Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Adding new fields to photo descriptions  (Read 4489 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Skipper

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 29
Adding new fields to photo descriptions
« on: September 26, 2004, 09:45:15 pm »

When adding new fields for the user to enter certain things too ....

The field boxes show up ok but when you go and preview the picture they are not displayed and so what's the point in having the fields?

Thanks.

Skipper
Logged

Tranz

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Female
  • Posts: 6149
Re: Adding new fields to photo descriptions
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2004, 10:46:29 pm »

In Config, do you have "File information is visible by default" set to yes?
Logged

Casper

  • VIP
  • Coppermine addict
  • ***
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5231
Re: Adding new fields to photo descriptions
« Reply #2 on: September 27, 2004, 01:06:39 am »

These fields are only displayed with the image if they have any info in them.  If they are blank, they are not displayed.

Try it, and report back if they do not display when there is info there.
Logged
It has been a long time now since I did my little bit here, and have done no coding or any other such stuff since. I'm back to being a noob here

Tranz

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Female
  • Posts: 6149
Re: Adding new fields to photo descriptions
« Reply #3 on: September 27, 2004, 02:20:29 am »

If you do report back, please provide a link to the gallery.
Logged

Skipper

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 29
Re: Adding new fields to photo descriptions
« Reply #4 on: September 27, 2004, 11:51:19 am »

REPORT:

I have set "File information visable by default" to yes as a temporary measure, but i would rather not have all the other file information visable as it's irrelevent.

I have adding information into the fields, and they are displaying, but only with the "File information visable by default" set to yes. Otherwise they don't appear.

The link is www.emergencyvehicles.org.uk/gallery.

Cheers guys  :)
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Adding new fields to photo descriptions
« Reply #5 on: September 27, 2004, 09:02:53 pm »

You're running cpg1.3.1 - I suggest to the most recent stable version, cpg1.3.2

Joachim
Logged

Skipper

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 29
Re: Adding new fields to photo descriptions
« Reply #6 on: September 27, 2004, 11:24:21 pm »

I'd rather not attempt to upgrade, because I always do it wrong and end up ruining everything. Unless you have a guide or something I MAY be able to do it.
Logged

Casper

  • VIP
  • Coppermine addict
  • ***
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5231
Re: Adding new fields to photo descriptions
« Reply #7 on: September 27, 2004, 11:55:36 pm »

I checked your site, and all is working as expected, at least with the topic of this thread.  There are mods available, to remove unwanted info from the info area, so you can just show the new fields.

You have over modified your project theme, and some of the links no longer work correctly.
Logged
It has been a long time now since I did my little bit here, and have done no coding or any other such stuff since. I'm back to being a noob here

Skipper

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 29
Re: Adding new fields to photo descriptions
« Reply #8 on: September 28, 2004, 12:16:16 am »

I checked your site, and all is working as expected, at least with the topic of this thread.  There are mods available, to remove unwanted info from the info area, so you can just show the new fields.

You have over modified your project theme, and some of the links no longer work correctly.

Ok thanks for checking. How have I over modified? When I checked, all the links were working correctly?! Have I done something wrong?
Logged

Casper

  • VIP
  • Coppermine addict
  • ***
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5231
Re: Adding new fields to photo descriptions
« Reply #9 on: September 28, 2004, 03:31:44 pm »

Ok, I was confused by the fact you have renamed the '@' button to 'upload', and when clicking it to upload, nothing was happening.  Of course, you have to click not on the button, but on the link that comes up when you mouse over the button.
Logged
It has been a long time now since I did my little bit here, and have done no coding or any other such stuff since. I'm back to being a noob here

Skipper

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 29
Re: Adding new fields to photo descriptions
« Reply #10 on: September 28, 2004, 04:27:00 pm »

Sorry, I don't understand why you're confused by that?

I didn't see the point in the "@" button, so changed it to "Upload". Why the "@"? How does that resemble mouse-over?

Thanks.
Logged

Casper

  • VIP
  • Coppermine addict
  • ***
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5231
Re: Adding new fields to photo descriptions
« Reply #11 on: September 28, 2004, 06:47:26 pm »

I 'was' confused, not I 'am' confused.  ;) I'm simply not used to the upload button being a mouseover to other links, which appear slightly lower down.  I was clicking 'upload' as in the button, and nothing was happening.

Why an '@', I don't know, you'll have to ask the original creator of the theme, or the mac theme, that it's based on.  I actually think your mod makes sense.

I never use these themes myself.
« Last Edit: September 29, 2004, 04:09:32 pm by Casper »
Logged
It has been a long time now since I did my little bit here, and have done no coding or any other such stuff since. I'm back to being a noob here

Skipper

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 29
Re: Adding new fields to photo descriptions
« Reply #12 on: September 28, 2004, 07:52:25 pm »

I 'was' confused, not I 'am' confused.  ;)I'm simply not used to the upload button being a mouseover to other links, which appear slightly lower down.  I was clicking 'upload' as in the button, and nothing was happening.

Why an '@', I don't know, you'll have to ask the original creator of the theme, or the mac theme, that it's based on.  I actually think your mod makes sense.

I never use these themes myself.

Ah I see ;)

Anyway, yes, I didn't see why there was an "@" there so I thought I'd change it, and it was the first thing I thought of.

There does need to be something saying it's a "drop down" but i've got no ideas except an arrow or something pointing down. But i've got no idea how to implement that, so I think i'll just leave it.

Thanks.

Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.022 seconds with 19 queries.