Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5   Go Down

Author Topic: Wind buttons for film_strip in displayimage.php  (Read 66475 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Tranz

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Female
  • Posts: 6149
Re: Wind buttons for film_strip in displayimage.php
« Reply #20 on: February 19, 2005, 12:59:31 am »

So use what you have and make the filmstrip move x photos instead of one at a time.
you mean adding just like you did but on the filmstrip level, two extra arrows, to forward/reward by 'x' thumbs at a time? ( i like the one-by-one motion..:) )
Sure, we can do both one by one and group by group. Some albums may benefit more from one or the other.

actually the top buttons could be use to change the intermediate pic the same way ( without reloading the whole page, and it would trigger the move of the filmstrip accordingly ), even if i'm going a tiny bit of topic ;)

Would that make things go faster? Save bandwidth? I guess it would make a difference for dialup users.

Quote
I don't know how to make it so only the filmstrip (matt:you meant intemediate pic no?) updated
I meant the filmstrip, the way you did it. So the ideal way was to fastforward the filmstrip without having to change the intermediate pic.

i can send you a quick explanation in a couple of steps if you want
Sure, that would be great. Thanks. If it goes into the cvs version we'll let you know so we can give you credit under whatever name you want. We just need approval from the other team members.
Logged

Rodinou

  • Contributor
  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 346
  • Tournicoti, Tournicota
    • http://www.sortons.net
Re: Wind buttons for film_strip in displayimage.php
« Reply #21 on: February 19, 2005, 12:53:34 pm »

Quote
Quote from: nol33t on Yesterday at 05:07:55 PM
actually the top buttons could be use to change the intermediate pic the same way ( without reloading the whole page, and it would trigger the move of the filmstrip accordingly ), even if i'm going a tiny bit of topic 


Would that make things go faster? Save bandwidth? I guess it would make a difference for dialup users.

Exactly.

In fact, Dev Team sees often Coppermine is not very "loud" for a server. I don't know how many visitors you do ... but for my part, I realize about 4000 visits/day with 100 000 view pages / day !!!

When loading a whole page, you access EACH TIME to DB ... with this system, you
- save bandwidth : nomore page is created
- save requests server : in fact dhtml calls only pics, and not all ...

You say me "but how the visitors can have the url of the pic"

With DOM, all is possible to change on the fly ... :) Of course, 100% Compatible Opera / IE / and Gecko


But Nolt ... instead of making a filmstrip, we could be able to realize a similar system Flash ...

I have put on this site (use search engine) how to create CROP thumbs with CSS with actual rect. thumbs ...

skypix

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 25
Re: Wind buttons for film_strip in displayimage.php
« Reply #22 on: February 19, 2005, 05:50:18 pm »

@ nol33t and TranzNDance:

Great work guys, this is close to exactly what I've been hoping for: my ideal is to advance the filmstrip only.  Then my clients can click on the one they want to look at or keep going, without the time overhead waiting for the intermediate to open.  Very cool, I gotta have this!

@ nol33t

Will you be continuing your work in the other thread with the big, scrollable thumbnail field too, or going more in this direction?  Both are tempting...For my needs, it would be really bitchin to combine the movable filmstrip the way it in this thread, but be able to jump perhaps a group of 20 thumbs at a time, the way you have it in the other thread.

Thanks for the great work guys, really exciting.
Logged

Tranz

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Female
  • Posts: 6149
Re: Wind buttons for film_strip in displayimage.php
« Reply #23 on: February 19, 2005, 07:03:29 pm »

Will there be compatibility issues with using this? server or browser-wise? Sorry, I'm dumb about DOM. :D
Logged

nol33t

  • Contributor
  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 244
  • Exploring Coppermine in every directions
    • tieum's pics
Re: Wind buttons for film_strip in displayimage.php
« Reply #24 on: February 19, 2005, 08:54:31 pm »

you mean adding just like you did but on the filmstrip level, two extra arrows, to forward/reward by 'x' thumbs at a time? ( i like the one-by-one motion..:) )
Sure, we can do both one by one and group by group. Some albums may benefit more from one or the other.

done!, tell me what you think  :D

that was a nice suggestion, cause it made me recoded the whole thing  in a lot more nicer way ;)

- about compatibility issues: none server side, and on the client side, with not xmlhttp compliant and / or  not javascript enabled browsers, the arrows won't work, but i think that's it ( i mean it won't corrupt the display nor make the browser crash )

- about saving bandwidth, since you just reload 1 or "x" thumbs but not the entire page, scrolling with the filmstrip definitely save some.

