forum.coppermine-gallery.net

No Support => Modifications/Add-Ons/Hacks => Mods: content syndication (cpmFetch) => Topic started by: JCphotog on January 30, 2007, 06:21:22 pm

Title: Screensaver using Coppermine images
Post by: JCphotog on January 30, 2007, 06:21:22 pm
Wouldn't something like this be a cool feature for the gallery? Slickr from www.cellardoorsw.com  It's a script that sends images from any flickr account to a screen saver. 
Title: Re: Slickr
Post by: Joachim Müller on January 31, 2007, 08:47:48 am
Would be a nice feature. However, we focus on web application development (PHP/MySQL/HTML/CSS/JavaScript). The dev team members don't focus on client-sided application development (and that's what would be necessary to come up with such a screensaver). Bottom line: I doubt that this will go into future releases as a core feature. However, we'd love to see this done as a user-contribution.
Title: Re: Slickr
Post by: JCphotog on January 31, 2007, 02:43:14 pm
I see what you're saying, and it makes sense.  Thanks for the reply!
Title: Re: Slickr
Post by: SaWey on January 31, 2007, 09:43:58 pm
Hi,

since i'm in my programming mood, i've began a simmilar app.
You might expect somet demo next week.

Grz
Title: Re: Slickr
Post by: JCphotog on January 31, 2007, 09:47:43 pm
Now that's just cool.  I'm getting excited.  The open source community is wonderful!
Title: Re: Slickr
Post by: SaWey on February 01, 2007, 01:15:18 am
I've just built a little working program that gets one pic from your preferred website.
Now i've got to make some slideshow of it.

Grz
Title: Re: Slickr
Post by: SaWey on February 01, 2007, 07:41:00 am
After a bit of coding I can give a little peek.

Download the attached file and extract.

Put "random.php" in you coppermine folder and change the first lines to meet your settings.

Then put "CopperScreen.scr" in your "C:/WINDOWS" folder.

Now got to you display properties and choose the "CopperScreen" screensaver.
Click the settings button (or is it properties?)
There you have to put in the adres to the "random.php" file (http://www.yoursite.com/cpg/random.php)
The advanced settings don't work properly yet and there is no time adjustment yet.

I'll be working on improvements and hope to finish as soon as possible.
Have Fun

Edit: Removed Attachment was old version
Title: Re: Slickr
Post by: Joachim Müller on February 01, 2007, 08:03:21 am
Moving this thread from "feature requests" to the mods section. Thanks for your contribution - we're looking forward to future updates of your mod.
Changed subject of this thread from "Slickr" to "Screensaver using Coppermine images".
Title: Re: Screensaver using Coppermine images
Post by: SaWey on February 02, 2007, 05:17:56 pm
Today I bring you CopperScreen 1.0

Follow the instructions above and have fun with it

Please feel free to request features.
Grz
Title: Re: Screensaver using Coppermine images
Post by: MarkP on February 02, 2007, 09:46:45 pm
Ok I must be a idiot...I get a illegal charcters in path error when trying to enter the URL to the random.php
Title: Re: Screensaver using Coppermine images
Post by: SaWey on February 02, 2007, 11:17:05 pm
Ok I must be a idiot...I get a illegal charcters in path error when trying to enter the URL to the random.php
What URL did you enter?
Title: Re: Screensaver using Coppermine images
Post by: MarkP on February 02, 2007, 11:36:57 pm
http://www.opshots.net/gallery/random.php
Title: Re: Screensaver using Coppermine images
Post by: SaWey on February 03, 2007, 04:10:22 pm
Check your "random.php" file, you probably entered wrong sql-settings.
Check you username and password and other database settings.

you can see if the settings are correctly by going to http://www.opshots.net/gallery/random.php?meta=random
Title: Re: Screensaver using Coppermine images
Post by: MarkP on February 03, 2007, 06:25:14 pm
Ok works good now...thanks! It was dummy me changing things around.
Title: Re: Screensaver using Coppermine images
Post by: SaWey on March 06, 2007, 06:25:35 pm
If anyone wants to play around with this screen saver,
you can find the sourcecode in attachment.

You will need VS2005

Have fun with it
Title: Re: Screensaver using Coppermine images
Post by: Joachim Müller on March 06, 2007, 08:24:54 pm
random.php should not have settings of it's own, it should use the mySQL connection data from coppermine. Just adding
Code: [Select]
define('IN_COPPERMINE', true);
require('include/init.inc.php');
should be all it takes. Susequently, you could use the coppermine commands to run queries and not your own.

And a warning: random.php doesn't take permissions into account. As a consequence: if you have random.php on your webserver, your entire gallery will be public!
Title: Re: Screensaver using Coppermine images
Post by: SaWey on March 06, 2007, 09:23:48 pm
Thanks GauGau for notifying

I was going to make the changes before, but I forgot.

So now I updated the version.
You no need to configure 'random.php' anymore, just put it in your coppemine dir.
It also takes permissions in account now. Only publicly available images will be shown.

The queries are still my own, but maybe I'll change them later

Grz
Title: Re: Screensaver using Coppermine images
Post by: MONSTER on July 23, 2007, 11:33:54 pm
Thx for the nice screensaver! :)

is it possible to integrate different gallerys? (more than one random.php?)

and stretching the images to screen resolution would be nice.

greetz MONSTER
Title: Re: Screensaver using Coppermine images
Post by: tamathumper on October 12, 2007, 08:51:20 pm
This would be really cool :)  I keep getting Invalid URI errors on both Vista and XP :(  The error messages are *really* long when I try to debug it in VS2005, so I'll have to set it aside for now.  Looking forward to coming back to it though :D
Title: Re: Screensaver using Coppermine images
Post by: Gargoyle on February 02, 2008, 07:19:01 pm
I installed, Ignored the error so I could move past it, entered the URI, and it works AWESOME!!

Thanks so much for this!
Title: Re: Screensaver using Coppermine images
Post by: Fudgemaster on February 09, 2008, 12:34:08 pm
Awesome!

Got it working nicely, but with the earlier random.php
(the one i need to edit to have the correct db info).

For some reason the newer random.php just tries to load... without results.
the one I edited -> http://www.partanen.net/gallery/random.php
he one not needing editing -> http://www.partanen.net/gallery/random2.php
(didn't seem to bother about the actual filename).

Too bad i have no clue around VS2005 (hardly in .php), I wouldn't mind
getting a hardcoded version of the screensaver to provide for my website
visitors to use, it's allways easier to have a _ready_ package than including
how-to for configuring before it's ready for use.

THNX!

 - Sami Partanen .
Title: Re: Screensaver using Coppermine images
Post by: Deus on December 09, 2008, 01:43:41 am
Brilliant app. Thankyou.
Title: Re: Screensaver using Coppermine images
Post by: Fabricio Ferrero on December 09, 2008, 03:44:41 am
I got working on Vista! GREAT plugin SaWey! Outstanding! I really like this...

Just for the record, the fade effect doensn't work. Anyways, i just replaced my 'photo slideshow' form Vista for this one. I preffer 'Coppermine' stuff  ;D

Thank you very much! ;)
Title: Re: Screensaver using Coppermine images
Post by: Stevo on June 20, 2009, 07:13:13 am

and stretching the images to screen resolution would be nice.

This is a great screensaver.
Only missing is stretching the images but nevermind. I'm going to use this one.
Title: Re: Screensaver using Coppermine images
Post by: Stevo on June 20, 2009, 06:17:44 pm
I installed this nice feature today and I'm already very happy with this.
I have only 2 remarks

- The mouse arrow is always visible.
- When you have your computer password protected, you get a 'Parameter' error