,

When do you get the error message? Also, try leaving the config path to IM blank. This works on servers where IM runs command line programs directly from the command prompt without a file path.

-Hyperion
Logged
"Then, Fletch," that bright creature said to him, and the voice was very kind, "let's begin with level flight . . . ."

-Richard Bach, Jonathan Livingston Seagull

(https://forum.coppermine-gallery.net/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.mozilla.org%2Fproducts%2Ffirefox%2Fbuttons%2Fgetfirefox_small.png&hash=f0873409e7b0238c9b018100632837e3)

kclark0153

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
Problem with Install on a Windows Server and ImageMagick
« Reply #3 on: November 02, 2003, 04:05:50 pm »

Thanks for the quick response.  I can see now the advatages of running unix servers.

I do get an error message during install.

The installer can not find the 'D:/ImageMagick/ directory you have specified for ImageMagick or it does not have permission to access it. Check that your typing is correct and that you have access to the specified directory.


Windows isn't case sensitive is it?  d:/imagemagick == D:/ImageMagick/ ?
Logged

Ron

  • Translator
  • Coppermine novice
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 28
Problem with Install on a Windows Server and ImageMagick
« Reply #4 on: November 02, 2003, 04:42:40 pm »

Nothing wrong with windows servers and IIS, you just have to know the basics, just like in Unix. :P

I am using ImagMagick and it just works fine.

install it in a directory where the IUSR account (the account IIS is using for anonymous access) has read access. thats it !!

If you use W2003 just be shure to allow CMD.exe as an extention (just like PHP).

and use the UNIX way of accessing files ie d:/ImageMagick/ (forwardslash)
in Coppermine.
Logged

kclark0153

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
Problem with Install on a Windows Server and ImageMagick
« Reply #5 on: November 02, 2003, 04:50:46 pm »

Ron,

Thanks for the response.  I figured it was a permission problem.  I forwarded your response to my hosting company.

I did get coppermine to install.

I get this error now.

Cmd line :
d:/imagemagick/convert -quality 80 -antialias -geometry 133x100 "D:\webspace\BottomLine\NORNET\nissanoffroad.net\www\image_gallery\albums\userpics\10001\IMG_0765.JPG" "D:\webspace\BottomLine\NORNET\nissanoffroad.net\www\image_gallery\albums\userpics\10001\thumb_IMG_0765.JPG"


The convert program said:
Access is denied.



So this seems encouraging.  I know my permissions are right on the folders involved (I asked tech help to set them) so it must be a problem is imagemagick access.

I also can't find the IM test script, but it is earlier and I haven't had my first cup of coffee yet.

Thanks
Logged

kclark0153

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
Problem with Install on a Windows Server and ImageMagick
« Reply #6 on: November 02, 2003, 05:00:44 pm »

I tried leaving the path blank and I get a different error message.


Cmd line :
convert -quality 80 -antialias -geometry 133x100 "D:\webspace\BottomLine\NORNET\nissanoffroad.net\www\image_gallery\albums\userpics\10001\IMG_0765.JPG" "D:\webspace\BottomLine\NORNET\nissanoffroad.net\www\image_gallery\albums\userpics\10001\thumb_IMG_0765.JPG"


The convert program said:
Invalid Parameter - 80


Any ideas?

Thanks as always
Logged

Ron

  • Translator
  • Coppermine novice
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 28
Problem with Install on a Windows Server and ImageMagick
« Reply #7 on: November 02, 2003, 05:09:08 pm »

Do you have Write permission to your USERPIC directory.
Logged

kclark0153

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
Problem with Install on a Windows Server and ImageMagick
« Reply #8 on: November 02, 2003, 05:19:02 pm »

According to the hosting company, IUSR has write access to this folder.  Boy this is frustrating.
Logged

kclark0153

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
Problem with Install on a Windows Server and ImageMagick
« Reply #9 on: November 02, 2003, 10:19:43 pm »

Got it to work.  Had to use GD instead of ImageMagick.  Thanks for everyones help.
Logged

godfather16

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
Problem with Install on a Windows Server and ImageMagick
« Reply #10 on: November 05, 2003, 07:57:40 pm »

Quote from: "Ron"
Nothing wrong with windows servers and IIS, you just have to know the basics, just like in Unix. :P

I am using ImagMagick and it just works fine.

install it in a directory where the IUSR account (the account IIS is using for anonymous access) has read access. thats it !!