- i got an issue to fix ( meta albums..), and code/explanations should be here soon, files modified being:
  . scripts.js
  . theme.php of the theme used ( and themes.inc.php to make it work with the core version )
  . filmstrip.php, a new file, which returns the filmstrip depending of the album and "the position" you want to make the filmstrip move: respect the privacy pictures settings

For what is about changing the same way the intermediate pic but with the top buttons, actually it may be more complicated, because of the rest of the content..comments and votes would be desynchronised, so you would have to update them too, etc..

[ot]
Quote from: skypix
Will you be continuing your work in the other thread with the big, scrollable thumbnail field too, or going more in this direction?
look at what's written under my nickname & avatar..;) flash remoting is a whole different thing, but that i will continue for sure
[/ot]

-matt-

Tranz

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Female
  • Posts: 6149
Re: Wind buttons for film_strip in displayimage.php
« Reply #25 on: February 19, 2005, 09:36:13 pm »

That's great.  8)

The navigation in the img bar is unnecessary. I only put it there because it was easier. ;) Having what you have is fine, IMO.

Some things to build upon what you have. When I tried this myself, I got feedback to indicate the number of items that will be going forward or backward, in the tooltip. Another thing is to internationalize the text. Another is to disable the forward navigation when at the end of the album. I have the code for all that. You can either use what I have or once you volunteer your code, we could try to integrate them.

Here's an excerpt of what I have in themes.inc.php for theme_html_img_nav_menu().
Code: [Select]
$max_items = $CONFIG['max_film_strip_items'];

$end = $pic_count - 1;
$end_tgt = "{$_SERVER['PHP_SELF']}?album=$album$cat_link&pos=$end#top_fileviewer";
$end_title = $lang_img_nav_bar['go_album_end'];
$meta_nav .= "<link rel=\"end\" href=\"$end_tgt\" title=\"$end_title\" />
";
    if ($pos == 0) {
$start_tgt = "javascript:;";
$start_title = "";
$meta_nav .= "<link rel=\"start\" href=\"$start_tgt\" title=\"$start_title\" />
";
}
    if ($pos > 0) {
        $start = 0;
        $start_tgt = "{$_SERVER['PHP_SELF']}?album=$album$cat_link&amp;pos=$start#top_fileviewer";
        $start_title = $lang_img_nav_bar['go_album_start'];
        $prev = $pos - 1;
        $prev_tgt = "{$_SERVER['PHP_SELF']}?album=$album$cat_link&amp;pos=$prev#top_fileviewer";
        $prev_title = $lang_img_nav_bar['prev_title'];
        $meta_nav .= "<link rel=\"prev\" href=\"$prev_tgt\" title=\"$prev_title\" />
        ";
        $meta_nav .= "<link rel=\"start\" href=\"$start_tgt\" title=\"$start_title\" />
        ";

if ($pos >= $CONFIG['max_film_strip_items']) {
$rewind = $pos - $max_items;
$rew_tgt = "{$_SERVER['PHP_SELF']}?album=$album$cat_link&amp;pos=$rewind#top_fileviewer";
$rew_title = sprintf($lang_img_nav_bar['go_back_x_items'], $max_items);
} else {
$rew_tgt = $start_tgt;
$rew_title = $start_title;
}

