forum.coppermine-gallery.net

Support => cpg1.5.x Support => cpg1.5 upgrading => Topic started by: gorygoth on February 18, 2011, 09:27:00 am

Title: not sure which version i have, uploading by ftp
Post by: gorygoth on February 18, 2011, 09:27:00 am
hi! i've had coppermine gallery for the past 6 years or so, but it was created by my ex-webmaster so i don't know anything about it.

www.gorygoth.com/catalogue

i've always uploaded 5 jpgs at a time via the upload section, but today i wanted to try out the batch add files via ftp.

i'm a total blonde when it comes to IT, but luckily i've figured it out! the question i have is: after i upload pics in my "uploaded pics" file in the batch add category, and after i place them in their respective albums, can i then delete the pics from the ftp folder?  i need to add in 5 different albums, so i would need to clear the ftp folder 4 times - is this do-able?

thanks
Title: Re: not sure which version i have, uploading by ftp
Post by: Phill Luckhurst on February 18, 2011, 09:34:29 am
You are using version "<!--Coppermine Photo Gallery 1.4.19 (stable)-->"

Not only is that many versions behind for the 1.4.x line (meaning it at a high risk of being hacked) but we have also ended support for CPG1.4.x

Before we can take this any further you will need to upgrade to the latest 1.5.x release as a matter of urgency. It will also give you a new upload interface meaning you will be able to upload a lot easier.
Title: Re: not sure which version i have, uploading by ftp
Post by: gorygoth on February 18, 2011, 09:41:24 am
sorry for being dumb, but as i said i'm not technical about these things... can i do this directly through my gallery or do i need to do it from coppermine website? do i have to re-upload it on my website server again? will i lose all my files?
Title: Re: not sure which version i have, uploading by ftp
Post by: Phill Luckhurst on February 18, 2011, 12:47:20 pm
You download the new files and upgrade using an ftp app. All the instructions can be found in the docs - http://documentation.coppermine-gallery.net/en/upgrading.htm
Title: Re: not sure which version i have, uploading by ftp
Post by: gorygoth on February 18, 2011, 01:29:07 pm
ok so i downloaded the related folders & files and my upgrade via ftp is currently uploading to the webserver - i'm just really worried that my current files (ie pics) will be overwritten or deleted...?
Title: Re: not sure which version i have, uploading by ftp
Post by: gorygoth on February 20, 2011, 12:26:38 am
so, i've finally managed to upgrade my coppermine gallery to the latest version, and as i feared, all my images are lost - i need support for this - you told me you would not offer support unless i upgraded - now i upgraded and lost all my images - is there anywhere i can locate them? have they been lost forever?

please help
Title: Re: not sure which version i have, uploading by ftp
Post by: gorygoth on February 20, 2011, 12:29:43 am
...in the meantime i've asked my webhost to restore latest back-up version of my website, pre-coppermine-upgrade

how can i upgrade coppermine and not lose my current images?
Title: Re: not sure which version i have, uploading by ftp
Post by: Nibbler on February 20, 2011, 12:31:46 am
Follow the instructions carefully. Looks like you did a clean install instead of an update.
Title: Re: not sure which version i have, uploading by ftp
Post by: gorygoth on February 20, 2011, 12:39:30 am
i'll have to wait till my webhost restores my website

Title: Re: not sure which version i have, uploading by ftp
Post by: Phill Luckhurst on February 20, 2011, 12:22:39 pm
When you have that please read the instructions very carefully before you upgrade. There are certain files you must not overwrite. I am certain your images are still there but it is important that you backup both your filee and your database so you can restore should things go wrong.
Title: Re: not sure which version i have, uploading by ftp
Post by: gorygoth on February 20, 2011, 12:36:30 pm
i managed to do the upgrade finally as per "...catalogue/upgrade.php", however in my catalogue i can still see "version 1.4.19" in my configuration

i've asked my webmaster to have a look into this

in the meantime if anyone can enlighten me on why my upgrade is not showing i'd appreciate

both sets of cpg_*tables* and cpg15x_*tables* are showing on my database

thanks
Title: Re: not sure which version i have, uploading by ftp
Post by: Nibbler on February 20, 2011, 10:26:31 pm
Looks like you didn't upload the new version. If you see 2 "sets" of tables you're doing it wrong. All the tables should have the same prefix.