If you use W2003 just be shure to allow CMD.exe as an extention (just like PHP).

and use the UNIX way of accessing files ie d:/ImageMagick/ (forwardslash)
in Coppermine.



This post right here helped me with my ongoing problem! Thanks bro!
Logged

moorey

  • VIP
  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 404
Problem with Install on a Windows Server and ImageMagick
« Reply #11 on: November 10, 2003, 05:37:24 am »

Quote
Name = Leo Walbeek
submit_by = yggie@yggie.nl
subject = ImageMagick works under windows
message = Just a TIP!
(I didn't know where to put it!)

If you have trouble getting IM to work under windows, try to copy the cmd.exe to the PHP directory. For me it worked!
Logged

Ron

  • Translator
  • Coppermine novice
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 28
Problem with Install on a Windows Server and ImageMagick
« Reply #12 on: November 10, 2003, 07:41:03 am »

Quote from: "moorey"
Quote
Name = Leo Walbeek
submit_by = yggie@yggie.nl
subject = ImageMagick works under windows
message = Just a TIP!
(I didn't know where to put it!)

If you have trouble getting IM to work under windows, try to copy the cmd.exe to the PHP directory. For me it worked!



This shouldn't be necessary if the IUSR account has RX rights on the CMD.exe that is in system32 directory.

But if using IIS6 (W2003) than you should also allow cmd.exe as an IIS extention.
Logged

BlueRoses (Celia)

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
ImageMagick Problem......HELP!
« Reply #13 on: December 23, 2003, 05:28:30 am »

Okay, I've got coppermine running, but when I go to upload a photo to my
> gallery, I get the following error message:
>
> The picture 'albums/userpics/Polter000.JPG' can't be inserted in the album
>
> Error executing ImageMagick - Return value: 127
>
>
> http://www.heathermicheleorourke.com/coppermine/db_input.php

TELL ME WHAT TO DO!

HELP ME PLEASE!!! REPLY ASAP!

THANKS!
Logged

Ron

  • Translator
  • Coppermine novice
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 28
Problem with Install on a Windows Server and ImageMagick
« Reply #14 on: December 23, 2003, 07:33:03 am »

Please supply more details.

what version of webserver are you running on.

IIS, Appache ??
What operating system ?


Ron.
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47844
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Problem with Install on a Windows Server and ImageMagick
« Reply #15 on: December 23, 2003, 10:47:47 am »

...and do a board search on "Return value: 127", this has been already answered a million times...

GauGau
Logged

gtroll

  • VIP
  • Coppermine addict
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 618
    • CPG-Nuke
imagemagick and Program Files Directory - Windows
« Reply #16 on: January 03, 2004, 06:46:25 am »

If you installed imagemagick in a directory with a space in the name (ie Program Files) reinstall it in a directory without a space this may relieve you of days of frustration....

RoXolid

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
Problem with Install on a Windows Server and ImageMagick
« Reply #17 on: January 10, 2004, 04:56:06 pm »

I am also running Windows server and was able to finally get Coppermine to work.  I have the following configurations:

Windows 2000
IIS 5
ImageMagick installed at E:\ImageMagick

Here are the problems I had to overcome.  Following the instructions helped on item #1. :^)

1) I had a * in my password that was not allowed.  Only characters and numbers.
2) Second, I was trying to use my SU account that was in MySQL for access permissions to write to the database.  This is wrong, you must use the user account and password that is specified in your config.php file.
3) I tried using E:\ImageMagick and E:/ImageMagick without success so I left the entry blank for the time being.  This allowed me to at least get Coppermine up and running.

It may be premature to say I have coppermine up and running as far as my website is concerned but I felt it was information that might help someone else get started.
Logged

RoXolid

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
Problem with Install on a Windows Server and ImageMagick
« Reply #18 on: January 11, 2004, 07:16:28 pm »

OK.  I got it working now on Windows 2000 with IIS.

Ron was correct, the IUSR_computername needed at least read and execute permissions to cmd.exe.  Once I fixed this it started working fine.

Thanks Ron!
Logged

RoXolid

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
Problem with Install on a Windows Server and ImageMagick
« Reply #19 on: January 21, 2004, 01:06:54 pm »

On another install I was able to get ImageMagick to work by putting a "/" character at the end: E:/ImageMagick/
Logged
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.365 seconds with 20 queries.