    } else {
        $prev_tgt = "javascript:;";
        $prev_title = "";
        $rew_tgt = "javascript:;";
        $rew_title = "";
    }
    if ($pos < ($pic_count -1)) {
        $next = $pos + 1;
        $next_tgt = "{$_SERVER['PHP_SELF']}?album=$album$cat_link&amp;pos=$next#top_fileviewer";
        $next_title = $lang_img_nav_bar['next_title'];
        $meta_nav .= "<link rel=\"next\" href=\"$next_tgt\" title=\"$next_title\"/>
";

if ($pos <= ($pic_count -1) - ceil(($max_items/2))) {
$fastforward = $pos + $max_items;
if ($fastforward >= $pic_count) {
$ff_tgt = $end_tgt;
$ff_title = $end_title;
} else {
$ff_tgt = "{$_SERVER['PHP_SELF']}?album=$album$cat_link&amp;pos=$fastforward#top_fileviewer";
$ff_title = sprintf($lang_img_nav_bar['go_forward_x_items'], $max_items);

}
} else {
$ff_tgt = "javascript:;";
$ff_title = "";

}
    } else {
        $next_tgt = "javascript:;";
        $next_title = "";
        $ff_tgt = "javascript:;";
        $ff_title = "";

    }

For the text internationalization in english.php:
Code: [Select]
$lang_img_nav_bar = array(
[snipped for clarity]
  'go_album_end' => 'Skip to end', // cpg1.4
  'go_album_start' => 'Return to start', // cpg1.4
  'go_back_x_items' => 'go back %s items', // cpg1.4
  'go_forward_x_items' => 'go forward %s items', // cpg1.4
);
Thank you so much for your time and help on this. :)
Logged

Rodinou

  • Contributor
  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 346
  • Tournicoti, Tournicota
    • http://www.sortons.net
Re: Wind buttons for film_strip in displayimage.php
« Reply #26 on: February 20, 2005, 03:39:41 am »

it becomes very interesting !!! :)


but ... why don't see this vision to a "new" vision of coppermine ?!!


So ... let me explain ...


if someone click on an album ...

he has on the right, on the left, on the top, on the bottom ... xxxx thumbs ... with nolt33 system, a gallery can contain 10 or 6000 pics, there are no problem !!! ...

And by default, it's the first picture which appears ... with THIS system, you can "stop" the slideshow system which crashes server when 1. a lot of people who use it at same time, and creates a big very loud page when a gallery contains more than 300 pics (and for me, it's often the case)

and of course ... very simple for user ...

the ONLY THING, I don't know how this system you can "count" a viewed pic :( ...


I know you talk very often about "compatibility" ... but in 90% of the users, people has
- IE
- GECKO browser
- OPERA

OK, 10% surfes with lynx or mosaic ... but we are in 2005 ! :) right ? ...

Nolt, your "exploration" of Coppermine is simply fascinating :( ... really.

jaysonyates

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 26
    • My Sons website
Re: Wind buttons for film_strip in displayimage.php
« Reply #27 on: February 20, 2005, 04:30:22 am »

where can I get the coding for the wind buttons, I looked at photos (IE6) had no problem, that would be so cool if I could add it to my site.

Thanks
Logged

jaysonyates

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 26
    • My Sons website
Re: Wind buttons for film_strip in displayimage.php
« Reply #28 on: February 20, 2005, 04:30:57 am »

where can I get the coding for the wind buttons, I looked at photos (IE6) had no problem, that would be so cool if I could add it to my site.

Thanks
Logged

Rodinou

  • Contributor
  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 346
  • Tournicoti, Tournicota
    • http://www.sortons.net
Re: Wind buttons for film_strip in displayimage.php
« Reply #29 on: February 20, 2005, 06:13:17 am »

Ok, I have "AT LEAST" found EXACTLY the vision I had ... :)

http://dasme.org/imagegal/demo

@ TranzNDance > DOM is THIS :)

jaysonyates

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 26
    • My Sons website
Re: Wind buttons for film_strip in displayimage.php
« Reply #30 on: February 20, 2005, 06:43:13 am »

now that is cool, how was that made?
Ok, I have "AT LEAST" found EXACTLY the vision I had ... :)

http://dasme.org/imagegal/demo

@ TranzNDance > DOM is THIS :)
Logged

skypix

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 25
Re: Wind buttons for film_strip in displayimage.php
« Reply #31 on: February 20, 2005, 08:13:58 pm »

@ nol33t, fantastic, great job.  ;D This is ideal for me for now.  :D

 I've got Casper's Paypal shopping hack in Eyeball on my website, do you think this will present any problems?

