forum.coppermine-gallery.net

Support => cpg1.5.x Support => cpg1.5 upgrading => Topic started by: Montezuma on December 16, 2015, 02:20:45 pm

Title: Upgrading from 1.5.26
Post by: Montezuma on December 16, 2015, 02:20:45 pm
I had used a service to put 1.5.26 on my off site server.  I thought this service would do updates when the time came but I guess their policy changed and I don't have the ability to upgrade the software normally. I can install the newest version on a server in my house and FTP the files to the server but I'm not sure if that will work.  Is this possible or am I going to run into issues?
Title: Re: Upgrading from 1.5.26
Post by: Phill Luckhurst on December 16, 2015, 03:15:55 pm
Please read the docs. We only support the upgrading and installation of the software if it is done using the methods outlined in those docs. Why? Many third party installers such as those provided by hosts are modified by them or are very out of date. We often find they have introduced bugs or we are having to go back and re-fix things we have done a long time ago. Worse still are when sites get hacked because users have been provided with out of date code by their hosts.

Having said all that, upgrading should be a very straight forward exercise, replacing most of the files with the new versions then running update.php to do any database fixes. Should take about 5 mins in most cases. Some software packages have a button built into the software to handle this. This could be done with CPG but I feel it is a bit of overkill.
Title: Re: Upgrading from 1.5.26
Post by: Montezuma on December 16, 2015, 03:48:57 pm
Thanks for the info, as far as I could tell the original install was done properly (this may be a rare case).  I'd gladly install the software myself but I was told that I cannot do this on their server.  I used to do it when I had the server in my home. Maybe I need to asked them again since they may have changed methods since I signed up with them. I'll copy current CPG from the server to my computer before I try.
Title: Re: Upgrading from 1.5.26
Post by: Phill Luckhurst on December 16, 2015, 03:51:30 pm
Usually what a hosts suggests that it is down to security on their servers. Often file ownership needs changing or something along those lines. Good luck, if you run into trouble we will try our best to help.
Title: Re: Upgrading from 1.5.26
Post by: Montezuma on December 16, 2015, 10:49:56 pm
Everything looks like it updated fine.  I did the version check and all files were current.  My only concern is the errors in the JPG attached though they are probably nothing.
Title: Re: Upgrading from 1.5.26
Post by: Montezuma on December 16, 2015, 10:51:53 pm
I did not replace the Album file so that may be the issue but why are all the other saying they were modified?
Title: Re: Upgrading from 1.5.26
Post by: Montezuma on December 17, 2015, 01:32:46 am
I added the files from the Album folder (all index.php) and reran the version check.  All was fine.