Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Extra line breaks  (Read 5378 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

six42

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 27
Extra line breaks
« on: September 26, 2004, 11:08:00 am »

On my gallery i have inserted some google ads just below the menu at the top. The problem Im having is that there is now a large gap between the ads and the start of the gallery. Attached is a demo, there is about 4 line breaks, where i would only like there to be one.
« Last Edit: October 02, 2004, 10:34:10 am by Casper »
Logged

Tranz

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Female
  • Posts: 6149
Re: Extra line breaks
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2004, 02:56:58 pm »

Please post a link to your site. Extra space can be caused by a number of things and we would need to look at the code to evaluate.
Logged

six42

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 27
Re: Extra line breaks
« Reply #2 on: September 27, 2004, 04:31:33 am »

http://cg.thefansforum.net

Although its there by default even without the ads, its just that the ads make the gap look even bigger
Logged

six42

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 27
Re: Extra line breaks
« Reply #3 on: September 30, 2004, 02:54:34 pm »

Any ideas anyone?
Logged

Casper

  • VIP
  • Coppermine addict
  • ***
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5231
Re: Extra line breaks
« Reply #4 on: September 30, 2004, 03:00:00 pm »

Not without seeing your code.
Logged
It has been a long time now since I did my little bit here, and have done no coding or any other such stuff since. I'm back to being a noob here

Tranz

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Female
  • Posts: 6149
Re: Extra line breaks
« Reply #5 on: September 30, 2004, 03:01:05 pm »

I see this in your HTML source after the AdSense code and before the album table:
Code: [Select]
<br />
                                        <br>&nbsp;
                                       
                                </td>
                        </tr>

                </table>
                <img src="images/spacer.gif" width="1" height="15" /><br />
                <table width="100%" border="0" align="center" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0">
                        <tr>
                                <td align="center" valign="top">
                                       
                                       


<!-- Start standard table -->

<table align="center" width="100%" cellspacing="1" cellpadding="0" class="maintable">



</table>

<!-- End standard table -->

Notice how there are a lot of line breaks and even an empty table. Please post the code where you added AdSense in your file, plus the surrounding code for context.
Logged

six42

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 27
Re: Extra line breaks
« Reply #6 on: October 01, 2004, 06:23:20 am »

I put the code in theme.php, here it is -
Code: [Select]
<!-- END logout -->

                        <br />

                        <a href="{LASTUP_TGT}">{LASTUP_LNK}</a>

                        <img src="themes/water_drop/images/orange_carret.gif" width="8" height="8" border="0" alt="" />

                        <a href="{LASTCOM_TGT}">{LASTCOM_LNK}</a>

                        <img src="themes/water_drop/images/orange_carret.gif" width="8" height="8" border="0" alt="" />

                        <a href="{TOPN_TGT}">{TOPN_LNK}</a>

                        <img src="themes/water_drop/images/orange_carret.gif" width="8" height="8" border="0" alt="" />

                        <a href="{TOPRATED_TGT}">{TOPRATED_LNK}</a>

                        <img src="themes/water_drop/images/orange_carret.gif" width="8" height="8" border="0" alt="" />

                                                <a href="{FAV_TGT}">{FAV_LNK}</a>

                                                <img src="themes/water_drop/images/orange_carret.gif" width="8" height="8" border="0" alt="" />

                        <a href="{SEARCH_TGT}">{SEARCH_LNK}</a>

                </span>
<br><br>
<!--ADSENSE CODE-->
<script type="text/javascript"><!--
google_ad_client = "pub-6624285548691098";
google_ad_width = 728;
google_ad_height = 90;
google_ad_format = "728x90_as";
google_ad_channel ="";
google_color_border = "FF4500";
google_color_bg = "FFEBCD";
google_color_link = "DE7008";
google_color_url = "E0AD12";
google_color_text = "8B4513";
//--></script>
<script type="text/javascript"
  src="http://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/show_ads.js">
</script>
<!--END ADSENSE CODE-->

EOT;

// HTML template for gallery admin menu

$template_gallery_admin_menu = <<<EOT

                <div align="center">

                <table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="1">

                        <tr>

                                <td class="admin_menu"><a href="editpics.php?mode=upload_approval" title="">{UPL_APP_LNK}</a></td>

                                <td class="admin_menu"><a href="config.php" title="">{CONFIG_LNK}</a></td>

                                <td class="admin_menu"><a href="albmgr.php{CATL}" title="">{ALBUMS_LNK}</a></td>

                                <td class="admin_menu"><a href="catmgr.php" title="">{CATEGORIES_LNK}</a></td>

                                <td class="admin_menu"><a href="usermgr.php" title="">{USERS_LNK}</a></td>

                                <td class="admin_menu"><a href="groupmgr.php" title="">{GROUPS_LNK}</a></td>

                                <td class="admin_menu"><a href="banning.php" title="">{BAN_LNK}</a></td>

                                <td class="admin_menu"><a href="db_ecard.php" title="">{DB_ECARD_LNK}</a></td>

                                <td class="admin_menu"><a href="reviewcom.php" title="">{COMMENTS_LNK}</a></td>

                                <td class="admin_menu"><a href="searchnew.php" title="">{SEARCHNEW_LNK}</a></td>

                                <td class="admin_menu"><a href="util.php" title="">{UTIL_LNK}</a></td>

                                <td class="admin_menu"><a href="profile.php?op=edit_profile" title="">{MY_PROF_LNK}</a></td>

                        </tr>

                </table>


What im trying to say though, is that those line breaks were always there, its part of the theme to make it not look bunched up. But when i put the ads in, it makes the gap look even bigger. I would like to replace those breaks with the ads, but the breaks arent in theme.php (at least i cant find them)
Logged

Casper

  • VIP
  • Coppermine addict
  • ***
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5231
Re: Extra line breaks
« Reply #7 on: October 01, 2004, 02:57:22 pm »

OK,

the theme you are using has been updated, with some extra tables/cells and breaks removed.  The theme.php you are using is id 1.4, but the latest is id 1.8.

I've added your banner to the latest file, and attached it here.  Please try it and let us know if it works.
Logged
It has been a long time now since I did my little bit here, and have done no coding or any other such stuff since. I'm back to being a noob here

six42

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 27
Re: Extra line breaks
« Reply #8 on: October 01, 2004, 03:31:36 pm »

No it still doesnt work, the line breaks are still there  :(
Logged

Casper

  • VIP
  • Coppermine addict
  • ***
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5231
Re: Extra line breaks
« Reply #9 on: October 01, 2004, 06:45:52 pm »

Are you sure you changed it.  Your source code is still showing as file version 1.4 but the one I attached is 1.8.
Logged
It has been a long time now since I did my little bit here, and have done no coding or any other such stuff since. I'm back to being a noob here

Nibbler

  • Guest
Re: Extra line breaks
« Reply #10 on: October 01, 2004, 07:58:59 pm »

The version in the source is that of the template.html.
Logged

Casper

  • VIP
  • Coppermine addict
  • ***
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5231
Re: Extra line breaks
« Reply #11 on: October 01, 2004, 08:30:06 pm »

DOH  :-[

time to go for a beer I think,  ;D
Logged
It has been a long time now since I did my little bit here, and have done no coding or any other such stuff since. I'm back to being a noob here

six42

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 27
Re: Extra line breaks
« Reply #12 on: October 02, 2004, 04:21:24 am »

I managed to fix it by removing the language/theme code and the spacer image from template.html

Thanks anyways
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.021 seconds with 20 queries.