I'll keep checking for when you have the coding posted.

Thanks for your hard work, much appreciated.
Logged

jaysonyates

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 26
    • My Sons website
Re: Wind buttons for film_strip in displayimage.php
« Reply #32 on: February 20, 2005, 11:31:18 pm »

so does that mean that anyone can use the coding, all my family memeber meantioned that they would like to have a button to advance and go back in th e random pix, but I do not know enough to do the coding myself, all that I ask is the premission to use the coding on my site.

Thanks
Logged

snork13

  • Contributor
  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 260
  • Internet! Is that thing still around?
    • Gallery
Re: Wind buttons for film_strip in displayimage.php
« Reply #33 on: February 20, 2005, 11:42:43 pm »

@jaysonyates

I'm sure when the coding is done, it will be shared.

patience

snork
Logged

Tranz

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Female
  • Posts: 6149
Re: Wind buttons for film_strip in displayimage.php
« Reply #34 on: February 21, 2005, 12:07:57 am »

Hopefully, we can put it into the next version. ;)
Logged

nol33t

  • Contributor
  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 244
  • Exploring Coppermine in every directions
    • tieum's pics
Re: Wind buttons for film_strip in displayimage.php
« Reply #35 on: February 21, 2005, 12:23:57 am »

 ;D
wait a couple of more days, i'm improving it right now:
- no left or right arrows when you're at the beginning / end of the album
- internationalization
- cleaning my code, i don't want to submit a messy one ;)

-matt-

Rodinou

  • Contributor
  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 346
  • Tournicoti, Tournicota
    • http://www.sortons.net
Re: Wind buttons for film_strip in displayimage.php
« Reply #36 on: February 21, 2005, 01:13:56 am »

Quote from: nol33t
- no left or right arrows when you're at the beginning / end of the album

the top would be if you are of the end of the album, it loops on the first pics of the album ... because if you have to click 20 or 30 times ... but want to review the first pics ... I let you imagine :)

And of course, the same case at the beginning : on the left, see directly the last pics ...

What do you think about the link I have posted ?

jaysonyates

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 26
    • My Sons website
Re: Wind buttons for film_strip in displayimage.php
« Reply #37 on: February 21, 2005, 01:36:25 am »

Can't wait, that will be a totally awesome addition the coppermine.
;D
wait a couple of more days, i'm improving it right now:
- no left or right arrows when you're at the beginning / end of the album
- internationalization
- cleaning my code, i don't want to submit a messy one ;)

-matt-
Logged

Tranz

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Female
  • Posts: 6149
Re: Wind buttons for film_strip in displayimage.php
« Reply #38 on: February 21, 2005, 02:10:22 am »

Quote from: nol33t
- no left or right arrows when you're at the beginning / end of the album

the top would be if you are of the end of the album, it loops on the first pics of the album ... because if you have to click 20 or 30 times ... but want to review the first pics ... I let you imagine :)
I tried that with my own gallery... at the end of the album, the next button looped to the start of the gallery. That confused my friends who didn't realize they were seeing the same photos for a bit. It's possible to have a dedicated 'go back to start' button. I already have the start variable there (not committed as we await nol33t's mod). So cpg 1.4 will allow you to navigate with the keyboard to go next/previous/end/start. This navigation ability is included in Opera, and there is an extension for Firefox. It is handy to use for different pages of a forum, too.
« Last Edit: February 21, 2005, 06:38:47 am by TranzNDance »
Logged

skypix

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 25
Re: Wind buttons for film_strip in displayimage.php
« Reply #39 on: February 21, 2005, 07:11:10 pm »

;D
wait a couple of more days, i'm improving it right now:


Thanks Matt, looking forward to it
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.027 seconds with 20 queries.